The Biggest Thank You Yet from @briancourteau and @lynncoyle1

in #love6 years ago

Have you ever been so blown away by something where you're left with you're mouth hanging open, shaking your head in disbelief, feeling completely overwhelmed and loved by its' occurrence, all at the same time ?

That is exactly how Brian and I have felt this past week !!

For those who aren't sure what this is all about, let me give you the Reader's Digest Condensed version :

Over the last few months, Brian and I have shared the story of our life, love and pain (from his cancer), and this amazing steemit community has been incredible in their support and love shown to us. There are so many of you who have become a part of our story ...we now truly see this as our story... yours and ours.

I wrote a post exactly one week ago about the most difficult thing I have ever had to do in my life...giving the love of my life permission to die, and the response from all of you was...I have no words to adequately describe it...totally unbelievable!

Then Brian wrote a post requesting help to withdraw money from his wallet because we didn't know how to do that; he needed the money to pay for some of his medications. @davemccoy, bless his big fat beautiful heart, saw Brian's call for help and went 100 steps further, creating this post as a fundraiser.

And that's where all of you come into this story of ours, again!

Dave was trying to raise $150.00 (which by the way, he sent as an immediate gift so we could purchase the prescription), but his post reached and exceeded that expectation, past anything, any of us might have imagined. Brian and I woke up that morning, checked in on steemit, and saw what was happening. We spent the new few hours basically speechless, switching from tears, to smiles, to bewilderment, unable to process what was apparently happening right before our very eyes. I am reduced to tears of gratitude at this very moment, reliving what happened.

You took the time to care, to help, to love. You took the time to upvote, resteem, send sbd and steem, send donations to Brian's paypal account and an older GoFundMe account that our friends back home had set up when his treatments began to eat away at our savings. You took the time to flood us with comments of love and hugs and support and prayers and good vibes. Some of you even took the time to write posts, write songs, share poems, share our story elsewhere, like on radio shows and Discord, buy Brian's sbd, and even delegate to Brian so his bandwidth wouldn't be affected.

Like I said, you have become our story. You are now a part of our life and our love, and yes, even our cancer. And for all of that, you will forever be in our hearts and in our memory.

I will one day tell my future grandchildren about it, at the same time when I tell them about their amazing and loving grandfather, who fought the good fight, and who, like me, was unbelievably overwhelmed by the love we received from virtual strangers, who soon became virtual friends.

Thank you so very much for being who you are. Brian and I are completely humbled and honored to be a member of your blessed community, and here and now, we are extending all the love and respect we have right back to you.

Thank you from the very depths of our being.

We felt the need to tag everyone who has touched us in some way throughout all of this. Please don't take this as another call out to do anything. Although I have tried to personally reply to your comments on ours and @davemccoy's post, we simply felt the need to thank all of you personally. I also know that between all of these posts, there are literally 1000's of upvotes and comments, so forgive me, but I know that I've probably missed some of you, but please know that Brian and I feel the same about you whether you upvoted, donated, or commented...big or small, your intentions are beautiful and it all sends the same beautiful message to us.

Brian asked that I mention to you that he may or may not be posting again for a while, but that of course his thoughts are my thoughts, and he extends the same sentiment. We are actually sitting here together, compiling this as one big messy heap of tears and love :)


Source

@davemccoy, @digitalmind, @sicbar, @delusionalmadman, @grace44, @robertandrew, @apolymask, @grace44, @countrygirl,@johnjgeddes, @spiritualmatters, @stevenwood, @simplymike, @sparkesy43, @wizardave, @traciyork, @robertandrew, @thedarkhorse, @deliberator, @tryskele, @gee1, @steemitbloggers, @curie, @iconnelly, @charisma777, @warpedpoetic, @jan23com, @jlsplatts, @crypto-econom1st, @gracefavour, @bashadow, @abh12345, @spiritualmax, @simplymike, @deliberator, @leighleigh, @sweetjoy, @cryptkeeper17, @paulag, @pataty69, @themanwithnoname, @carlgnash, @pretty.dorky, @paintingangels, @beeyou, @butterb, @johndoer123, @youhavewings, @leeart, @emekacollins, @binkley, @foxyspirit, @faustofraser, @yogajill, @barski, @traciyork, @danielsaori, @wanderlass, @lost108, @edprivat, @saffisara, @moderndragon, @postpromoter @canadian-coconut @yabapmatt @ethandsmith @bycoleman @eturnerx, @backpackingmonk, @kubbyelizabeth, @donkeypong, @analisa, @kevinwong, @johnjgeddes, @countrygirl, @spiritualmatters, @flyingmind, @anwenbaumeister, @meerkat, @kachinhenry, @eeks, @tarazkp, @galenkp, @ura-soul, @steemmeupscotty, @amarbir, @zord189, @cryptogee, @preparedwombat, @insideoutlet, @mirrors, @osm0sis, @maverickinvictus, @thekittygirl, @glenalbrethsen, @fionasfavorites, @aloha-creations, @theluvbug, @amariespeaks, @seareader1, @taskmaster4450, @lyndsaybowes, @goldendawne, @shai-hulut, @hitmeasap, @sharoonyasir, @byn, @jusipassetti, @deborism, @bananamemos, @terminallyill, @plushzilla, @iamjadeline, @mistermercury, @helenmunch, @happycrazycon, @wolfhart, @willymac, @bariski, @lymepoet, @rwedegis, @swedegis, @youhavewings, @joanstewart, @gillianpearce, @lil-mich, @eaglespirit, @jbreheny, @kimmiecfields, @michelle.gent, @delusionalmadman, @sugardash, @somenathsen, @pusteblume, @emergehealthier, @simon62, @lovepath, @lucygarrod, @wilfredn, @sames, @magicalmoonlight, @profanereviews, @scrooger, @helenoftroy, @healthy-home, @pretty.dorky, @jayclar30, @denmarkguy, @andhovesyan, @doomsdaychassis, @dynamicgreentk, @crazybgadventure, @coolguy123, @energyaddict22, @luanne, @papacrusher, @binkley, @minnaloushe, @simplylizelle, @thekitchenfairy, @ilovepoorpeople, @royaleagle, @leighleigh, @smylie2005, @iexplore, @steembottrackerr, @schrodingers-cat, @reazuliqbal, @coolfish

Sort:  

Lynn, I am so happy for you and Brian... of course I am happy he received the meds, but I'm even happier that you both can see how much people truly cared about you. Hint: Its a lot!

This is a very nice thank you post and I think I can speak for everyone by saying thank you to you. You both have been engaging and meeting and making our community that much better. Its amazing when you think about how many lives you and Brian have touched.

How many tears have been shed? How many times have people say "wow" they are amazing?

I'm grateful to have been a small part of your story and I know most everyone will feel the same! I told you a long time ago that God gave us memory and understanding... And the great thing is about that gift is shown in this beautiful story. We well always remember and that means your lives have been "lived"! ;)

aww Dave, this all warms my heart so much! I do remember you a long time ago telling me about God's gift of memory and understanding...this is certainly proof of that, isn't it? We will always remember you as well Dave, and what you did for us, so I guess that means that you have "lived" as well!

:) ... that is a wonderful thing to say! I have lived then, indeed!!! :)

You got a 0.50% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @unleashpower!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

I am so glad everything has worked out and a little bit of stress has been removed from your lives. Seeing the steemit community come together and support one of their own was heart warming and very impressive.

Thank you @thedarkhorse for all you've done for us. It's interesting how our relationship has developed over time; starting with the odd comment and then very quickly the feeling of knowing each other for years. Brian said to tell you that he thinks of you as a brother.

It really is funny how a friendship can be born while chatting online. Think that with a platform like steemit over time you can really start to get a feel for who people are and that really allows for that bond to form. I don't have any Brothers by blood, but have many in life and would be proud to call Brian Brother.

Aww thank you...you just made Brian smile :)

So, I was telling @simplymike that since @abh12345 wasn't going to be doing his curation and engagement leagues results list this weekend, that maybe we needed to come up with something on our own.

I think you just created the place for everyone to congregate. :)

I also feel like there's little need for thanks. Especially to me, but I'm sure everyone you've mentioned will feel similarly. The way both of you have come into our lives, openly, candidly, I just hope that you both know you have people here who care for you and gain greater strength and greater faith, in the divine, in humanity, in the future, whatever—because of you.

This, among many other good reasons and outcomes is why this platform should and does exist.

The thanks goes to you both. :)

It's as good a place to congregate as any, and our hostess theoretically has a virtual ice cream truck headed her way. Maybe we can all get treats and sit on the roof somewhere.

Openly and candidly are two great words to describe how they've been. The honesty about it encourages other to be brave and open. I think that @briancourteau and @lynncoyle1 are having a huge impact, especially on here. People might be seeing for the first time how to live and love correctly.

That is so sweet @themanwithnoname! It does seem that we have affected a lot of people with our story, but I have to say that I feel very affected by the response as well.

And what do you mean virtual?? No wonder the ice cream truck drivers are all looking at me funny when I try to commandeer their vehicle! :)

I've been giving him a hard time about the virtual ice cream, and I want video of you commandeering ice cream trucks. :)

YES!!!!!!!!

Yes to the video or yes to giving you a hard time? :)

Even if she were just saying things like, "Hey. Is this my ice cream truck?" that would be worth seeing the truck driver's response. :)

Yes to that video. I would pay to see a video of @lynncoyle1 trying to commandeer an ice cream truck. Ha ha. I'd enjoy the video even if it were just her trying to convince the driver that I had sent the truck to her and that he needed to let her have it. :)

"Now, listen here young man. My friend, who happens to have no name, sent me this truck. So you will cease and desist resisting me, and hand over the keys this instant."

"Si, señora!"

Script writer's note: Not trying to give her an old woman's voice, as much as I'm trying to give her an authoritative, teacher like tone.

Ha ha ha, I'm just imagining you running down the street trying to get into the ice cream truck and the driver is yelling at you about being a gringa loca and you're just clipping along in your flip flops. The poor people there. LOL!

"I'm glad the effects of the affecting are not affectatious." You're a teacher, did I say that correctly? Hopefully I didn't get too tricksy with it and look like a fool. @glenalbrethsen was an editor. Maybe he knows.

That is a pretty funny picture actually...the flip flops add to it haha

I believe you did that correctly, but I've been retired for a bit now and might be losing my touch ;)

Well, if it means something completely different, then I'm really sorry.

How did I miss this mention?! Sorry.

"I'm glad the effects of the affecting are not affectatious."

I was more of a publisher than the editor, but even so, we were supposed to write to a sixth grade level (not sure if that's what we did exactly). At any rate, that might be sixth grade level circa early 1900s and back, but sadly, not any more.

Then, I would probably have to ask, "What's the context of that sentence?" It appears to be very random. Out of nowhere as it were. :)

That's editor me speaking. The rest of me says, "Carry on."

How did you find this comment? I forgot about it completely. I had to re-read a bit to get the context. Still don't know what I was talking about. Mainly just flapping my lips for my own entertainment it would seem.

Isn't the Wall Street Journal supposed to be written at an 8th grade level? What does that say about the USA when one of the most well-known financial newspapers is written at a level that someone who hasn't even entered high school should be able to read all of it?

Wouldn't be awesome if all eighth graders in the United States read the Wall Street Journal and understood markets, business and economics? I'm afraid eighth grade level isn't even eighth grade level anymore. The dumbing down has done did dumbed down.

I stumbled upon it, stumbling upon something else, I believe, which is how I purposefully navigate here. Stumbling. On purpose.

Now that's a superhero name. The Stumbler! Stumbling his way to victory! Stumble away! Or is it, Stumble on! 🤔It's stumblin' time!

That would be amazing! Maybe we could even teach kids how to manage their money so they don't go into loads (pun intended) of debt and go crazy with their credit cards. Maybe we could even get the colleges to stop taking money from the credit card companies to allow the CC companies to pass out "goodie bags" with CC offers in them to new students. We could teach them to be smart with their money, but that would mean they wouldn't be as easy to manipulate and leverage when we need them to do something. Yeah, let's keep them in the dark.

That was a nice trip. We've seen where you landed. I like it. Welcome back!

There you go! Pitch the idea to Marvel and see what they say. If that doesn't work, go to DC. See, I know comic book company names. Ha ha.

Wait. The ice cream didn't arrive weeks ago? So, if it's only theoretical and virtual, how are we supposed to be incentivized by ice cream I can't taste or digest? I'm pretty good at suspending reality, but not for virtual ice cream. :)

I thought the two words fit quite nicely. In fact, I thought I was going to add more, but ended up stopping there. The two seemed to cover what needed to be said.

So, you've been spending some time away this week again. How are things? Okay, I hope.

That was other ice cream. This is new ice cream, but I don't know where the shipment went. I don't use a very good service apparently. Maybe I should consider UPS next time. Hey, if you have problems digesting ice cream, I feel bad for you, but you have to include special orders ahead of time.

I've just been working on other projects. I need to get inspired and then be disciplined about getting posts out. I almost got two posts out in one day, and then I didn't. By the next day, the idea was gone. I'm going to try to revive it.

My garden is doing well. The sugar snap peas are jumping up like crazy. I forgot to get little sticks for them to climb, so I'd better get on that soon because they're going to need them. My green onions from last year are seeding. Those should drop soon. I've never seen that before. The strawberries are already flowering, so hopefully I'll get some tasty toppings for my cereal in a few weeks.

What about you? What's going on?

Okay. Other ice cream. I see.

No problems digesting ice cream I can eat. It's the ice cream I can't eat I have problems digesting.

With the graphic novel fresh out of pages to post, I've been kind of indecisive what to do next myself. And since I'm commenting more than I was to start thanks to the leagues, I need some of that discipline you speak of to keep the posts coming. The ideas are there. It's just taking the time during particularly favorable moments to put them together.

Our garden isn't in yet. We're generally lucky if we can start by mid-May. My wife is antsy to get something going, but we haven't even tilled the beds yet, so I'm not sure what she's trying to accomplish. It's generally like this, where she jumps ahead and then I need to play catch up.

We do have some strawberries flowering, too. Which is cool, since they're finally starting to grow back after my wife thinned them out a couple of cycles ago. So, hopefully we'll have more than just a handful of berries this time.

We've sort of bypassed Spring here for the last few days and gone straight to early Summer (maybe even close to mid-Summer), with temperatures in the low 80s. The only way we know it's still Spring is that the temps in the evening drop below 50.

However, we're supposed to get our trusty but not dusty rain back sometime towards the end of this week, which will remind us all over here just what time it really is.

As for how I'm doing, I'm well. Complaining doesn't change much, so even if I felt that need, what would it truly do for me? Things can always be worse and they can always be better. As long as I'm somewhere in the middle, I won't be wondering why me, and I won't be worrying it's all going to end.

That makes sense that you wouldn't be able to digest ice cream that you can't eat. I'm tracking with you. So I'll get some virtual cashew ice cream for you. It's made with cashews, so you can eat it if you could eat it. Wait, why am I getting you ice cream that you can't eat. Hmmm. We're going to need more brains on this to figure out how to get you ice cream that you can eat. ;)

I get what you mean. It's tough when things come to and end, especially when you've been in the flow and gotten to enjoy seeing things move along. Then the work starts and it can be a bit of a shock to be slogging along where once you were able to cruise.

Last year we waited too long to get the garden in. I'm hoping that by starting earlier this year that we'll get better crops. This will be the second year for the strawberries, and I've moved some of the plants around, so I'm expecting a good crop. I'd like to go out each morning and have a fresh berry or two. We'll see.

The weather has been strange this year. Hot when it should be cold, cold when it should be hot. Just weird. Enjoy that rain. It will help to wash away some of the pollen.

You're right, complaining doesn't change much. If it hits a motivated ear who has the authority to change something, then it can, but it's not likely that will happen here. At least the price of Steem is up, so you don't have as much pressure on you by being in the hole. You could sell off and make a profit if you wanted to (after waiting 13 weeks). That's got to be a nice feeling.

The price of STEEM this week have been great. I'm not quite ready to power down anything, and I'd have to decide how much if I did, since I don't want to deplete it all. Plus, of course, what goes up has a great tendency to go down. So, over the course of 13 weeks I would be worrying about every little fluctuation. So better to wait until we're safely in a higher range where we're not likely to fall back down below my $2.82 buying average.

As it is, I only need STEEM to be around $785 USD to reach a million with my current stake. I think I might be able to make my wife happy with the decisions I've made at that point. :)

We've tried to do things earlier here a time or two and just end up flooding out the plants with the rains. Which, by the way, hasn't been too bad so far. It's been enough with some wind to start knocking the cherry blossoms off and scatter them around.

I'm going to try to pump out two smaller newsy posts today and then see if I can't get to a larger post along with my The Maya installment. That should help for this week's counts.

No need for all the brain power. I think I may be on my own for the ice cream, which is easily solved. Luckily, there's a DQ and a local ice cream shop not that far away. :) Along with various stores carrying all kinds of the sweet, cold goodness. So, no need for the truck. :)

Thank you very much Glen, you always have such a way with words. I guess we could go on forever reciprocating our thanks, so we can call it with this one and be thankful for you, us, and steemit :)

Hey! Good to see you. It's been a few days. You've probably been around some at least, just not where I've been. :) I figured @themanwithnoname and I could camp out here for a while until you rode along.

Yeah, I think we can change the subject for a while. Any updates on Muñeca? Seen any other murals? Is the sun still shining down there? :)

I've been busy because we moved yesterday; just to an apartment a few blocks away. It has much less stairs because Brian was finding the ones at our old place difficult at times. Muneca is still with his old owners, but I'm close enough that I plan on making surprise visits...not that any of my other visits were organized :)

Wow. A move. I hope you all had some help. That sounds like a lot of work. Well, it might be better that you're living farther away, then.

Wait. So there's still stairs? No elevators? Catapult? Slingshot? Okay, I'll stop. :)

We had a moving truck, but classic here, it was a man and his 10 year old son...no school yesterday. We don't have much so it was fine, but of course the packing and unpacking is tiring! I still need to go back to the old place and clean it but that will wait til tomorrow.

We are on a raised first floor, about ten easy stairs up from the sidewalk funny guy ;)

Hope all is well with you and yours !

So, the guy was like 50? :)

Raised first floor. Okay. Near the beach in case of flooding?

All is well. We've still got stairs to go up and down at our place. I'd prefer we didn't but so far we haven't taken the leap to move. We've got waaaaaaaaay too much stuff, so it will take at least a moving truck, but I think we can probably get some help from church and my two boys whenever that actually happens.

haha he was!

I can see the ocean, but in case of flooding, there's also a rooftop to escape to with a small soaker pool and a bbq...so it would be ok ;)

After my ex and I split up, we had a big house that was full! I feel your pain and understand your hesitation. Just make sure is and when the time comes, your boys don't help move like they help cook :)

I am so happy for you guys.
And I’m happy that the community has proved to truly care.
Big hug to both of you

Thank you @simplymike! I won't ever look at this experience without feeling awe and immense gratitude! Brian and I appreciate you caring and support...and hugs :)

There are a lot of people here have a big heart, all we know this platform is helping each other, and truly you were both lucky to be here. like the big heart of @davemccoy he is truly care and I pray there is also a lot of big people here to look into! God bless and to God be the Glory faith for him as always and you will be given miracle! And to all those people that helping some of our friends Thank you and my the blessed of our lord be with you!

Thank you so very much @jie28! There certainly are a lot of big hearts here, and I'm including yours in that statement as well :) Brian and I thank you for the blessings!!

All are welcome Big Sister @lynncoyle1

This calls for an updated gif...


via GIPHY

(Dang it! Not happy with how Giphy cropped stuff, but I don't have time to play with it right now. I'll pretty it up later. hugs to you both)

Thanks, @davemccoy and @lynncoyle1, but it really bugged me how poorly formatted it turned out. So I decided to steal a bunch of pictures from Brian and Lynn and really do it up right! redo it slightly... 😊


via GIPHY

wow... this is even better.. Great job @traciyork :)

You got a 0.56% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @unleashpower!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

very nice! I love it... great job @traciyork! :)

We think it's absolutely perfect!! This one's going on my desktop with "see Lynn grin" haha Thank you so much @traciyork!

It is nothing @lynnocle1. Like I told @davemccoy is this not why we are here, to help each other, celebrate and cry with each other, to give from what we have, so that someone can find a reason to believe in humanity?

I want to believe that the steemit community is more than just a money making venture, I want to believe we, despite our differences in race, religion, ethnicity and politics, still remember what it means to show love and steemit through you gave me a reason to believe in that. So I should thank you.

Thank you for being brave enough to share your story with all of us, not everyone will do that.
Thank you having truly interacted and made true friends like @davemccoy on this platform. This is what can be made possible when you invest in relationships.

Your story, the reaction of the community to your story will remain in my heart forever. When people will speak ill of communities like steemit, I will remember you and the outpouring of love shown here and I'll know in my heart that there is good in everyone.

My love and best wishes are with you @lynnocle1 and Brian.

For all of us here, may we not also forget this. For this is the steemit dream. This is the fruit of interaction, of a community, this is love and the world needs as much of it as it can get. Peace.

Thank you so very much @warpedpoetic! What a lovely response. Your vision of "the steemit dream" is identical to mine, and "our" story here is proof of its' existence. What a wonderful world this would be if it always looked like this.

@davemccoy and I joined at the same time and met soon after; it didn't take me long to realize what a fine man he is, and even before all of this, I considered him my friend. Brian now thinks of him as his brother. That is the magic that can happen if you allow it; you're right,

This is the fruit of interaction, of a community, this is love and the world needs as much of it as it can get. Peace.

You make my heart smile. Thank you :)

I am so moved by what people have done. Complete strangers who banded together with a rallying call from Dave came as a community to help a fellow person out.

In Filipino we call this "bayanihan" coming together for one cause to help one another without any thoughts on rewards or favors returned.

It is wonderful seeing the entire Steemit community send help that was freely given in order to help with Brian's medicines.

You know that post of yours still makes my heart ache and this gives me a soft warm glow of happiness.

I am happy for you and Brian and will always be here .

I love that there's a Filipino word for this; it's interesting that in English, there is no one word for

coming together for one cause to help one another without any thoughts on rewards or favors returned.

Brian and I love that this community is so very willing and capable to help; it solidifies my faith in humanity.

You know that post of yours still makes my heart ache and this gives me a soft warm glow of happiness.
I am happy for you and Brian and will always be here .

You have such a beautiful heart, thank you <3

Thank you for your great words. Yes Filipino tradition and hospitality is one of the world best, you can live in our home without anything because all of the Filipino community giving all the best and effort just help anyone!

That is just so awesome!!! :)

You're welcome to the Philippines there is a lot of foreigner living in my home land for life!

I think you guys need to be thanked for having the courage to share your story, and allow us a glimpse of the love you guys so obviously have for one another.

aww thank you so much @sparkesy43; that is such a sweet thing to say. Brian and I both appreciate it :)

You and Brian have touched a lot of lives on steemit through both of yours strength. You both have not given up on live, you still live and love, and spread help and love wherever you go, in person and online. I know a few dogs in the neighborhood that live because of you, the raven that waits outside the window for it's photoshoot. Not just he people, but the smaller animals and the birds, have all been touched by both of you. When next you need help let us know we are here.

Agreed, it's such a powerful example of what to do in difficult times. Don't give up, get out there and do as much as you can. Keep living, loving, and laughing as much as you can. :)

Oh @bashadow, your comment here says so much about you as a person and as a listener. You are a perfect example of how genuine looks on steemit (and I'm guessing off of steemit as well) ! Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79