An Increase In Productivity Following a Depression

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I think I'm finally starting to pull myself out of this depressive slump.

I'm still near the bottom of the trough, but I've made huge strides in making peace with everything, and I think I can sense the approaching upswing. It was so weird how it all seemed to be ushered in by that damned eclipse in August. The very next day was when everything just disintegrated. 2017 in general has not been a kind year, but I'm finally ready to shed August and everything after.

These past couple of weeks in our household have been interesting. It's become very festive around here and even though this will be the first Christmas minus both parents, I'm still enjoying the mood of the house.
The tree is up.
The lights are up.
Presents we ordered are arriving almost seemingly daily and getting wrapped.
I've finally taken time to hang photos and things on the wall around the house and in my office. Many of those things having belonged to both Mom & Dad. It's starting to feel more like a Dad's cave in here now.

I'm also finally nailing down a morning routine. I've never really accepted having a morning routine because I've never really been a morning person. I've always been a night owl, going to bed sometime usually between 1am and 3am. Didn't ever matter how early I needed to be up, either. Every 30 minutes I would internally bargain with myself about how many hours of sleep I could get if I just waited another 30 minutes. Now that I've got a kid, suddenly I'm finding I need to be up no later than 7:30am to get him ready for school.

I always fought against my sleep, though. If I needed to go to sleep, I fought it. If I needed to wake up, I fought that too. It's not even really sleep that I'm fighting, I don't think. When I really think about it, it's more like I'm fighting giving up whatever I'm doing now to go do whatever's next. I do that in my waking life, too. If I'm not finished doing what it is I'm doing, I stall on doing the next thing, even if it's time sensitive. Anyway, I digress...

So anyway, I've decided to institute a new morning routine. This is kind of a big deal for me because I hate mornings. Now that I'm older, I'm kind of starting to like them. That's because I'm doing it with a tool I didn't even know I needed: Trello.

Many of you probably are already familiar with Trello, but for those who aren't, you should go have a look if you want to increase your productivity in any way for any aspect of your life, whether it's personal, business...any process that has steps. It's perfect for me because it puts my task list in a tangible, rearrangable format that I can access anywhere. It also helps me stay in sync better with my fiance so we each know what we're both doing, what's already been done, and what still needs to be done. It's like a honey-do list on Intelligence Enhancing Steroids. And it's definitely helped me improve in carrying my own weight around here. ;-)

In the meantime, I need to wrap this up because I have a kitchen to clean...it's on the list. lol



Sort:  

Go with it! You got this! I was recently there myself, kind of caught in a 3 month remission to old habits and ways of thinking and about 2 weeks ago I found a way out in reserving my judgemnt of whatever I deemed negative, deciding instead to focus on the positive. This had seemed difficult for the prior months but for some reason it just clicked. Since then I've been steeming a lot and practicing guitar and working on my short stories and just kicking ass in general. I also wrote about keeping a routine recently.

It seems you are on your way up and you will most likely launch yourself into a nice new rhythm any day now. :-D

This post was great I thing cuz it showed the pure experience of the author, and btw was useful and...I don't know ..I liked it a lot..
thank you..
btw ..the key is to get the smallest done, in the to do list..and then go to the next smallest..thats just like getting STEEM POWER here portion after another...it motivates you..idk..good luck

Glad that you are feeling a little better. Grieving is the same as depression except for the fact that it lifts after about a year, so hang in there.
In the meantime, if you take one vitamin make it niacin (B3), get the expensive no flush type. Recommend for all night owls.

I don’t sleep. I wait. Lmao. Make a list. Check off 1 item at a time. Stop feeling sorry for yourself. Stop comparing yourself to other ppl. Pick your sorry ass up and get to writing., building stuff. Repairing stuff. Now go out here and buy some bts eos and steem. And be successful. Good luck brother. I was broke and homeless and have no family. at 30yrs old. I’m retiring soon so you have no excuses.

a very good post, I like your post, because it is very useful for me and others, hopefully the next post is better again, thanks ...😊😊😊

a very good comment, I like your comment, because it is very useful for me and others, hopefully the next comment is better again, thanks ...😊😊😊

I love your sense of humor, @winstonwolfe. This echo comment cracked me up. But on a more serious note, i enjoyed reading your post very much, and I identify with much of it. I think most people go through a period of darkness at some point. I certainly have. (By the way, I can’t recommend vitamin D highly enough! It’s so great for helping with the blues this time of year!) Anyway, I wish you the best in your healing journey. Thanks for the Trello tip.

Thanks, @jayna. I actually don't have a chronic issue with depression. I lost my mother in September, so I'm just coping with the loss.

That is really hard. I am sorry for your loss. I haven’t followed your story, but I can definitely relate, having lost both of my parents. Life is full of transitions, isn’t it? Thank goodness many of them are good ones.

Thanks @winstonwolfe..😉😉😊😊

Until we get lost, we will not go looking for ourselves. We either make ourselves unhappy, or make ourselves strong. The amount of effort is the same. So in a good way. Thanks for the post.

Ya know... I can easily relate to a lot of the stuff you just said. As for trello, sounds cool. I was thinking I'd skip that though. Where can I get some of those Intelligence Enhancing Steroids? Does it come in ear drops?

Incorporating a routine or schedule is beneficial in combating depression. So to is the environment that surrounds you. Finally one's diet can impact it. Depression is a culprit that robs energy and joy. Thanks for sharing.

This post has received a 0.31 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

I like the way you write. And I will try trello , thanks for posting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54336.36
ETH 2283.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34