Instant ClassicsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #books7 years ago

Ever want to read classic literature, but just don’t have the time?


The following post originally was published on my other blog before the advent of steemit. I am sharing an updated and modified version for your viewing pleasure.



Classical Novels
Image Source


The thing is that I love reading, but don’t always make or take the time to do it.

To me, nothing beats a good story with great characters.

Characters that work up your emotions, make you love, make you hate, get frustrated, but most importantly get you to keep reading and turn the next page to find out what happens next!

But c’mon… ain’t nobody got time for that.

Then one day I had an idea on “How to Read Classic Literature In 30 Seconds or Less”.

I have selected at random books I had on my self and I have put the first and last sentence of the books.

Naturally there is the possible spolier.

But, hey, if you don’t get some juicy content, then why bother right?


In no particular order of importance, here are some classics for your reading enjoyment in 30 seconds or less…


All Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque

We are at rest five miles behind the front.

Turning him over one saw that he could not have suffered long; his face had an expression of calm, as though almost glad the end had come.


Bluebeard by Kurt Vonnegut

Having written “The End” to this story of my life, I find it prudent to scamper back here to before the beginning, to my front door, so to speak, and to make this apology to arriving guests: “I promised you an autobiography, but something went wrong in the kitchen.

Oh, happy Rabo Karabekian.


A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole

A green hunting cap squeezed the top of the fleshy balloon of a head.

Taking the pigtail in one of his paws, he pressed it warmly to his wet moustache.


Foucault’s Pendulum by Umberto Eco

That was when I saw the Pendulum.

It’s so beautiful.


The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas

On the 24th of February 1815, the lookout at Notre-Dame de la Garde signaled the three-master, the Pharaon from Smyrna, Trieste and Naples.

“Wait and hope.”


For Whom the Bell Tolls by Ernest Hemingway

He lay flat on the brown, pine-needled floor of the forest, his chin on the folded arms, and high overhead the wind blew in the tops of the pine trees.

He could feel his heart beating against the pine needle floor of the forest.


War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy

“Eh bien, mon prince, Gênes and Lucques ne sont plus que des apanages, des estates, de la famille Buonaparte.
Well, my prince, Genoa and Lucca are now no more than possessions, estates, of the Buonaparte family.

In the first case, the need was to renounce the consciousness of a nonexistent immobility in space and recognize a movement we do not feel; in the present case, it is just as necessary to renounce a nonexistent freedom and recognize a dependence we do not feel.


There you have it folks. Please share with me YOUR favorite books in 30 seconds or less in the comments below.

The reason I shared about these books is because all of them, and just about all books, have a great look at relationships.

Relationships are usually difficult (sometimes) but are generally worth it (unless they are negative).

I would advocate making yourself easy to get along with and kind so that relationships with you will be worth it to people.

Also I like the saying of leaving people with the sense of wanting to spend more time with you when you leave.

By that I mean make sure to leave on good terms and before things get dull.

Stay interesting.


I think this is a wonderful and interesting time to be alive.

What do you think?


The future together is bright.

Join me.


Michael


Created by Michael Paine

Follow me @strangerarray and donate because you are a total classic!


See the latest adventures and creations from my wife Sarah on steemit!

Also Check Out Some of My Previous Post:


Do you want to take out a loan to consolidate debt?

If you use my Credible Referral link, you can get a cash bonus if you take out a loan.


As a reader of this blog you assume all risk related to the use of any information on this site. I am providing this information "as is," and disclaim any and all warranties, whether expressed or implied, including (and without limitation to) any implied warranties of merchantability or fitness for any particular purpose. In no event will I, or anyone associated with this site be liable to you or to any third party for any direct, indirect, accidental, incidental, consequential, special or exemplary damages, or financial loss, injury or death resulting from any use or misuse of this data. You should NEVER use any information on this, or any other site to make decisions that can result in damage to property, financial loss, injury or loss of life.


Sort:  

Best speed reading course I have ever done. Brilliant, highly recommended :)

Funny!

Yes, I have not thought of it that way, but like your suggestion!

You may use my testimonial :)

It was a creative post. Lateral thinking at its best. And entertaining.

thanks sir..really need some time for reading..Thanks to bring me back on stream..

Yes, I always enjoy the time I spend with a good book!

A good reader can be a well writer..That is the story of yr success..I am following you sir

My pleasure to have a well wisher like u dear..Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60274.16
ETH 2339.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55