How I Ended up With Linux – A User Discovering Open Source

in #linux7 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: How I Ended up With Linux – A User Discovering Open Source


Since the Steem blockchain became a centralized, top-down dominated place, where control and censorship thrive, I have decided to move my content. Don't worry, though, all my posts and up and doing well on the decentralized Hive blockchain. Come and check it out!

Sort:  

I'm so honored that you read my post and followed through with installing Mint! It's also fascinating to read your history with computers. It sounds like you were actually exposed to Linux much earlier than I was. I remember cutting my teeth on DOS back in the 80s, copying games on 5.25" floppies with my grandfather's Compaq "portable". But I didn't see Linux in action until my wife bought me a netbook that came with it pre-loaded in 2006.

In Neal Stephenson's In The Beginning Was The Command Line he provides an funny extended metaphor that compares people selling Windows to a Ford dealership, and Mac to a high-end sports-car dealership. But just across the street is a place giving away tanks for free.

Well, knowing the address won't help much if you never walk through the door. Now that I'm in it feels like it's not such a big deal, but I'm sure many people are still looking in from outside, not quite sure if they should dare to come in. This post is for them mostly.

Oh, the old 5.25" floppy disks! I think that was just before my time. The aforementioned 286 had only a 3.5" disk drive, which was the reason one of our friends (with cool games nonetheless) could not exchange games with us: his PC only had a 5.25" drive. Until his folks got a 386 and everyone started hanging out at his house...

I love that analogy with the car dealerships. I think I saw a meme like that. Another one compared Windows to WallE, Mac to EVE, and Linux to the Terminator. :-)

I am using Lubuntu for five years now.

There is almost any Application and Feature in Linux you would find in Microsoft or Apple operating systems, with the difference that stuff on linux is mostly for free and open source. You know what you get and you only pay when you want to - in form of donations.

I very happy that this was invented! It is simply the one and only best operating system in the world!

Steem on my friends!

Exactly, which is why I should have joined a lot sooner. But oh well, it's never too late. :-)

Great to read your story and that you are telling people about Linux. I enjoy using Linux a lot and it's extremely reliable.

I should write more posts about Linux here on Steemit, too. It's a good connection with the freedom that many people are looking for here. Linux gives you options.

Oh yes, please do! Would love to read about other people's experiences and learn some neat tricks. Thanx!

When my last desktop computer bite the proverbial dust (when you live close to the ocean, salt does a number on desktops) and I found that I would have to upgrade to Windows 10, I ran for the hills. Enough Microsoft already! I found a place that would build a customised laptop with Ubuntu installed (added bonus: good tech support on site), I grabbed not one but two, one for me and one for my son. I haven't looked back. In two and a half years of heavy use, we have not had one crash! They are working beautifully. Granted it is a bit if a learning curve, but it was well worth it.

Oh I'm so glad to hear! Really, someone growing their own veggies, and blogging on Steemit... of course they are most probably Linux users. (That's what I say NOW...) And you're absolutely right about Windows 10. It feels like someone is grabbing my hand (a bit too) firmly, to lead me across the street, whether I want to or not, all for my own safety. It's like that annoying paperclip from Word 97 (remember?) has gotten hold of the operating system. No, thank you! I'm sure it's just a matter of time before I equip my nice new laptop with Linux too.

Paperclip...Oh, I remember. I think it or a version similar was out before that...

This is interesting stuff. I've long been interested in Linux for curiosity's sake more than anything... but like yourself, as a non programmer, thought it might be too intense.

Thanks for sharing your experience, now I might have to try it out!

Oh, it's definitely worth trying. And like I said, you don't need to know the first thing about coding, but be prepared for a bunch of unexpected things. It's always nice to know people who've been using Linux for a while. They can be a great help if you get stuck. Otherwise the internet is full of very helpful questions and answers.

I totally agree. I bought a new laptop with Windows 10 and it was a dog within 3 months. Took ages to boot up and shut down, and certain apps such as the browser became really slow. It was nothing I'd installed as I only put firefox on it. It was awful to I tried Linux Mint 17.3 - that was 2 years ago and I've never looked back. It runs like a dream. One or two minor issues which were resolved by looking at the forum, but it's slick compared to any version of windows. Any compatibility problems are easily worked around too. I occasionally duel boot to windows 10 for the odd thing and it's a tedious experience.

Yes, since writing the post I'm discovering how nice it is to organize folders and their contents. The system accommodated to what I I want and not the other way round!
I'm sure I'll install Mint on my new laptop too before soon. And I was thinking to completely get rid of Windows 10, but you might be right, and it may be a good idea to leave it up for the occasional thing, behind the Linux system.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by stortebeker from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

It's great to know your experience! thanks for sharing this detailed blog :)


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us promote your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article will be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


I most certainly accept. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59356.21
ETH 2723.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53