Work-from-home moms - how do you do it?

in #life7 years ago

Today I experienced what it is like being a work-from-home mom. Maybe I did it all wrong, could be, I know one thing - it's the most challenging job in the freaking world! OK perhaps I was flung into the deep end, since the fact that my son was a tad ill got thrown into the mix. But still, phew!

My toddler's teacher recommended that he stay at home for a day, he's been battling with the sniffles and in her words "he's been feeling miz" (miserable) - huh, in my opinion my hormonal tot is always miserable. Anyway, I took the day off to help my little sick patient recover - he was full of beans, irony is always out to get me.

Non-the-less, I was happy to have an opportunity to spend some quality time with my little guy. Until my husband phoned me with a list of URGENT work to be done, that is. A client wanted something done as of yesterday, apparently (wish they had phoned for it YESTERDAY)! My husband and I own a software development company and while being the boss’s wife comes with perks, it comes with pitfalls too – like doing work at home, even when you don’t want to. It was at this point that I was in a little bit of a predicament…how to get a spirited two-year-old to play on his own?

I turned on the TV, that had his attention for all of 5 minutes. Pulled out some toys to play with, all of one minute. Snacks, snacks always work! Nope, nothing I have in the house was good enough for him. At this point he thought it was very funny to climb on top of me and play hairdresser.  At least this finally got me some peace to do what I needed to do, well I had my hands free anyhow! An email and quote that usually takes me less than 5 minutes to do, took me about half an hour. Half an hour pulling little fingers from my knotted hair, typing a sentence, half an hour of saying “please don’t do that”, saving a document, half an hour of my kid screeching “ROW ROW ROW YOUR BOAT” – finally – HIT SEND! 

I felt exhausted, frazzled!

WORK-FROM-HOME MOMS (AND DADS) – HOW DO YOU DO IT?

I obviously did something wrong.

It actually mad me appreciate the schedule I have. I work from 9am-1pm, I head off to do chores before a fetch my son at 2pm. Then I get to focus all my attention on him until my husband comes home. Daddy takes over while I cook. Hubby and I usually spend time together once we tuck little dude in. And then it’s time for STEEM! I think I have the best of both worlds!

Amongst the work and chaos, we did fit some fun time in though…followed by more chaos.

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Much Love - @Sweetpea

(bringing you original content)

Sort:  

Wow you had your hands full! My baby is only 10 months but when it's time for homeschooling my eldest, he is all over the place and everything takes so much longer to complete, he just wants to eat everything and if he doesn't get what he wants, he moans, guve him something he can play with and chew on, keeps him busy for maybe a minute. And they are so fast, the one day he was sitting in my lap and I thought he was playing with one thing in the meantime he was chewing on the black cryon haha! I try to do the school part when baby is asleep but it doesn't always work out that way.

There is no set schedule when you have little ones around, that's for sure! My son is also super fast, and seems to find the most dangerous objects without me knowing they ever existed (like the other day he found a needle in the carpet, I don't even sew)! I thought about going the homeschooling route, ,but we have found such a lovely school near us based on Waldorf education, my son currently goes to the play group and will follow through, if we can afford it!

You didn't do anything wrong. When he's older maybe you could try this again...now, it's useless.
While I was writing a post earlier, my 9 year old was in his room recording a video for his channel. And he was glad I was busy and there wasn't any talking in the house, because he hates background noise on his videos!
So, there's hope for the future.

He he , bring on the quite times! Just joking, I actually love the age my kid is at and I love his energy, its just difficult in moments where I need him to cooperate. Sounds like your son is a blogger like his mom! What videos does he make?

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sweetpea from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

your son drawing is wonderful
and you are working good keep it up
upvoted and follow for your more post

Thanks, very kind of you! :)

Amie thank you for asking about this because with my wife @laurabanfield and I both working from home, we have our own challenges that seem like they are not even worth mentioning because in some ways we are living the dream! No alarms, no commute, and no office or bosses. When my daughter wakes up from her nap, I often feel like I am doing something wrong by working and have got into a bad mood several times feeling guilty about ignoring her even though my wife is with her at the time. I love working from home and seeing my daughter so much each day but it does have its challenges too which seem as difficult as if I had to go into the office.

Ah don't feel guilty, your daughter has a mom and day who are home with her, she is very lucky! I have also learnt that it is not healthy to give our children 100% of our attention all the time, they need to find their own space and perspective too. And you are setting a good example, by showing her that one needs to work to make an honest living. Well done on doing what I battled to do one day, every day!

Just followed you and your wife, looking forward to your "work from home" adventures!

That picture is the epitome of multi-tasking! This is why I have so much respect for parents. Such strength and patience and focus.

As a parent I wish I had more patience, strength and focus - we really are just imperfect beings who are "winging it" as best we can :)

Love that first pic :)

He he, thanks!

Hello, are you looking to earn extra cash? Earn money by paid surveys and etc. I recommend Clixsense. Free to sign up by clicking below link.

http://www.clixsense.com/?8172285

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58625.96
ETH 3101.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41