Macro Photography - Red Poppy

Today's macro photo is a "Red Poppy".

This photo was taken at a botanical garden in east Texas, last summer. I love how the details came out on this beautiful flower.

@photocontests #macrophotography

red_poppy.jpg

The Red Poppy

  • The Red Poppy has historically been a symbol of death, renewal, remembrance and life.
  • In 1915, Lieutenant Colonel John McCrae was inspired by seeing a field of poppies growing on a battlefield and wrote the famous poem "In Flanders Fields."
  • In World War 1, the red poppy was adopted as a symbol of remembrance.
  • After WW1 the (Royal) British Legion sold over 9 million poppies to help WW1 veterans with housing and employment.
  • The red poppy is still worn today during memorial and remembrance ceremonies.

Checkout other great photos!


mighty_lion.jpeg Mighty Lion

https://steemit.com/animalphotography/@tincanjunction/photo-of-the-day-mighty-lion


chubby_bird.jpeg Little Chubby Bird

https://steemit.com/animalphotography/@tincanjunction/photo-of-the-day-little-chubby-bird


If you like my content, please consider giving me an upvote or resteem my articles!
Follow Me:
Like my photos, check out my Zazzle Store! https://www.zazzle.com/tin_can_twist
Sort:  

This was such a stunning photo I had to stop and say hello. I enjoyed the the facts about the poppy.

Thank you for your kind words. :)
@tincanjunction

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Thank for your comment. Following

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 2.24% vote... I was summoned by @tincanjunction! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

You got a 16.67% upvote from @nado.bot courtesy of @tincanjunction!

Send at least 0.1 SBD to participate in bid and get upvote of 0%-100% with full voting power.

You got a 1.23% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @tincanjunction!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

RESTEEMBOT IS FOR SALE
I COULD WRITE CODE FOR YOU

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 22.42% Upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01