Strange(r) things

in #life7 years ago

Today has been an interesting day. Not in an "Oh wow I've done so many cool things, I'm such a cool person now" kind of way, but interesting in a way that I've felt strange.

I received a text from a friend, saying we should catch up some time, and as a well-educated human, I answered with an "of course! How have things been?" kind of text. Soon afterward he answered, rambling about how he was on top of the world, he had discovered crypto-trading, gotten in early on IOTA and was cruising the waves of success. I congratulated him half-heartedly and moved on to my work. Or so I thought.

The fact is, this bothered me all day. My brain got into a bitchy loophole that I was unable to get out of.

He was a friend, but he was by no means a great person.

He doesn't deserve the worst, but he doesn't deserve the best either, at least not without any hardship.

My mind kept on roaming, stirring up shit like a crazy nutribullet. Here I was, a struggle bus with two arms and legs, and then this guy comes along, and get it all. I started getting pissed, distracted even. I had to leave the place I was working at to try and concentrate, and then had to move again to concentrate again.

Soon I realized that half of the day had gone by and all I had thought about was how unfair life was. Or was it?
Here I was, a college graduate millennial, with a job in sunny California, complaining about another college graduate millennial working in California. Of course, I have problems, I struggle with life many times, yet who am I to judge what is fair or unfair? Won't others look at me and spite my privilege? I have been handed many things in my life, many things that I forget in these moments. And I have been rejected many others, that I remind myself constantly about.

IMG_2707.jpg
(California is just out of this world)

For the rest of the day, I decided to not give crypto a single thought. Although having these strange days help me grow as a person, they remind me of how much growing up I need to do, and that goes above all. Yes, I love the thrill, the adrenaline rush that is going on in the market right now (Bitcoin just hit record high whaaat?), yet sometimes we have to distance ourselves just enough to understand where we stand with everything we do in life. My interest in crypto will only increase, but I will not allow it to go under my skin, and bring the worst part of me out.

Not on my watch.

Sort:  

Congratulations @tereleresoya! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63986.43
ETH 2745.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66