Roasted Mango Summer Salsa

Hello again my dear friends!  I am squeezing in a quick post today to continue to support my friend @woman-onthe-wing and her #makeithealthy initiative.  Check out her latest post with some great lunchbox ideas here!  There are always lots of great meal ideas, but she is the master of healthy snacks that are always both adult and kid-friendly!  Today I actually have a recipe that should qualify for the snack category since @dksart and I do love a good dip or salsa for an afternoon snack!



This idea actually was inspired by @ninahaskin's roasted salsa that she shared a few months ago (her post here).  Looking back at her post makes me realize I did something quite similar, so I definitely want to give her credit!!  @birdsinparadise also recently posted a really delicious-looking watermelon salsa.  Lots of wonderful inspiration spreading around the Steemit universe as always!  I have to admit I don't often make my own salsa, but I think that definitely needs to change.  There are some good store-bought options out there, however as with most things nothing quite beats homemade for the healthiest and freshest option (especially while tomatoes are abundant at the farmers market)!  And talk about easy.  There's nothing to it!



If you don't love hummus, salsa is a great accompaniment for veggies or homemade crackers to pack in a lunchbox for an afternoon snack or to go with your lunch at work or school.  Making it at home with lots of fresh produce means you can eat a whole big portion of it and not feel bad.  Just make sure not to ruin the nutritional value by eating it with highly processed chips. ;)  I actually really like salsa as a dressing for a salad sometimes, too, so it can be a great option if you get tired of regular dressing for your weekly lunches.  My absolute favorite though is probably to douse a baked potato in a big scoop of black beans and salsa!  I have a sweet potato just waiting to be baked and topped with this salsa at home for dinner tomorrow...



Roasted Mango Summer Salsa

  • 3 large tomatoes, cored & chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, seeded & chopped
  • 1 red onion, peeled & chopped
  • 1 large or 2 small ripe mangoes, peeled & chopped
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeded & chopped
  • 1 tablespoon salsa & pico seasoning (or any taco-type seasoning of your choice)
  • 1 lime, zest & juice

Heat up your oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.  Prepare all of your vegetables.  A big rough chop is fine since you'll be running them through the food processor after roasting.  Spread the tomatoes through jalapeno out on a lined baking sheet and sprinkle with the seasoning.  Place in the oven and cook for 20 minutes.  Stir, then place bake in for another 15-20 minutes or until roasted to your desired level.



Remove from the oven and let cool.  Place about half of the cooled vegetable mixture into a food processor with the lime juice and zest and pulse until finely chopped.  Pour into a bowl then finish with the rest of the mixture.  Finally combine all of the salsa to mix the lime throughout and serve!  I totally forgot to do any herbs, but some fresh green stuff would have been nice in here, as well.  This actually turned out pretty mild even with the jalapeno, so if you want to amp up the heat a bit add a second one or leave in the seeds.



Thanks again to @woman-onthe-wing for curating healthy content and creating my lovely banner below!




Sort:  

Your Recipe has been featured in the Steemkitchen Picks Of the week Article. Thank you for your continued Support. May the Hunger Stay with You.

Thanks so much! Heading over to check out the other tasty picks now...

Love the flavor combo... Bookmarked. Looking forward to mango season again.

Right now they are in season in Florida, so at least we can get some from pretty close by! :)

I would never thought making salsa this way, but it must taste heavenly. Another great recipe Katie, well done 💖😊💖

Thank you my friend! It was definitely inspired by all the yummy recipes coming thru ever Monday!

What a beautiful recipe for salsa! And I love your tips for preparing it for lunchboxes or snacks... you're right, it's as good as hummus and a nice alternative. Thanks so much for posting even though you're so busy, and for drawing people's attention to my efforts, and for being so darn lovely in general! Have a happy weekend I hope x

I'm always happy to squeeze one in to help keep the support for your wonderful project going! I'm about to have some over a roasted sweet potato now to fuel up to do my spot on @pennsif's show. ;)

Have a fantastic weekend as well!

That looks so good! I will have to try it. Thank you for sharing this!

Always happy to share what I've got cooking! 👩‍🍳

Oh my, this looks delicious, I could eat it as a meal! Thank you for the kind words, you are amazing! Salsa is one of my favorite treats. Love the jalapeno kick, I think it's addictive lol Did you make your own chips? :)

Salsa or hummus can totally make a meal for me! Doesn't take much to make my tummy happy. 😆

I haven't made any chips yet, but I will when I can grab some corn tortillas tomorrow!

This looks super yummy dear Katie! Congratulations

Thank you Maru! I'm excited to play around with some other variations soon to add to my salsa repertoire. 😉

Honestly looks fantastic! My family has been having a lot of cherry salsa we bought at a farm recently but mango seems even better!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ooh, I don't think I have ever tried cherry before! Sounds like a great twist, especially from a local source! I was going to make a peach version, but forgot before we ran out of fresh-picked peaches. I think I may be able to get some from the farmers market still, so that may be my next version if I can get some. :)

Yeah it was from a farm in Michigan so it was completely fresh! Peach doesn’t sound bad at all either.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Very much so, though I may be a bit biased. ;)

Good thing since I made a lot of it! 😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98