You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Clawing out of the abyss and into life: A personal account

in #love5 years ago

32 years is a looooong time. That is a lovely story of longevity - sticking together through thick and thin. Compromise is the word that pops into my head when I think about how relationships work. Lots and lots of compromise.

This may sound a bit dry, but I think that a fairly high percentage of men in longterm relationships have good looking wives. Not to say that a high percentage of men are shallow enough to dispose of their wives at some point solely based on unattractive looks, but men are such visual creatures...I think it plays on an unconscious level, or I have just been judging a lot of very nice men for a long time :)

Sort:  

Hmm, interesting perspective. At the same time it takes two people to make a relationship work, at least in our relationship anyway. I don't know if one party being attractive would be enough to make a relationship work, certainly not in ours. I wouldn't stay with a person based only on looks. I know I'm not the best looking however I must have some element that Faith finds tolerable right? I also know there are many women out there that could be called more attractive than my wife and yet I don't want to be with them. I don't know, it's an interesting concept.

I sort of get what you're saying though and to be honest I wonder to this day what made Faith find me attractive that first day we met. We have been inseparable since so o biously something. I wasn't even rich.

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't think you would be the sort to need an attractive wife. It was more of just a general observation rather than meant to be applied to your relationship. I think you have more depth than that, and the longer together generally the stronger the bond.

Agreed it takes two. Maybe the same applies to the women in those relationships. Although in general superficial needs are less obvious in the case of women, for instance just a large body frame, or just intelligence, since we women are wired to seek protection for our families. Idk, just theories :)

It's a really interesting thought and I feel that mankind isn't as far away from where we started when it comes to reasons for attraction. I'm sure cavemen who were good hunters got the babes for instance right? I mean it happens in the animal kingdom, Alpha males and all. It's an interesting topic and I'm sure there's a heap of really smart people out there who could explain it all to us.

Whilst they're at it maybe they could explain to me why the hell my wife felt I was worthy. 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60165.60
ETH 2421.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44