The Stream -- The Storm [vol. 1]

in #life5 years ago (edited)

A silent tempest
pounds in my chest,
..breathe..
serenity replaces stress
time is gone
the world disappears around an empty sheet
I am but a vessel..

the stream- the storm.pngsrc

* The Storm *

Sands tumble
across a windstrewn beach
or is it a desert?

Deserted,
devoid of life,
but the air itself
is alive..

A Spark,
electricity charges through the wind
unseen, powerful

A force rends,
bent to contend
with the sweltering heat
rising up and twirling around
whooshing back down
to the ground.

Lost
for a moment,
then found, again
with renewed vigor
triggered,
lashing out.

A shout
is swallowed up in the howl..
vibrations rumble
across the drums of ears,
deafening,
overwhelming the senses,
deadening
the sense..
..of self.

0628-USTORM-desert-storm.jpg
src

This is Part One of a stream of consciousness writing series. Part Two can be found here. Comments, critiques, opinions are welcome in the comments... I hope you are looking forward to the continuation of this series.

Until Then...

Sort:  

I love the structure of this - it picks you up, swirls you down, picks you up, swirls you down - it mimics the storm.

awesome, thanks for that observation! :)

Thanks for the poem, I just wrote one on the self now too, coincidentally. We can write any old ramblings I see on this steemit platform and get one or two readers, and just pay bidbots to score us some upvotes and cash. Quite a broken curation system. So I just write like you, because I can. I don't use bidbots though.

Yeah, I don't use bidbots or autovoting or anything else for that matter. I even stopped self-voting because some people tend to frown upon that. I'm not sure how the curation system works, or any of it really. I know it's all about to change again anyway.

I do think it's nice to have a platform to 'write any old ramblings' on.. for me it is nice to be able to get some of my work out there. I'm still trying to figure out a niche, but until then, it's fun to experiment and play and not have to worry about it.

Thanks for stopping by @julescape! :) I'll be sure to check your stuff out as well..

Good to hear your insights and experience here, I appreciate your feedback and upvote @striderpunk. Steemit is a stimulus to bring out the writing and creative propensity, so let's keep on steeeming through the changes and build a legacy of creative content, and find our niche.

Amen to that!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Beautiful! Very well written.
Manually curated by @akiroq.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

yum, what a delicious reward. Thanks for the cupcake curation and the incentive to continue!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39