Life Story : My World Just In 3x3 Room

in #life8 years ago

I have this compulsive obsession with my bedroom. It's about the only place I can change around to suit myself. If I want the walls green , then green they will be, if I want photos of certain people up on my walls I put them there,if i want the walls like forrest, then forrest they will be,  if I want a certain song on I can put it on, if i want imagine something, it can be real in here. 

I am 17 years old right now, i go out of my town to my college town and rent a 3x3 room, from that my room was the only place where I could be myself. There was a time in my life, which everyone goes through, where I was discovering myself (some say this is a never ending process). This particular stage in my life I let what surrounded me control who I was. Whatever music was in - I'd listen to, whatever clothes were in- I'd have. A lot of the time I wasn't even aware of what I was doing, all I knew was I was hardly ever comfortable around people nor was I confident. 

At my collage it was cool to wear certain clothes, listen to certain music, not be a part of the Collage Representative Council and not to do collage work. Then we hit year 17, lots of changes began in my life. I looked at my life like it was my bedroom, I threw away what wasn't 'me'. I found myself subtley and politely distancing myself from 'friends' I couldn't trust or didn't feel comfortable around. I became proud of my involvement in the Student Representitive Council and started having an opinion without being afraid of speaking it. The more comfortable I became the more confident I was. Don't get me wrong, I wasn't someone without friends before this change, but with this change more people were drawn towards me. 

We all get drawn to certain trends, which is fine, but it's important not to let it dictate who you are or what you believe in. I recommend looking at your life the same way as you might look at your bedroom. When I did this, I put in some of my taste and personality and created the most comfortable place, all for me. In the end, individuality and being yourself is what happens to make you "cool"


Thanks for Reading

#steemit #motivational #life #writing #lifestory

Sort:  

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 8.7 and reading ease of 73%. This puts the writing level on par with Leo Tolstoy and David Foster Wallace.

I upvote U

Congratulations @vianhandika! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @vianhandika! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Semi Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @vianhandika! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66