How to keep your Wife HappysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

Imgur

newbreakline_darker_color.png

My partner @sherryblossom challenged me to write an article called "how to keep your wife happy".

Of course there are ulterior motives for her suggestion but I am just going to ignore the innuendo and do it anyway. As far as I am concerned....Challenge accepted!

To properly tackle this analysis I am going to approach it like I would an IT problem and the @sherryblossom will be the focus (just to piss her off).

newbreakline_darker_color.png


Imgur

The first thing to do is try to define "happy". Happiness is a state of mind and a very subjective one at that. In this case "just content" won't do, we really have to reach that happy phase and even more, we will have to maintain it.

The next step is to research what makes people happy. Luckily there are some very smart people who already have done some great research on the subject and defined interesting theories. For this very complex case I am going to use Maslow's hierarchy of need as a guideline

newbreakline_darker_color.png


Imgur

Physiological needs like food, water, warmth and rest.
So the first step to keep @sherryblossom happy is to keep her fed, provide food, water, a house with all the amenities like a bed, a shower etc.

I have provided a house a couple of kids, cars, we have food on the table and all the luxury one could ask for. Basic needs check!


Safety needs
Second one is to provide security and safety.
This one is kinda vague, do I provide financial security or does she needs to feel safe in general? We both have a job and I am earning some extra with crypto so I guess we're good on the financial front. We live in a very safe neighbourhood and I can't thinks of anything that would be a threat to our well being so...

Also gonna check this one off because I am not getting not "unsafe" vibe from @sherryblossom. More money might be a thing but then again, how much money is enough?

newbreakline_darker_color.png


Imgur

Intimate relationships and friends
Well, I've got the intimate relationship covered and @sherryblossom has no shortage of "friends".

This is another part of the "needs" list I consider to be A-ok. Although this "challenge" has me a bit worried.

Esteem
This is about the feeling of accomplishment. This one is kinda tricky because what can I do to give her a feeling of accomplishment and self worth?
The right answer of course is to support her and encourage her in het decisions and compliment her as much as I can.

This one is difficult because I only play a part in this one, but I am going out on a limb and say that this is also good but add that maybe I can try harder to support her (she might actually read this, so I am just making sure that I have everything covered).

newbreakline_darker_color.png


Imgur

This deals with achieving one's full potential including creative activities. I guess this one is totally out of my hands. The only thing I can do is give support so that she can be all that she can be.

Since I never discouraged or obstructed @sherryblossom in the things she wanted to accomplish I guess the thing for me to do is figure out how to get her to the top of her game, and what exactly that that game is.


Imgur

newbreakline_darker_color.png


Imgur


So it all boils down providing basic needs, a safe environment, food on the table. Then we have to get the intimacy part down (yes, liking that one) and surround ourselves with good friends. While we are doing all this we also have to encourage and be supportive so that our significant other can rise to reach her full potential.

Following Maslow's guide surely @sherryblossom should have reached some point of happiness but I can't shake the feeling that she is trying to send me a message by challenging me to write this. For the life of me I can't really figure out what it is.

Dear fellow Steemians, help me out with this one. What am I missing here? Give me your best advice on "how to keep your wife happy". The best suggestion gets a 5 SBD prize.


Don_t_forget_to_leave_a_comment_banner.png

newbreakline_darker_color.png


newbrandsignaturefinalscaled2.png


newbreakline_darker_color.png

Read more about: Maslow's Hiearchy |

newbreakline_darker_color.png


recent_posts_header.png

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur


recommended_posts_header.png

Imgur

Be sure to also check out Cryptocurrency Mining For Dummies - lesson 1 and 2 by @gregory-f.

Imgur

Sort:  

You have been chosen!

  • I manually analyse, read, resteem, and then upvote 5 undervalued posts each day. High quality curation.

great work @xervantes

Thanks, I feel honored

its easy - delegate all your SP to her, and send her to holly Flag Crusade. level of happines: Deus Vult

Lol, delegating my SP and letting her rampage on Steemit will cause irreparable damage to the platform. This will cause the price of Steem to plummet and spell the end Steemit as we know it. Believe me not a good idea...

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

I think you are doing the great job there. Maybe you forgot the anniversary so she is trying to make you wonder...

I thought so too, maybe she is just janking my chain....

first things first / keep the home situation awesome / good man

Thanks man, I always try to do good by my family.

Though you worded it differently. Appreciate one another as we are. Being able to accept that we are different and feeling good about that is most valuable. And that is very broad.

I think you did it right from the science side.. that's a topic for men which needs serious thinking 👍😎

And because it's so subjective, we need some very objective, structured way to first define the happiness for our better half and then give the happiness by setting goals and tasks. Let's go!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63131.59
ETH 2586.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78