You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I Ended up With Linux – A User Discovering Open Source

in #linux7 years ago

I totally agree. I bought a new laptop with Windows 10 and it was a dog within 3 months. Took ages to boot up and shut down, and certain apps such as the browser became really slow. It was nothing I'd installed as I only put firefox on it. It was awful to I tried Linux Mint 17.3 - that was 2 years ago and I've never looked back. It runs like a dream. One or two minor issues which were resolved by looking at the forum, but it's slick compared to any version of windows. Any compatibility problems are easily worked around too. I occasionally duel boot to windows 10 for the odd thing and it's a tedious experience.

Sort:  

Yes, since writing the post I'm discovering how nice it is to organize folders and their contents. The system accommodated to what I I want and not the other way round!
I'm sure I'll install Mint on my new laptop too before soon. And I was thinking to completely get rid of Windows 10, but you might be right, and it may be a good idea to leave it up for the occasional thing, behind the Linux system.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59796.03
ETH 2732.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52