Clawing out of the abyss and into life: A personal account

in #love5 years ago

Have you ever wondered what makes your relationship work; I mean the relationship you have with your significant other. I've often wondered why we were attracted to each other, how we got through the early stages of getting to know, and understand, each other, then the ensuing journey of life with that person in general...Which is still rolling out I'm pleased to say.

To be honest I don't really know what has made our relationship work. Honesty? Yes for sure. Trust? Definitely. Passion, sense of humour, spirit of adventure, understanding, respect, courtesy and manners? of course! Chivalry? Yep, I do that too. The ability to grow as individuals as part of a whole? Most assuredly...But still, all of those things don't necessarily mean a relationship will survive does it? Ours has though, for 32 years now.

This is an image of my wife I took around 2014. I'm no photographer so don't critique it too much. At this point we'd been together for 27 years, since 1987 in fact.

At the time we had just finalised one of the most terrible times of our lives together in which we had lost almost everything we owned due to the actions of a business partner gone rogue. We lost seven figures in cash money and had to sell the large house we were living in, vehicles and other high-value items to make ends meet. We moved into the first house I ever bought and started to rebuild: Our financial position, my business, our lives as a unit and importantly myself as an individual. It was an unpleasant time and one that almost ended me as a functional human. [Although I am from another planet...So maybe I should say a functional alien pretending to be human].

On the day I took this photo we were in the botanical gardens near the city taking a walk. It was free entertainment. We had literally just signed off on the previous 12 months of hell and we thought a walk, the time to actually stop and breathe, would be nice. We also took the time to chat about the future because we could finally see we had one. Yes, we splurged on a cup of coffee each too, although it cost more than we could afford.

You probably won't see it in the photo, but my wife is sad. You see, she knew what the last 12 months had done to me and wasn't sure how to fix me. She hated the person for what they had done me and wondered if I would ever be the same version of me she was in love with. The loss of a million dollars and more wasn't even on her radar at that stage; I was, she was and we were though. Of course, I didn't know all that at the time.

Anyway, here we are after 32 years, still together, still strong, despite being different people than the kids we were when we met back in 1987. We are tougher, softer, more understanding, and less trusting. We are both fiercely independent yet need and want each other above all else. We are more generous but also covetous of the most valuable commodity we have, each other. We are kinder and yet would go to war with others to protect the other, our lives and relationship; Seriously, to war, gladly. That's the passionate side of our natures coming out. We stand side by side, back to back.

My wife and I have seen adversity in our lives; Lost people, lost ourselves and more material things like money and things. However we have never lost sight of what carries the most weight in life, for us anyway. Is it the diamonds my wife sold, the prestige cars I disposed of, the national award-winning home we lived in and so on? No, that is like dust on the wind. What carries the most weight is our relationship, the other person and our individual-self. Without those things nothing else matters.

My wife and I clawed our way from the abyss, emotionally and financially and have ourselves to thank. We are both non-religious so don't find our strength through imaginary friends; We find it within ourselves and within each other. We do not make apologies for being successful in our relationship or financially or for having a great life furnished with the things and experiences we desire. Why would we apologise for applying the hard work, effort and ownership that one must deploy to gain such things? We also don't thrust it in other people's faces. We just live our lives and enjoy what we have before we die. What else is there?

So...Phew. What makes a relationship work? I don't really know so I'm sorry I can't write a list of the secrets to a successful relationship. I mean what even is a successful relationship? What I think it is may be different for others and so what we all have with our significant others is simply a relationship and the only way forward is to deploy it in the best way we know how, minute by minute, with the intention of creating the best version of it at any given point.

You may note the blog signature I use at the end of my posts. It's not a simple catchphrase to us, it's an important reminder, a part of our individual, and relationship, ethos and a deeply personal mantra that has helped us through some of the toughest times of our lives and reminds us of the way forward. I don't write it to try and imprint it on other's...More to reinforce it to myself. It may resonate with some or not, it simply doesn't matter. Each man and woman on the planet must decide what's right for themselves and act accordingly.

Oh, if you're wondering how one keeps the excitement, passion and interest in a relationship for over 32 years...Only you can know the answer to that. I know it, but only in my own relationship. There's no right or wrong in life...Just life.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default and aim small, miss small.
Discord: @galenkp#9209 🇦🇺

Sort:  

I really like your story, I feel great sincerity and warmth in it. My parents have been together for 28 years and I have seen the tests they went through. Relationships are difficult, this is difficult work, because we cannot control and be responsible for the actions of the person who is next to us.
My relationship is three years and now we are in crisis. All I can do is give a person freedom, care and support. If he answers me the same, then I will just be happy. Because I love unconditionally. And I think that this is the basis for development and moving forward, together.

I'm sorry to hear your relationship is struggling at the moment and I hope you can both find some common ground and the ability to piece it back together if indeed that's what you truly want. Not all relationships work out and it takes great honesty, responsibility and strength to determine that fact.

In my humble opinion the basis of every successful relationship is the coming together of two whole people, not two halves coming together. I wish you all the best with your relationship and future. Value yourself @extractum-lunae. 😊

Thanks for stopping by, I appreciate it.

Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default.

Posted using Partiko Android

Many thanks for your response!)) I sincerely believe that everything will work out. and not only me, but also other people who are in a similar situation. I believe that people will be able to hear each other and go together in the same direction.

I'm glad to hear this. When you find the right person you just know and together you can overcome the adversity life throws up. Best of luck.

Posted using Partiko Android

32 years is a looooong time. That is a lovely story of longevity - sticking together through thick and thin. Compromise is the word that pops into my head when I think about how relationships work. Lots and lots of compromise.

This may sound a bit dry, but I think that a fairly high percentage of men in longterm relationships have good looking wives. Not to say that a high percentage of men are shallow enough to dispose of their wives at some point solely based on unattractive looks, but men are such visual creatures...I think it plays on an unconscious level, or I have just been judging a lot of very nice men for a long time :)

Hmm, interesting perspective. At the same time it takes two people to make a relationship work, at least in our relationship anyway. I don't know if one party being attractive would be enough to make a relationship work, certainly not in ours. I wouldn't stay with a person based only on looks. I know I'm not the best looking however I must have some element that Faith finds tolerable right? I also know there are many women out there that could be called more attractive than my wife and yet I don't want to be with them. I don't know, it's an interesting concept.

I sort of get what you're saying though and to be honest I wonder to this day what made Faith find me attractive that first day we met. We have been inseparable since so o biously something. I wasn't even rich.

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't think you would be the sort to need an attractive wife. It was more of just a general observation rather than meant to be applied to your relationship. I think you have more depth than that, and the longer together generally the stronger the bond.

Agreed it takes two. Maybe the same applies to the women in those relationships. Although in general superficial needs are less obvious in the case of women, for instance just a large body frame, or just intelligence, since we women are wired to seek protection for our families. Idk, just theories :)

It's a really interesting thought and I feel that mankind isn't as far away from where we started when it comes to reasons for attraction. I'm sure cavemen who were good hunters got the babes for instance right? I mean it happens in the animal kingdom, Alpha males and all. It's an interesting topic and I'm sure there's a heap of really smart people out there who could explain it all to us.

Whilst they're at it maybe they could explain to me why the hell my wife felt I was worthy. 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow! An incredible story of perseverance and companionship! Not many could go through that and stick together given how stretch many of us humans become through adversity. This may be a real life example of soulmates!

Merci beaucoup @newageinv

I happen to know for a fact she wants to kill me on a daily basis but I'm just so bloody adorable she can't bring herself to do it. I'm sure she'd miss picking up after me, leaving my shit everywhere and smart ass comments, selective hearing and the way I boys-look for stuff in the pantry. I give good cuddles though.

Seriously though, thank you. It's been a ride so far and we manage to make it work somehow. That 2013-2014 period was difficult and we hope we never have to face something similar again however life has a way of dealing out adversity. It's how we deal with it that defines us though right? :)

Made for each other. This defines the true meaning of love

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @steemflow I appreciate you stopping by, reading and replying. 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Good Stuff Right Here...!

A 2 part read 4 me tho. Had to take an intermission. Made some popcorn.....

Really tho..... I took a shower break in the middle. I started the read, shower came available, So I came back to finish it all clean and spiffy.

Our lives ( @krazzytrukker & @pooky-jax ) mirror yours in many ways it seems. But then again it is always different in many ways.

Something as simple as a Cat rescued us from our abyss. You have followed the Sammi story. So you know It was not the financial abyss. But rest assured we have been to that one too.

Photo is our Samantha, Week #1 with us. Giving a lost soul a reason to smile again. Giving Her a path back from a deep dark depression and loss of Her best friend, Her Mom.

Posted using Partiko Android

Life throws up different things and we can only deal with them as best we can. We've been fortunate to have survived some of the adversity and thrived. Many do not.

Posted using Partiko Android

I've enjoyed meeting her in person a few times now, and I can attest she's as kind as she is beautiful. Great piece, mate. Sorry to hear of your devastating financial travails. I've never liked the idea of going into business with somebody else; its just too common a story.

Thanks Matt, she's a keeper.

The business partner thing sucked. You think you know someone huh? Oh well, Iearned some valuable lessons about myself and others. We made it through and that's the main thing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @steemflow.

I'm so glad you have each other after all those challenging times... Here's to another 32 years together!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks mate, I feel very fortunate to be in my relationship and simply couldn't imagine my life without Faith in my life. I know most people don't care so I don't write about it much here however I appreciate the replies from those like you who care to comment about it. Merci beaucoup.

Posted using Partiko Android

Is your wife's name Faith?:)

Yes

Posted using Partiko Android

What more can one ask...

Posted using Partiko Android

:)

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.593 which ranks you at #1904 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 1906).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 279 contributions, your post is ranked at #59.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations on the longevity of your relationship! Continue what you are doing, or not doing, whatever.

Sometimes hardship brings people closer. Sometimes is breaks them apart. It is difficult to tell until it happens.

Thanks mate, I appreciate you taking the time to comment. Relationships can be difficult however a little adversity makes the good times better. I’ve been lucky.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60252.67
ETH 2426.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44