The Living Word - What Everyone Needs to Know About The Living Word

in #religion7 years ago (edited)

The Living Word.jpg

The Word Became Flesh

Joh 1:1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.
Joh 1:2 He was in the beginning with God.
Joh 1:3 All things were made through Him, and without Him was nothing was made that was made.
Joh 1:4 In Him was life, and the life was the light of men.
Joh 1:5 And the light shines in darkness and the darkness did not comprehend it. NKV

I was raised in a Christian home, therefore the whole family of six had to attend church services every Sunday. But deep inside of me was more questions about going to church than answers I got.

There was sort of vacuum inside of me that needed to be filled with something I didn't know. The priests at our church could not fill that vacuum with his sermons.

As I was growing up I decided to stop going to church and lived like other youth, partying and involving in all kind of mischief.

Meantime that was when I began doing my research about the meaning of life. Questions like why am on this earth, where does humankind originate. I read a lot of books about different religions.

One particular day I and my wife were invited to a certain cottage meeting where a traveling evangelist was preaching. He spoke about the wonderful work that was done by Jesus Christ.

He said, reading from the Bible, "There is no blood that will save mankind except by the blood of Jesus."

The evangelist quoted from the Book of Hebrews Chapter 9:11-14

Redemption Through the Blood of Christ

Heb 9:11 But Christ came as High Priest of the good things to come, with the greater and more perfect tabernacle, not made with hands, that is, not of this creation.
Heb 9:12 Not with the blood of goats and calves, but by His own blood He entered the Most Holy Place, once for all, having obtained eternal redemption.
Heb 9:13 For if the blood of bulls and of goats, and the ashes of an heifer, sprinkling the unclean, sanctifies for the purifying of the flesh,
Heb 9:14 How much more shall the blood of Christ, who through the eternal Spirit offered Himself without spot to God, cleanse your conscience from dead works to serve the living God? NKV

That challenged me because slaughtering of animals (livestock) among the Black folk was something very common. Though I never practiced that ritual. Those who believed in this ritual were trying to appease the ancestors by shedding the blood of animals.

That very moment my unanswered questions were answered. I made a decision to follow Jesus Christ.

Click here to read post # 1 of "The Living Word"

Thank you for reading;

See you next time

We are blessed to bless others.

Sort:  

Praise God! He shows us the way and leads us along. Thank you for sharing your testimony, and God bless!

Yes, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins.

Thank you for sharing!

Nice post, thanks for sharing your story.

Thank you and God bless

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58919.17
ETH 2647.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43