You’ve Got A Friend In MesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

“Two are better than one, because they have a good reward for their toil.”



Animal Friends
Image Source


The topic of friendship spans the globe with references throughout Literature, Television, and Music.

And although friends are appreciated, they are not always easy to come by.

Or at least for some people.

The thing is I am in general a pretty friendly guy.

However, though I have had friends, many have come and gone in my life.

Having lasting friendships that endure the test of time is something different and something special and something that now I make a mission to have in my life.


“So no one told you life was gonna be this way
Your job's a joke, you're broke, your love life's D.O.A.
It's like you're always stuck in second gear
When it hasn't been your day, your week, your month, or even your year...”


We moved to Texas in 1990 and I was a young, shy, and scared little boy.

It seemed to me like all the kids at school knew each other already and no one was really looking to meet someone new.

Not that I would have been very open anyways.

Eventually I made some connections and got along with other kids and made real good friends with a kid who lived across the street from me.

But kids grow up and we grew apart.

Then I had other friends, until the same thing happened.

And again.

Until my friendships were more of the level of acquaintanceships.

We would be cordial in the time spent together, but there were not always lasting bonds.


“Thank you for being a friend
Traveled down the road and back again
Your heart is true, you're a pal and a confidant”


There were also times when the people I thought were my friends ditched me or let me down.

Part of growing up is figuring out who to trust, who not to, and what to do about it.

Then came a time in my life that I would like to forget.

The people I thought were my friends turned out to be nothing but bad influences.

Fortunately, that is the past, and nowadays I am more able to make friends and connect with others.

I have also found that as I age, the things that are important to me have changed and that changes how I approach friendships.

More meaningful connections have been forged and more fun has been had!


“You've got a friend in me
You've got a friend in me
When the road looks rough ahead
And you're miles and miles
From your nice warm bed
You just remember what your old pal said
Boy, you've got a friend in me
Yeah, you've got a friend in me”


Also along the way, I have found that not only can people be my friends, but also I have found similar companionship in my pets.


My Pack: Duke and Tex


This Man’s Best Friends - Duke and Tex
Image Source


This fun filled group is fully of life and have given me so much joy.


Lastly and most of all, I would be remiss not to mention that my most amazing friendship is with my wife Sarah!


The Fam
Image Source

Our 8+ years of marriage has certainly had its ups and downs and challenges that happen when two people share everything, but nothing could be more worth it!


So whether you live near me or not, whether you are facing times in life that are hard or things are going well for you or anything in between, know this, that although we might not know each other very well, or maybe even at all, we could. And if you need someone to talk to just know that you’ve got a friend in me.


Stay interesting. Stay Strange.


Michael


Created by Michael Paine

Follow me @strangerarray and donate because friends care and friends share.


See the latest adventures and creations from my wife Sarah on steemit!

Also Check Out Some of My Previous Post:


Do you want to take out a loan to consolidate debt?

If you use my Credible Referral link, you can get a cash bonus if you take out a loan.


As a reader of this blog you assume all risk related to the use of any information on this site. I am providing this information "as is," and disclaim any and all warranties, whether expressed or implied, including (and without limitation to) any implied warranties of merchantability or fitness for any particular purpose. In no event will I, or anyone associated with this site be liable to you or to any third party for any direct, indirect, accidental, incidental, consequential, special or exemplary damages, or financial loss, injury or death resulting from any use or misuse of this data. You should NEVER use any information on this, or any other site to make decisions that can result in damage to property, financial loss, injury or loss of life.


Sort:  

beep beep

A very feel-good post! Good friends certainly make a difference in life.

Thanks, yes and choosing wisely on who to have as friends makes a big difference too!

Yes those are very wise words indeed!

I can feel the genuine kindness in this feel good post...I was a military brat so we constantly moved friends came and went ...though I am kind to everyone. ..there are always those few close to heart..that like any important relationship...I couldn't live without them..thanks for the share great pic of you and your wife and little fur babies :)

Yes, moving about, especially as a kid, makes making friends more difficult.

My skills in keeping up with friends have taken time to develop and are only a little good now, but hopefully, I am learning to be better and kinder every day.

Here's to those that are "close to heart"!

As we all are...heres to friends old and new:) Nice to meet you @strangerarray :)

this was too cute! have a great weekend! :)

Thanks and you as well!

Anyone can be a friend, but the lasting ones are few. Friends share, can i borrow the milder doggie then?

Haha, you can visit, but he's mine! :)

Haha i knew you'd say that! Enjoy them.

Fine post.
A good friend will be there for you against all odds.
Thanks for sharing this.

A good friendship is definitely hard to come by. I have one true friend who I have known since we were 12 years old. I have tried to make similar friendships, and while they feel the same for a short time, they never last. You get that one friend, I think, and you gotta hold on to them. Since moving here a little over two years ago, I have tried and tried to make friends, but it's not easy, especially as an adult with no kids and no church affiliations.

Yup, my wife and I don't have any kids so it is an extra challenge.

I think you are right on abput keeping up that one good connection!

Are you guys planning not to? We're not going to have any at all. :)

We are not planning on any and after 8+ years of marriage we kinda want to keep it this way.

Isn't it nice?! Well we're obviously in a super secret club of amazingness! Husband and I are celebrating 7 years in September! Congratulations to the both of you!

Congrats to y'all as well. Yes we have taken a road less travelled and certainly not the "norm".

Here's to deflecting social pressures at evey turn!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58734.46
ETH 2636.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43