Pouring my Heart Out on Steemit (because I will likely never see you in person) lol

in #life8 years ago

Remember when we were kids, we stared at the world with a great sense of wonder? We were not jaded and generally shared a huge sense of optimism. Adults always asked us,

"What do you want to be when you grow up?"

I want to be a doctor, I want to be a lawyer, I want to be the President of the United States. We had such dreams and we were ready to take them head on. I always wanted to be a zoologist. I was head of the science club in middle school and even ran a fundraiser so our class could buy an acres in the South American rainforest. I ran a campaign to repair our school garden with a koi pond. One day my teacher helped me arrange a herpetologist to come and speak at our science club. After his speech, I had a brief conversation with him and he told me if I ever wanted to own a house and have a wife and kids that I should forget about working with animals. That coupled with my parents telling me that they could never afford to pay for Texas A&M University College of Veterinary Medicine so I should be more practical. That opened my mind up to doubt. I just thought it would be interesting to share s few photos from when my sibling and I were kids and us now. 

I'm the baby.


Visiting my middle brother in Prison


Riding Shotgun in my oldest brother's Rolls Royce Ghost


I have a family of 5 going on 6


Taking my family flying



Our Few Days In the Hippie Commune in New Mexico

Well, so of course my life hasn't turned out any way that I ever imagined. I'm not a zoologist or veterinarian. I don't like domestic animals nearly as much as I used to but I still hold nature in a high regard. I don't hug trees anymore. I never wanted a wife or kids but I adore my family more than can ever be described. With that being said, when life throws you lemons, you make lemonade, keep the seeds, and grow more lemon trees.

There's Adventure in all of Us

I took you Indoor Skydiving with my 6 year old
I took you on the road with the White Power Ranger to get a tattoo
I took you on an aerial tour of Houston
I took you to @ned scott's funeral (RIP)
I took you to #STEEMITGUNCLUB

FOLLOW

AND I WILL TAKE YOU PLACES

mostly in Texas LOL


Black Uncle Sam Credit

Sort:  

Hello @xtrodinarypilot,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to not receive comments from SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

Great, great post.Now that I'm getting older I contemplate my past with my present. Life has a way of working things out, I feel the same way about my family as you. In short I joined the army, got stationed in Germany, married and German had kids and now live in the land of bratwurst and beer, I could have never planned that. Are you from Texas as well? Oh and following you.

US Army? I was 13F, what was your MOS? I do live in Texas, born in Louisiana, and i feel you on the Germany situation. I know many who stayed behind. I may have left my heart there in Nuremberg somewhere lol

Ya U.S. army. I was 25U. 13F? That's arty right? I'm sure plenty of people left their hearts there too.

Blessed life. Beautiful family. Steemit is a better place cause of ya'll.

You have a lovely family! :)

I appreciate the kind words

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63665.23
ETH 2621.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77