The Stream -- The Canvas [vol. 2]

in #life5 years ago (edited)

DISCLAIMER:: This post is part of an ongoing stream of consciousness series. While each part can be enjoyed as a standalone piece, they will be best experienced when read in order. If you'd like to read from the beginning, the first part can be found here.

The stream-- The Canvas.pngsrc

* The Canvas *

What's behind the curtain?

A rolled up lump of cardboard,
dismantled,
discarded..

An Ace
once up the sleeve,
now in a hole..

Dithering Diamonds
disguise themselves
dying
a dormant existence.

Far-Flung Fledglings
flounder
for a fish,
a wish
and
a whisper of hope.

It's all we need
to gather strength,
to rally around
and hoist up
a Banner of Abandonment!

Not free,
but not lost..

..Helpful Hopelessness..


src

This is Part Two of a stream of consciousness writing series. Part One can be found here and Part Three can be found here. Comments, critiques, opinions are welcome in the comments... I hope you are looking forward to the continuation of this series.

Until Then...

Sort:  

Some nice alliterative play here! I love the words 'fledgling' and 'dithering' - great verbs.

thanks @riverflows :) I tend to slip into alliterations while writing stream of consciousness. I like the musicality of it. Thanks for commenting. I don't know why I didn't see this earlier.. something was going on with my Partiko. I haven't been getting notifications.

Feel free to check out some of my other stuff when you have the time.

Oh, thatnsk for eventually getting back to me! I love the rhythm of alliteration as well. Words to me have an inherent rhythm - I like to speak my work aloud to see if it 'flows' in that way, but these days I 'hear' it on the inside as I write. I bookmarked your link so I can - and likewise, would love you to read some of my stuff - coincidentally, just did an archive post today!

yes, exactly! I definitely 'hear' the words in my mind as im writing them.. the sounds can help to set the mood that I am trying to create. I will be stopping by your blog. I look forward having a read of your archive post!

Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60951.51
ETH 3381.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48