Photo Short: Getting The Most Out Of A Honda Cub In HCMC, Vietnam

I took today’s Photo Short in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. I couldn’t resist taking a photo of this woman carrying huge pot plants on a motorbike as she came speeding by.

Photographing motorbikes in Vietnam has become a pet project of mine over the last few years. Although motorbikes are commonly used throughout Southeast Asia, it’s in Vietnam that I always seem to find the most interesting photos of them. This maybe down to the sheer volume of bikes on the roads of Vietnam.

The ingenuity involved in making use of this little scooters never ceases to amaze me. I’ve witnessed them being ridden in even the hardest of tropical downpours and carrying seemingly impossible numbers of people. I think the maximum I’ve seen was a family of six, including a baby in a bucket being carried by one of the passengers.

This one’s a Honda Super Cub, a real classic and one of my all time favourites. As you can see it’s been converted into a mini pickup truck.

_DSC2598.jpg


LocationHo Chi Minh City, Vietnam
CameraNikon D300
LensNikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 (at 95mm)
Camera Settings1/100 sec at f/8 (ISO200)
Post ProcessingAdobe Photoshop & Lightroom, Niks Collection

alt text
All the content I post on Steemit is my own original work. ©


I post a Photo Short like this one daily. Plus, long form travel guides and stories several times a week. If that sounds like your cup of tea, follow me on Steemit @snaptravel


Also find me at

SnapTravel.co.uk
Instagram
YouTube

My recent travel and photography posts on Steemit

Swimming With Wild Sea Turtles In Peru
A Day At Lake Paron In The Peruvian Andes
Hiking To Lake Wilcacocha In Huaraz, Peru
Hiking To Lake Churup In Huaraz, Peru

Thanks for visiting.

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=snaptravel
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=photo-short-getting-the-most-out-of-a-honda-cub-in-hcmc-vietnam


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow. A baby in a bucket doesn't sound safe. The weirdest thing I saw was a skinned dead pig on the front of a scooter heading into a Vietnam market.

A pig on the front's a pretty good one. I don't know how they ride them so overloaded. I don't like riding even with a single pillion passenger. Thanks for the upvote, it's much appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46