You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I Ended up With Linux – A User Discovering Open Source

in #linux7 years ago

When my last desktop computer bite the proverbial dust (when you live close to the ocean, salt does a number on desktops) and I found that I would have to upgrade to Windows 10, I ran for the hills. Enough Microsoft already! I found a place that would build a customised laptop with Ubuntu installed (added bonus: good tech support on site), I grabbed not one but two, one for me and one for my son. I haven't looked back. In two and a half years of heavy use, we have not had one crash! They are working beautifully. Granted it is a bit if a learning curve, but it was well worth it.

Sort:  

Oh I'm so glad to hear! Really, someone growing their own veggies, and blogging on Steemit... of course they are most probably Linux users. (That's what I say NOW...) And you're absolutely right about Windows 10. It feels like someone is grabbing my hand (a bit too) firmly, to lead me across the street, whether I want to or not, all for my own safety. It's like that annoying paperclip from Word 97 (remember?) has gotten hold of the operating system. No, thank you! I'm sure it's just a matter of time before I equip my nice new laptop with Linux too.

Paperclip...Oh, I remember. I think it or a version similar was out before that...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59796.03
ETH 2732.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52