This is Who I Am!

in #life7 years ago

Hey Fellow Steemians :)

06022010116.jpg
A few of you know I am a stay-at-home mom/housewife. I love it and I am very thankful towards my hardworking and awesome husband that I am able to be at home raising our two boys. I am homeschooling my eldest, we only started this year but we are enjoying it so far.
who am i.jpg
In all honesty, even though I love my life as it is, there are moments I wonder WHO I AM outside of being a mother and a wife, yes sometimes the disdain in other people's eyes or tone voice gets to me when I tell them I am a stay-at-home mom. My life as it is with my kids keeps me busy, not much time for anything else (except Steemit when I get some me-time), so I don't practice any hobbies I would like to spend some time on.

I Love taking Photos

So how do I compromise?
Lots and lots of family pictures, a few odd ones here and there too, but seriously, my youngest is not even a year yet and I am close to 2000 pictures of him alone hahaha!

I Love Traveling

How do I compromise?
Make the most of the weekends with your family and far away visits to family. Take note of your surroundings and make a few extra stops along the way.

I Love Singing

What do I do?
I don't care if I sound like a choir of cats, I enjoy it and my kids enjoy me singing them lullabies till they fall asleep or us just being silly by singing and dancing, having fun together and creating memories.

Love Reading and Writing

How do I compromise?
Steemit obviously HAHA! No seriously, I can't remember how long it has been since I held a book or enjoyed even the smell of it, but being on Steemit reading about other people and conversing gives me some grown up time. And I am no novelist or a good writer, but I enjoy it.

Family is very Important to Me

My mother passed away when I was 2 years old, oddly I remember the day, but I went to live with my mother's mom, my grandmother, and she was very old fashioned, so when my father was abusive during visits I was surprised my gran didn't chase him with a rolling pin. I was the only child between my mom and father, but at my father's side I have 2 half brothers and a half sister, and on my mom's side I have one of each as well. But I did not know them growing up, and that we are all grown up, it is hard to build that relationship with them, I always wanted that sibling bond.

I may not always get a long all the time with all of my family members, we all know the in-law struggles (it's fine now), uncles and aunts who get on your last nerve or cousins you lose touch with, but whenever given the opportunity I would always try to mend bridges if possible, otherwise rather keep at arms length if they just mean trouble for my marriage of children.

But my husband and kids are what is most important to me. We went through hell and back, but we made it together and came out stronger, wiser, and closer than before.

So in the end even though people may look down at me for not having their achievements or what they think a modern woman should be doing in life, I have my own achievements, they call me mom and wife and their unconditional love is priceless, and my life is not over yet anyway!

Everybody has a moment to think "What If", it doesn't mean they have any regrets.
noregrets.jpg

Reposting, hopefully Cheetah will ignore, LOL

With Love,
@the-housewife aka Bekkie

South Africans - JOIN US ON DISCORD

TSA_logo_square.png
#teamsouthafrica
Follow the Link
https://discord.gg/9KVccPH

DQmRhDtjokAZnGKi4QwheqksKTFo6m4fsjMYsNNrsitC1xk.gif

I have nominated this post for the #minnowsfaucet VIP List,
vote for my post here @minnowsfaucet

Sort:  

Beautiful photo and stunning photo
Done follow +upvote

Yikes! 2000 pictures is more than ive taken in years. I just checked and about half my pictures were taken on family trips on 3 separate occasions. Do you have a method of sorting them?

I create Folders by Year and Sub-Folders by Month or Event. It takes a while but the system works for me, and Google Drive is a gift as Hard drives can be unreliable and I would cry if I lost something

Great post Bekkie @the-housewife. Keep enjoying your family - it's such a gift

Thanks you @pandamama, enjoying every moment, even the long nights with a teething baby, growing up so fast :)

Hi, @the-housewife. I read your post with interest. I would like to express my opinion that might be of help to your question "Who Am I".

The Bible says "I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Marvelous are Your works, And that my soul knows very well". - Psalm 139:14.

I wrote a post sometime back that might also be of help: https://steemit.com/religion/@veejay/the-living-word-what-everyone-needs-to-know-about-the-living-word

And lastly, of all books try and read the Bible. That's the only place where you get the true answers about life. By the way followed and upvoted. stay blessed.

I loved your comment, thanks so much! This reminds me of a song we used to sing in our church when I was younger

I think being a full-time mommy is a huge privilege :) Not that i am a mommy, but i would like to be in the future

Lovely post!!

It is amazing and I am truly thankful that I have the opportunity to see my through the day and experience so many great moments with them :)

appreciate Your article welcome to #minnowsfaucet
tip! link

You ROCK! I am a stay at home mom for my last child (age 13 boy, home/virtualschool.) Just found out today that our daughter who is 33 is pregnant and we are so excited! She will stay home with her kids as well. You are in a great club! I am following you from the steem faucet!
Peace and Love,
Melissa

Wow! It's great to meet so many other stay-at-home moms on Steemit! Homeschooling is so much fun, it has it's challenging but the way things are going in public schools are going and school fees I feel better about the choice :) Congratulations! Mom and now almost GLAMMA :)

Oh, I like that Glamma...going to borrow that one!
Melissa

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.19
ETH 2615.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73