A life-changing decision - Butt Out!

in #life7 years ago

Hello everyone,

Today I finally decided to stop smoking cigarettes for good.

I started smoking pretty early on in my life at around thirteen years old and have been smoking ever since. It was a really big mistake to start smoking in the first place and I've regretted it a lot of times.

I've wanted to stop smoking for a long time but until now I just never really felt ready to quit so I just kept pushing it forward. I quit for almost a year while I was in the army and there I used "snus" instead. For those who dont know "snus" is a swedish alternative to tobacco and is explained on Wikipedia like this:

Snus (/ˈsnuːs/; Swedish pronunciation: [snʉːs]) is a moist powder tobacco product originating from a variant of dry snuff in early 18th-century Sweden. It is placed under the upper lip for extended periods. Snus is not fermented and contains no added sweeteners. Although used similarly to American dipping tobacco, snus does not typically result in the need for spitting and, unlike naswar, snus is steam-pasteurized.

It looks like this:


It has been proven to be a lot safer than smoking tobacco and at least a lot better for your lungs and this was very important to me during my military service since I needed to be able to run for long distances and the tobacco really ruined that. Snus is surprisingly illegal to buy or sell in Finland but is completely legal to use so people go to Sweden and stock up on it there. It helped a lot and made it possible for me to keep up with all the running exercises. After that I somehow went back to smoking again and since that I've been smoking around a full pack a day.

After today I will never start smoking again and I will also not start using any alternatives this time. I realize it is going to be hard to quit cold turkey but I feel like that is the only way that is going to work for me. As long as I keep my mind busy I'm sure it won't be a big problem. Luckily I have Steemit to keep me entertained! I have also downloaded an app on my phone to keep track of my time without tobacco and also other things as you can see in this picture:

This app actually shows a lot of information and it makes it all a little more interesting. I will keep you updated on my progress and soon I will be completely smoke free!


So everyone wish me luck and see you soon on the non smoker side!

Also tomorrow I will be going to a nearby city to see "Tall Ships Races" which is an event where the biggest sail ships from nearby come to the city and you can walk around and look at them all. I will make a post about this after I get home! If there are any steemians on their way there tomorrow then hit me up!

Have a great weekend everyone and remember to follow. 😁🚀!

Sources: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5.

DQmf1KgawnyxdswfvLC224LyL5Vj4uTHYYTE7LNUZsoLarj_1680x8400.png

Peace out, Strawhat

Sort:  

Good & Brave Decision!! We all support you on this. Although I tried and failed but I know if you try hard enough, nothing is impossible. I was off it for good 1.5 years before getting back to it. Stay strong !!

Thank you! I am not giving up this time :D

Amazing man, it wont be easy quitting whitout any alternatives but it's probably the best way to avoid getting seriously addicted to something else along the way.
I quit smoking for about 5-6 months ago, not even counting anymore. You have to keep yourself busy and try to find new routines, that was the worst part for me, no more cigarettes to my morning coffe and after food cigarettes and so on, but I bet you can do it! Be strong my friend!

Yeah, that's what I was thinking too. Good job man! The routined cigarettes are the hardest to stay without but as long as I stay busy it's alright. Thanks mate :)

I tired smoking once when I was thirteen. It made me sick so I never smoked again. yay!

I wish it would've been the same for me :D

Hi @strawhat. Great decision bro, I unfortunately have tried many a times to quite smoking but have failed every time,. I traveled a lot when I was in the fashion industry and the worse time was in the airplanes , there no nicotine patches then, thankfully there is the electronic cigarette now. I truly do wish you the best of luck and all the support forward. I heard that you should eat a carrot stick each time you feel an urge to smoke. It is healthy and well can be held as a cigarette I suppose. Good luck and have a safe trip!

Thank you for the support ! :) I used to hate flying only because it would mean I couldn't smoke for a long time. Hopefully in the future I can relax and actually try to enjoy the flight :D I will keep the carrot stick in mind when I feel an urge, thanks! :)

Congratulations @strawhat! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I quit in 2017 after 17 years of smoking (sometimes more than 20 a day). I did not use any replacement. I am glad you finally made it. It out-fashioned anyway :P

Glad to hear it works :D I will do the same

Bra Jobbat ! Granted I don't know you well but that should be one of the best decisions you ever made! Congrats !

Tack :) I really hope so!

Great post. If you didn't fail you didn't try.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cricinfo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Hey, congratulations! That is excellent. The app looks really cool - it made me think maybe you were going to take the money you would have spent on cigarettes each month and buy Steem instead!

What are these Tall Ships Races? I love tall ships. Are you Swedish? Jag kan lite svenska sedan jag bodde i Sverige som student.

Thank you :) It's a sailing event where Ships come from different countries to the same harbor and people can walk around and check them out. It's almost like a festival with restaurant-tents and bars and so on! :) I think today even fireworks :D Finlandssvenk är jag! :D Häftigt

That sounds like a lot of fun. I used to live by South Street Seaport in Manhattan and I could see about 30% of a Tall Ship from my window (it was blocked by a building.) Jasså? Ännu bättre...

Around 13 years old? man it was too early. Anyway finally you took the right decision. Best of luck :-)

I agree. It was a bad time to start.. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64544.47
ETH 3417.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48