I hope it’s not you who are pretending to be working hard

in #life7 years ago

source

Recently, Jane who always happy suddenly became very depressed.

The company has an elite team, responsible for the main brand core business. In the third months Jane joined, she was able to get into the elite team with the "most motivated employee", and are proud because able to work together with the senior colleagues.

But in this month, Jane was unexpectedly transferred to other departments because of poor performance, and was removed from the elite team.

The one who replaced Jane, is the new interns, Peter. Jane feels very wronged: "Peter is much lazier than me, he never work overtime, often come in late ... Obviously, I am the most hardworking one in this company!"

Jane really work very hard: she is diligent, always be the first to work, the last to leave. She is motivated; she has a hard drive full of data collected from the Internet, professional class of books at the side of the computer. She is optimistic, never complain, and always cheer up each other with her colleagues.

I also feel very strange, why does an energetic person couldn’t improve her performance in work?

source

With doubt, I began to observe Jane's work style carefully. Finally, I got the answer: Jane’s doesn’t pay attention to her efforts.

She came to work early every day, but making coffee, breakfast, surfing the web and other chores occupied a lot of time. Although she had been in the office before 8:30, the time for her to start her work was after 9:30.

Peter at this moment has already processed the mail, listed work plan for the day.

When Jane is working, although she doesn’t chit chat with her colleagues, the Facebook notification on the computer keeps on popping up, her fingers on the keyboard, almost never stopped.

Although Peter always talk with his colleagues, when handling things, he is always concentrated, sometimes he can’t hear us when we called his name.

I also found that the data in Jane’s hard drive, she never opened them, the books on the table were almost untouched or moved.

At the same time, I heard that Peter had signed up for night school, every day after work, he will rush to class.

With this comparison, I can easily understand why Peter can perform better than Jane. Jane's overtime, in fact, just make up for the time she wasted at work, not by diligence. The things that can finish in less than an hour for Peter, Jane need to spend four hours to complete it. In the case of the same workload, her work efficiency becomes low, and her working hours naturally extended.

Jane's efforts, is just a mirage.

source

Looking at Jane, make me think of my study life.

When I was young, I was often praised for being smart, because I can easily get full marks in the exam. But since I get into high school, I can no longer stand out. Because of the extra subjects, diligence becomes particularly important. The care-free me got defeated by a bunch of hardworking students.

I missed my ideal university and entered an ordinary university. I understand that if I not hardworking enough, the gap between the top students and I will getting bigger.

I tried to change, read out loud during revision, all the notes copied neatly, and also help students organize notes. I always look like I worked very hard, but the results can not deceive people, I have always been at the end of the rank. This makes me feel "humiliating."

But when I rethink again, it is justifiable: when I read out loud, there was only voice, and don't have the intention to understand or remember; I take notes carefully, but I did not listen carefully to the teacher lectures. All my efforts are all bluff. Maybe I'm really smart, but my laziness makes me look awkward.

The moment of the lazy is not the worst, the worst is when you pretend to work. It will let us unaware of our laziness, think that we really put in a lot of efforts.

source

In life, we often unconsciously become the people who pretending to work: At work, no matter how busy the work is, we won’t forget to check our Facebook notification, participate in every gossip discussion; Come home from work, once turn on the wonderful television program, will never turn it off; The next day, go to work with dark circle under your eyes. Looks like hard working, but it did not bring any improvement in self-development.

Self-control is always the root of success. If there is no self-control effort, then you are just pretending to work, and pretending will make us procrastinate and can't focus. The more you pretend, the more you become lazy and don't think ahead.

In the end, those moments that we unwittingly fail to live up to will become the embarrassment of our lives.


follow

PREVIOUS POST
If you always make the wrong choice, it is because you're not capable enough
Things that you should do at age of 20 so that you won’t regret at age of 40
In a family, the one you should care the most is not the child, but the wife
When having hard time in your day, you should definitely find something to keep you busy
If possible, I wish to give my 200% efforts
You might not be successful now, but you can be successful in the future

Sort:  

nice blog ,thanks for sharing.followed& resteemed

Thanks for dropping by :)

@cryptohustlin has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Salad from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

hmmm, nice one, working late does not equal work efficient

Thanks! If you do it correctly, you don't even need to work late :)

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69662.55
ETH 3388.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77