Product Non-Spotlight - LiveSustainably “Don’t Buy It” Challenge

Yesterday I didn’t post a product spotlight because I spent my time considering how I could avoid buying one of my previous spotlights! That’s right, I wanted a glass water bottle like the one I featured in my Product Spotlight #13, but I also wanted to participate in the most recent “Don’t Buy It” challenge by @livesustainably! Also, I couldn’t justify buying a $14 empty water bottle when I could get a grocery store drink for a fraction of the price and just reuse the bottle.

So instead, I went dumpster diving because I remembered drinking a tasty kombucha from a glass bottle last week! I hoped the bottle was still in our recycling so after a few minutes of digging, I found it!

I forgot to take pictures of the actual process because I was so focused, but after finding the bottle I started peeling off the label. Unfortunately it was covered in some type of plastic coating so I had to let the bottle soak in warm soapy water before peeling off a few strips and letting it soak again. Overall, it took about 20 minutes to get the sticky label off and appreciate a clean glass bottle!

For about $3 dollars and a little elbow grease, I did NOT buy a new glass water bottle and instead reused one that was already available! Now every time I take a sip of water, I feel pretty good!


Photography by @kiaraantonoviche and may be shared/reposted with proper accreditation.

Join the HomesteadersOnline Discord community today!

Proud passenger of the Steemit EcoTrain!

Sort:  

We love those kombucha and Kevita bottles, though we don't get them much anymore now that we're brewing our own. Anyway, a trick I learned for removing the labels easier is to fill the bottle with boiling water and let it sit at least 15 minutes, then test it by peeling up a corner if it comes up easily without leaving a bunch of sticky residue, then it's ready. I've even had the entire label come off in one swipe!

Oh man, removing a label in one swipe would be insanely gratifying! -Aimee

Years ago I bought a glass water bottle that came with a soft holder for $18. One day I was drinking from it and someone said, "Oh, reusing a Voss water bottle? Nice."
I said, huh?
I went to the store, and sure enough, Voss water bottles were the exact same thing. For a couple bucks. So when I was looking for a replacement, I bought a couple of those. Two, because Voss is changing to plastic (argh), so I wanted to make sure I had a spare! LOL

True dedication to the cause

Haha! Who'd have thought this competition would have sparked such a fire! Talk about determination!! Well done.

We buy sparkling water in glass bottles occassionally and we tend to reuse those bottles dor drinking water. A few times I have been asked if I was drinking vodka, even at the gym. How curious. -Aimee

yesss love it! i didn't realize #livesustainably was hosting such a challenge so thanks raising awareness. i think it's really empowering to reuse things we already have- not to mention we save money and reduce waste streams! XO wren

I can't see spending $14 for a bottle either! Especially when they're EVERYWHERE!
Also, if you happen to have lemon essential oil, it takes labels off like that. (Just pretend I snapped my fingers there.)

Darn, I think I DO have lemon essential oil! Wish I knew about that earlier lol! I tried some olive oil too because I heard somewhere that it helps with the sticky glue, but it just made a bigger hassle as I tried to hold the slippery glass bottle! Well if I ever break this bottle and need a new one, I will keep that in mind - thanks!

A VERY practical solution to three VERY prevalent problems!

Reduces expendatures while improving personal lifestyle and minimizing environmental impact!

Great initiative! Absolutely love the idea of inspiring people to live sustainably! I think that when we practice being resourceful about filling a need (like what you did) over time it just becomes an automatic way of thinking.

I wasn't always frugal or resourceful, my parents have to have "brand new and perfect" and I would run to the store for whatever ...but now I look around and see how I can make do. My curtain rods are branches I scrounged up from the woods and polished with bees wax (I think they look really great) and I carry around mason jars for water. I have hundreds of them so it only makes sense!

Reuse and recycle of course. I even recycle my dill pickle brine, when they are gone I put my boiled chicken or quail eggs in for lovely pickled eggs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65641.09
ETH 3479.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50