We All Need Belonging

in #love7 years ago

Thinking about one of my sisters. She doesn't know her people or her roots. She thinks they might be all gone. She cried asking me where she is supposed to fit, being Metis....

She follows this person and that person and that person here in FB. She seeks guidance and answers. And the rage and vitriol expressed by these people she follows is intimidating and alienating to her. She wants to share, wants to connect, wants to communicate with them. I don't think she even feels that she has the right. Can you imagine?

But where does she go? And who has been co-opted and who hasn't so she knows who to pay attention to and who to ignore? And if she does everything she is supposed to to fit in, will she be accepted if she isn't full-blooded?

So many questions that make the Spirit ache. And she isn't the only one that has spoken with me about this.

I think sometimes people don't realize how their words impact others. Maybe they don't care. Silence is telling too. So is being ignored.

Are we building bridges? Or burning them?
Creating? Co-creating? Or destroying?

This is why I have withdrawn from the profiles and posts of many. I choose to disengage if hate is the language being spoken. I can only try to connect for so long before I stop.

My People are not from these Lands no. But we are of the Land. This body had no choice in where it was born. But we don't belong here.

So I wait to be walked to the edge of the ocean with a gun at my back if that is the way it plays out.

But where is the remedy for all of this?
I know it is in Love and a reverence for Life.
But that is not enough.

It seems like there must be blood for some on all sides. And I am never down for that as much as I want to punch racists in the mouth.

I tell her what I know and was taught, which really isn't much...

Elders don't talk like that, I told her. And I mean what I say. Those who are of good mind don't talk like that. They don't build community on hatred. They don't build people up using hate. Others are so angry, one has no idea how quickly that sickheartedness will turn upon them which makes for talks that are fragile and filled with caution and mistrust. And then there are voices out there that are so strong and angry and overbearing that you just know they've got some healing to do, because they'd jump down your throat just as fast and the same as asking/accepting help from you.

And I understand a protective use of force and why it is neccessary.

But, there is no walking tall when we are standing on others.

In the end, I told her to trust herself.
Things do come when we are still and listen.

I hurt for my sister.
I pray that remedy comes for all of us soon.

The Creator made all of us.
And the System wants to eat us.

I know this too.

#UniteTheEveryone #WeAllNeedBelonging #WeCanLoveAndRageTogether
#FearAndHateIsAPrison #LoveIsTheExit

Sort:  

Yay Keekee am so glad you're here!!
Enjoy 💜💛💚💙❤

Thanks for resteeming @yogajill!! ^_^

You're welcome @wisewoof 💜💚💙
@keekeeofthenorth is definately a clear voice of reason in these turbulent times. One of the best writters i have ever seen. I have high hopes for her here too 🦋

Any idea what happenex to KeeKee, @yogajill?

Good question. I haven't been on fb much lately but haven't seen her there either. But, your post prompted me to check. She posted there 2hrs ago. I don't think she gave steem much of a chance 🤷‍♀️

Thanks for the update. My FB account is officially deleted. 😎

Good for you! I still use it to connect with family and friends. And, to advertise events. But, use it disceringly and sparingly...it's such an emotional rollercoaster and energy zapper. I hadn't seen Keekee's posts in ages there tbh. It's so frustrating that they show you what they want you to see. She was still posting as usual over there once i manually checked on her. I'd so say bye-bye ⏳ over there but even my grandmas are in fb now 😱

..it's such an emotional rollercoaster and energy zapper.

Sadly, that has been my experience as well.

OMG YAAYY I'm soo happy you've joined us here!!! shooting rainbows

We all need a break from the negativity and hate and sometimes after we've braved so much of it shining our light in the darkest places can become tiresome. I too have disengaged from many in that regard so I understand the feeling. Thankyou for being a voice of reason for me and many others during these turbulent times. <33

Hello KeeKee. Very happy to see you here. you will do well posting here.

Congratulations @keekeeofthenorth! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64188.14
ETH 2766.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66