Love it 💕 / Shove it❌ Challenge

in #loveitshoveit6 years ago

I've been seeing this challenge rolling around on the @steemsugars discord chat (if you aren't on that bandwagon, I highly suggest you jump on it) but I wasn't really clear on what the heck it was supposed to be. I guessed from the name that it was some sort of liking and disliking thingy? But I assumed it was something of an inside joke or a contest. 

Today, though, I saw @alimamasstory 's love it/shove it post and loved it! It was so fun to read. I, for one, am a huge YouTube watcher, and one of my favourite vids to watch are the monthly favourites. This challenge had an air of that, so I decided (even though nobody has nominated me but I don't give a rat's ass) that I would do one of my very own.

So how does this go?

  1. 5 things you like
  2. 5 things you dislike
  3. Tag #loveitshoveit
  4. Nominate 5 friends or more



1. Candles

I have a strange fascination for smells in general. Like, you could leave me in Bath and Body Works for an entire day and I will not get hungry, need the toilet or get sleepy during that time (that first one tells you how insanely passionate I am about this crap). I like perfumes and splashes a lot. But the thing I'm lately obssessed with is scented candles. I spend $25 monthly to buy one of those delicious 3 wicked scented candles, and I dunno 'bout chu but for me $25 is an outrageous amount of money to spend on one thing.


2. Coffee

This one is interesting, because I can not stand the taste of black coffee (its smell on the other hand ❤️). However, I adore any coffee with milk in it: lattes, cappuccinos, mochas, macchiatos, you name it. I have a preference for frappes, but that's only when I'm in hot weather, which is always. I drink coffee everyday, sometimes twice a day. If I drink it after 6pm I go to sleep at 4am. Mostly I love the feeling coffee gives me, the calm image surrounding it and the places where it is sold, they are heaven.


3. Books

I love to read. Every time I went to visit my aunt and uncle in the U.S, my uncle made going to Barnes and Noble a thing. He'd drop me off at like 12pm and go get me at closing time, I'd still not rummaged through the whole store by then, obviously. I was allowed to pick only 4 books (torture) to take home. That was always my favourite part of the trip. On the last trip they got me my fisrt e-reader because my suitcase couldn't really fit more books. I mostly read romance and girly books because I'm a sucker for love, so any time my mum boasts about me saying I read so much, it bothers me a bit because I don't think reading 3 romance novels a week counts as being an intellectual scholar.


4. Trees

I have no idea why I have a fascination for trees, but I do, ever since I was little. I adore all trees and always feel as if they're very aware of us and silently watching. I would definitely be a tree hugger and climber if I wasn't so damn terrified of spiders (they are always on trees).





5. Movies and makeup

I now these two don't have anything to do with each other, but I had one last slot and couldn't decide so I chose both. I love, love, LOVE movies. I was that little girl who had all the Disney VHS cassettes and re-watched all of them about a cazillion times, so I guess that paved the way for my film loving adulthood. Again, I gravitate towards romance, but I also love music, magic and science fiction movies (and I pay close attention to soundtracks). 

Makeup was a later love in my life. I just gravitated towards it in college and now I can't let go. I like drawing and painting, so I've always felt like doing my makeup is painting a different thing on my face every day. You can be anything you want or play it simple. You can highlight your attributes and appreciate your flaws. It's awesome.

 



1. Seafood

I know. I know. So many people are going to say "WHAT!?" But yeah, I just can't stand it. I can kind of tolerate fish though (only if it has a lot of condiments and is cooked in a way that it doesn't taste like the sea). 


2. Screeching noises

I'm only writing about this and I'm clenching my jaw tight because I'm looking for examples. Chalkboard going wrong on a blackboard; scraping cutlery on a metal pan; sharpening the blade of a knife; people who bite their fork with their front teeth; metal chairs scraping on the floor with a high pitched sound; in general, any metal on metal screeching. 


3. People standing really close behind me in lines

I mean, there is a thing called personal space, people. I don't like it when a person behind me is breathing down my neck. I generally take a step back and step on their toes on purpose (I apologize of course) so they have to take a step back and be careful of the weird moving girl, give her some space.


4. Catcalling men

I hate this with all my might. I used to have a car in Venezuela, but now I'm in Panama I use public transport so I walk everywhere. Maybe that would have happened in Venezuela too, I'm not sure, but in Panama it is SO BAD. I now always walk with my earbuds in, listening to music (sometimes I don't even have music on, it's just so they won't try). The thing is, here it's not only the sexual name calling and unwanted opinions, it's invasion of personal space. They literally get in my face to tell me stuff I don't want to hear. The other day, a guy was with his little daughter at the drugstore for crying out loud, and when I passed him he whispered "You're so hot, mami". I mean, what the actual f*ck dude, go to therapy.


5. Noisy babies in the cinema (movies for ages 10+)

I don't actually dislike the babies, I dislike their selfish parents. If you go into a movie that is not destined or made for children, do not take your 1, 2, 3 or 4 year old to watch it, because a) he/she most likely will not understand it and b) he/she will most likely talk or cry at some point and you will annoy the whole theatre. Children who are very quiet and well behaved are of course exempt.

*All gifs are from giphy.com*

@purplevision

@vyemes

@olgavillanueva

@cafeyarepas

@apanamamama

@anrux

@virginohe



Well, these were my love its and shove its. If you do one after reading this, PLEASE tag me so I can read it and recommend it 😊 Any suggestions, opinions, requests? Leave them in the comments!💬 




Discord link

Discord link



Sort:  

Congratulations @claritagigi! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

YAAASSSSSS to milk coffee!! 😍 And OMG NOOOOO to screeching sounds 😱 glad you've enjoyed yourself doing the challenge, I thoroughly enjoyed reading your post! 💓💓💓

I definitely enjoyed doing this post SO MUCH! ^^ Haha, for a world with no more screeching!!!

Candles are romantic, love your fun lovely photos. Thanks for sharing, hehe. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. You can call me Joey.

They are romantic, and very cleansing as I've heard ^^

I really liked the coffee I was drinking in Vietnam. Coffee and Candles together would be very romantic for sure. Nice to meet you.

so any time my mum boasts about me saying I read so much, it bothers me a bit because I don't think reading 3 romance novels a week counts as being an intellectual scholar.

HAHAHA Meeeeee! ♥ Te amoooo me encantó leer todo esto, #yeshomo 😂
Thank you for nominating me, because o b v i o u s l y Imma do this. El meme más grande del 2018 nominar a esta gente= @virginohe

Jajaja chama hazloooo es el post más fácil que he escrito! Más bien me costó ser concisa xD

Thanks for nominating me. Hopefully I can get around to do this soon. :) Coffee is your love it and my shove it! :) Ha! I agree about cat calling men. I don't see it as much here as I did in Mexico. It was constant and to every female. People stare at us here for different reasons (white people parade I call it with our curly blonde kids). I rarely hear wolf whistles or hear comments. Maybe it's just the area we live in...or the age we've achieved. ;)

Whaaaat lol how can you shove coffee xD

Oh I would imagine Mexico, with its "machista" ways, is the #1 country for catcalling. I think I wouldn't hold it in over there. From your posts, you don't seem to live in Panama City; if that is so, then definitely that's the reason for the lack of pesky pedestrians.

Yeah, we live up in the mountains in Tierras Altas and we don't visit Panama City too often! :)

I read the first one from @alimamasstory too.... and it is definitely a fun way to get to know someone.... High 5 White Coffee lover. Love my coffee with milk too and if I don't have that first cup in the morning, my day never gets started. Thanks for sharing

It is so fun! It even got me started on the idea of doing a monthly favourites!

Loading...

Congratulations @claritagigi! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60340.89
ETH 2615.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56