I Got Burned Out Doing Nothing... So I moved to another Tropical Island!

in #living6 years ago (edited)

GOPR1769.JPG

Life in the Tropics - It's All Good.

More than a year has passed since I reestablished a new homestead in Guam, and next month it will be one year since my wife joined me. And you know what they say... "How time flies when you're having fun!" It must be true because it only seems like we just arrived a few weeks ago.

This last December 2017 we went home to Samar and spent a couple of months there. We enjoyed Christmas and the New Years festivities, a couple birthday celebrations, and a fiesta or three, including our own barangay fiesta. We enjoyed the companionship with some of our close friends with a few get-togethers. I tended to some things around the house that needed attention, but mostly I just relaxed and took life one day at a time. I managed to get some video footage while there and hope to get to work on some editing and uploading to my YouTube channel soon. Mostly we just enjoyed the holidays, the pets, the family, and the comforts of our newly designated "retreat" home. I also done a little fishing and caught nothing! You know what they say about fishing: "A bad day fishing is way better than any day at work!" We returned to Guam around the 3rd week of February and slid right back into our routine of more tropical living!

Matabato Fiesta at Nen's.png

First to arrive at a friends house for Fiesta in Matabato, Calbayog City, Samar.

One thing I realized when we returned to the house in the Philippines was that the heat and humidity had begun creeping into the house. Our caretaker runs the aircon for about 4 hours per day to help maintain lower humidity levels inside, but now we know about 6 hours per day (minimum) is needed. I also noticed the mildew starting to form on many of my books and my stamp collection was looking neglected. Aside from all the stamps I have already cataloged and in albums, I still have this accumulation of stamps which completely fills two cigar boxes. I discovered that several (too many) stamps were increasingly beginning to adhere to each other. Once I got them back to Guam, I had to carefully separate them, mostly by soaking them apart. The one thing I will share here is that when living in the Philippines, the heat and humidity can cause many things to deteriorate. And if you are close to the ocean, the salt-laden air will assist in that process... inevitably!

Even though we keep our home climate controlled while we live there, and unless we run the air conditioning sufficiently, moisture will creep in and mildew will begin to appear - because inside the house, with all windows closed, there is no natural air flow. This is our biggest problem. Because we imported all our furniture and household goods, we are careful to keep the house closed up and attempt to manage the dryness with our three air conditioners. Another reason for keeping the house closed up is to keep out unwanted mosquitos and termites. Once wooden furniture becomes infested with termites, you might as well call it quits because you will lose that battle. Open windows allow every critter in the universe that surrounds the Philippines to enter the house. And we choose to live in a 'mosquito free zone' and to not to live with bugs... or humidity! Period. Even aside from all the protections we put in place, we discovered that we had a septic tank mosquito infestation shortly after our return. My wife was struck down with Dengue Fever from a mosquito bite the second week back in the Philippines. She was down hard for about 5 days with every symptom imaginable. It took two weeks to remedy the septic infestation.

Back to the stamp collection... I was able to save almost all the stamps that were stuck to one another with only loosing a few low-value stamps to actual damage. Anyway, back here on Guam, life goes on with central air conditioning and that is what makes things so comfortable here. Comparing Guam to the Philippines, most everyplace is air-conditioned here... and it is welcomed by all, as opposed to the Philippines where most people (in the province anyway) prefer NOT to live in the colder air. Systems here are also well maintained and some places are downright frigid! In contrast, in the Philippines, I share the joke: "How do you get unwanted relatives to leave your house? You just you just turn the air conditioner to "Artic Blast!" That will eliminate all occupants faster than you can open a cold bottle of San Miguel!

Passing the Time.

Inside 1.jpg

When we first arrived, there was much to do!

When I first arrived in the Philippines, I had plenty to do. I had a house to finish building. Then landscaping filled much of my time. I also brought along my fishing kayak but it became a burden to launch and recover (in our barangay). Due to the low tides, I would need to carry the 65lb Yak (and all fishing gear) nearly two hundred meters to get to water deep enough to paddle and that was just too much work. Along our coast, nearly half of the year experiences higher tides but much rougher waters during the Habagat (SW monsoon). I tried fishing with and without the kayak there but there are so few fish to be caught along the shoreline, I gave up fishing altogether. Then all my gear began to rust badly. I used to take long afternoon motorcycle rides along the coast until I transferred the bike to my brother-in-law. Then we were left with only the car for transportation, which the asawa takes most days. I had my bicycle, which by now had rusted to the point (remember the salt air) where it was not in great shape. I now had my newly finished man-cave where I could spend much of my day in privacy, but that got old real fast... I became too isolated from everyone and everything. Even the dog decided the cool and refreshing aircon was not worth being cooped up and she abandoned me. I stopped making videos when YouTube began their censorship campaign, in addition to all the unjustified copyrite claims I had to deal with on almost every video I produced. Then there were the daily brownouts and piss-poor internet upload speeds that Globe was providing me for my money. I quit playing tennis because it was taking its toll on my knee and shoulder. I even had someone doing all the yard work and washing the car. The bottom line - I had run out of things to do - except for lounging around, eating (in or out) and drinking beer! Doing nothing is not a good rut to be in... for most people. And I definitely got into a rut.

Inside 29.JPG

All finished! Now what?

Meanwhile, Back on Guam

I am back in a place where there are plenty of things to keep me occupied. I returned to playing racquetball and I have been invited by the U.S. Navy's gym director to submit a proposal to offer racquetball lessons, so that process is in the works. When I'm not playing racquetball, there is snorkeling, diving, fishing, beach combing, golfing (I also retrieved my clubs from the Philippines), and hiking to help me and the Mrs. (shopping) occupy our time. We also returned to bowling and are enjoying our second season of the Thursday night league (ironically the league is composed mostly of Filipinos). We have re-discovered shuffleboard (indoor table variety), enjoy attending Guam fiestas, visiting local attractions, and taking morning and evening walks on the mostly litter-free beaches (there is no perfect beach anywhere, some are just cleaner than others). In a nutshell, we are still enjoying the Asian culture, only Guam style! And on rainy days, I can play with my stamps.

IMG_7358.JPG

Engrossed in Stamps!

With all these added activities, I'm surprised I find enough time leftover for blogging! It will be hard to run out of things to do here on this island and we can now look forward to visiting our retreat in the Philippines and enjoying some pure rest and relaxation. Because Guam can wear you out... if you allow it to happen!

Guam Beer.jpg

Did I fail to mention there is always a cold beer to be had in between all there is to do?

!originalworks

Blue wave ruler with minnow.png

Retired in Samar 1.gif

Sort:  

I'm glad it's working out great for you and Mrs. Thanks for all the tidbits of wisdom scattered on your post. Definitely going to take those in consideration.

Our original plan (if financially-sound) is stay 6 months US and 6 months Philippines. We haven't figer'd out how to make it work especially since we really don't have any relatives or anyone for that matter, we can trust.

Now...If we can afford to move to Guam and be there and go back and forth, that'd be great. Have you been to the Organic farm owned by a Japanese in Guam? I had to look it up again it's called Hamamoto Tropical Fruit World.

I suppose if you have nobody you can trust (I'm assuming in the Philippines), I could see how you would be hardpressed to build a home there and leave it to just anyone's whim for 6 months at a time. For us, Guam has become the more convenient location of choice rather than making more costly trips several times a year from the U.S. Mainland. In the future, it is possible we could make 3 or 4 trips a year and one of us (her) could stay longer if need be. It just makes more sense. And I will look up that Japanese Organic Farm... sounds interesting. Thanks for the info!

Wow I'm excited. If and when you go visit I'll be watching out for the post about it!

Yeah, it's really disappointing. But we have to be realistic first. Trust has been broken many times and I'm past the "fool me twice/thrice", it's a shame.

Live n learn though! Costly but heck life goes on.

Wish we could travel there this fall, but it's looking like we need to stick around on Guam for a while. Having someone you can trust makes all the difference in the world. Don't feel so bad though, you are not alone.

Wow, what a way to live. Someday... maybe when the children don't need us anymore, then, we can live anywhere, travel everywhere and live the good life.

Don't forget to set your goals and do not let anything interfere with them. Planning and saving makes it all possible!

Thanks for the tip. Got to start saving soon. And planning too. As the saying goes, not planning is planning to fail.. Really got to start soon.

We began the process by de-cluttering and not buying anything we didn't need. No more buying of new cars, giant TV's, expensive smart phones, stopped eating out, etc. We also eliminated ALL of our credit cards and bills, except for the mortgage. You would be surprised how easy it is to save if you quit living so lavishly (some would say above your means). The reality is that no one gets rich (or ahead) by using credit. It is a process that takes some getting used to but if you stay focused on the goal, it is rather easy to do. If you have children I understand it can be more difficult, but if you reign them in and make them part of the plan, it can be accomplished. Best wishes going forward!

Thanks for sharing. We used to be quite thrifty but when it comes to the kids, we try so hard to give them the very best, always thinking they should not have to struggle like we did. And even now, we just keep working so hard, so we can save for their education. The time will come for us to take care of ourselves once the kids can fend for themselves. And yes, we hope to retire to wherever we want just like you.

Just keep on Steemin' and you will get there before you know it!

I hope your racquetball proposal goes well. I wanted to let you know there is a community veterans upvote bot. It is community owned and specifically for veterans. Your cost for participation has already being paid...your military service. It is being way underutilized at the moment. Here is the link to the introduction post https://steemit.com/veterans/@umvbot/introducing-umvbot-military-veterans-of-steemit-upvote-bot. If you are worried about phishing links simply input steemit.com into your browser with/@umvbot. Hope to see you over in the UMV Discord!

Thanks, I will check it out. Can you provide examples of rates of return? I am already participating with another Veterans BOT, but not through delegation, only Upvoting. See the @shadow3scalpel below.

It is community owned. You don't have to contribute anything. You can delegate SP if you want to but YOU DO NOT HAVE TO. It is built for one purpose. Give each veteran on Steemit an equal upvote from a community-owned bot.

So it is similar to @shadow3scalpel? How does it find my posts?

It's the link I left above. I'll paste it: https://steemit.com/veterans/@umvbot/introducing-umvbot-military-veterans-of-steemit-upvote-bot. If you are worried about phishing links simply input steemit.com into your browser with/@umvbot. Hope to see you over in the UMV Discord!

That is the post that explains it all and there should be a link to the Veteran's Discord. Spread the word to other vets please.

@retiredinsamar You have eanred a random upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots.

Thanks, I don't use bid bots! They take nearly all of the curation awards and reduce the rewards pool for everyone. I wish they would be banned!

You are exactly right, yet many people flock to these "trending" articles so they can get curation rewards, but the bots get it nearly all of it. They would be so much better off find an article that that quality, voting on it, and then spreading the word. This would turn their vote into gold in the long run.

I couldn't agree with you more! have tracked all my curation rewards for months and truthfully, they pale in comparison to the rewards I receive from posting my own content and through commenting. It seems the only real benefit to curating one's post is to the OP, helping to build their reputation score.

You are correct. There is no doubt, that writing quality articles and commenting with honest, genuine replies will reward you in the long run .. and it just feels good to have your article do well people real people not bots think it was worth their time and vote.

@retiredinsamar

@bycoleman (owner of @transparencybot) is using upevote bots himself.

@resteem.bot

At least he's transparent about it! 😄

I have not used them in a while and the posts that I boosted I donated the profits back via direct donations and contests. They neglect to add these these facts.

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52