Revenge on an evil landlord and how my blog became a victim of Hurricane Harvey.

in #life7 years ago

Shit has been fairly eventful down here in cow town since Hurricane Harvey took a piss on Texas. I was horrified when I logged on and saw it’s been like 20 days since my last post. So after the flood water went down I went back to my house to find it pretty much intact. Since it was a shitty trailer jacked up on cinder blocks the water didn’t destroy all my shit but the electricity and air conditioning was gone, and the entire underside of the home was soaked in toxic avenger sludge, so despite my couch not being destroyed the house was unlivable. My slumlord cunt of a landlord disagreed and made my brother and I give our 30 day notice and pay September rent even though the only time we stepped foot in the house since the flood was to move out. Then she took $200 out of our deposit because we didn’t steam clean the carpet, $100 because we didn’t clean the ceiling fans, and another $290 more for miscellaneous bullshit. After I asked her if she was aware that she wasn’t a good person, she and her husband laughed at me.

The joke is on her because all of that is about as legal as serving alcohol to minors at a cockfight. I am currently shopping for lawyers to inform her of this. I am also contacting the IRS to inform them of her multiple rental properties that she insists the tenants pay for in cash so she doesn’t have to report the income. After some internet sleuthing I found out she is claiming a homestead exemption on her property taxes for one of her rental properties as well as the house she actually lives in. The local authorities have already been notified and said they would be happy to look into all her properties.

Revenge feels like a warm bath after coming in from the snow but I really would have preferred the old wrinkled bag of shit just act like a decent human being in the first place and save everyone a whole lot of trouble.

Anyway, I got Shanghaied into a job with my contractor neighbor Ben after pitching in to help him and his family start rebuilding after all their homes got fucked. Me and all the other volunteers turned into employees and somehow I wound up as a foreman. Now we have five homes we are working on and enough jobs lined up to last the next year. All the guys under me are between 19-21 years old, which is nice because that’s where I am on a maturity level so we all have a lot of fun swinging sledgehammers and making disparaging jokes about each other’s sexuality. The other day we had to pick up 400 sheets of drywall so we rented a U-Haul. Instead of taking two vehicles Ben just threw all the kids in the back of the truck. This is a bad idea, and there is a big sticker on the back of the truck saying as much but I don’t know if it is actually illegal. The guys thought it was fun until they had to spend all day being carted around Houston in an unventilated metal box going down the highway at 70 mph, surrounded by drywall and insulation. I took a turn in the sweat box and now have a newfound respect for illegal immigrants. That shit sucks. Ben offered five dollars to whoever could stand up the longest while he drove like a madman. He hit the brakes and our best guy Nate face planted into the back of the cab. He dislocated his finger and I’m pretty sure he had a concussion. The guy who won the bet refused to concede the five dollars to Nate.

So that’s what I’ve been doing. I’ve lost count of how many hours I work a week and when I get home I try to have a few drinks, just on principal, but I’m too exhausted to even work up a buzz. Every day I sit down at the computer hoping I can muster enough energy to do absolutely anything and I just can't. Off days are fairy tales at this point but I’m helping people rebuild and making some pretty damn good money in the process. Also, my beer gut is shrinking and my chest muscles are getting swollen like a staph infection. My body is starting to get used to the hell I’m putting it through so hopefully I’ll be able to start devoting more time to writing and reading blogs. I’m taking this weekend off to go gambling in Louisiana and get some R&R. Hopefully, I’ll get a story out of that, but if nothing else, I’ll recharge my batteries to get back to steeming.

Sources: 1, 2, 3, 4

Sort:  

YAY! Your back I was worried about you. Even wrote something about you but never posted it cause you'd think it a little stupid probably. lol I am so glad to see you back. Sucks that bitches b bitches... I know how that is. I have been shrinking too actually. Lost 50 pounds as of this morning and it feels nice. I am totally going as something slutty for Halloween for a change. I hope you get some good times in man! You deserve good things. Go party and let off some steam! AGAIN yay POST! You were so consistent and then nothing... got a little concerned that life was really putting you through something. With all the shit you had to go through. Anyways the goats back> FUCK YEAH!

You'll take pride in knowing it was the comment you posted that made me drag my tired ass to the computer and get back in the saddle.
Congrats on the 50 pounds. That is impressive.

I can crack a whip. Damn straight I will take pride. ^_^

hehehe .. a good story even though in the story the incident that makes you upset and stupid mehabiskan dollars because of flood events

What's a good story without a little drama?

Wlecome back brother. Keep fighting the good fight

Thanks for not thinking my blog was dead and unsubscribing.

Lovely story, i enjoyed the ending part.

Thanks for reading.

Am I bad person having laughed through some parts of the post? You're doing great helping others rebuild. Wishing you all the best as everyone tries to bounce back.

It's important to find something to laugh about, especially when things get rough.

Fuck yeah bud! Working for a living is the worst, but it's also kind of great😄 Glad you came up for air, and are getting that ol cunt landlady the whatfore. Good luck in Louisiana, hopefully you come back with as many teeth as you left with.

It is nice not being a starving artist right now. The starving part isn't as glamorous as the artist part.

Good seeing you post. Hadn't heard from you in a while

I'm setting some time aside next week to read all your posts i've missed.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!


Curious? Check out:


The @resteembot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in resteembot's feed.
Some of them are truly great.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 4.9% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @themadgoat
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @themadgoat to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Whatever @resteembot resteems, I resteem too!
I am a new, simple to use and cheap resteeming bot
I will automatically resteem posts resteemed by @resteembot until 2017-10-15 00:00:01 +00:00
If you want to read more about me, read my introduction post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83