When the darkness comes ,the inspiration for the song I wrote and my experience of dealing with bad times

in #life7 years ago

This post was originally going to be about how I have got through some difficult times over the last 2 years. However I then remembered that out of these difficult times I made a song. Therefore I figured I would publish this post which details the inspiration behind the song. Following this post I will post the song, including how it was made with fellow steemians.

I am still here !!!!


Image by https://undertheradar.military.com

What does this mean ?

This is the battle cry, the barbaric yawp I shout to myself as I negotiate streets filled with emotional landmines.


Image by http://www.hanksmedia.com

Before I get into the philosophical and psychological implications of the “I am still here” statement. Let me give you some history as to why I have to keep this mantra in my head.

Disclaimer: This history details three crappy events that happened to me over the last two years however I do hate the boring statement of bad things come in threes . To paraphrase @wipgirl if you belive this, then when one thing goes wrong you will go looking for the other two bad things that will go wrong. In my case these three incidents snuck up on me ,bashed me on the head, threw me in a dark alley and kicked me in the balls.

Scenario 1


Image by http://www.shma.co.uk

The preface to this scenario: I had been studying part time for 5 years for a degree part time in Philosophy, Politics and Economics. This was done while working a full time job. While studying I had visions that combined the movies “The Secret of my Success” and “ Working Girl”. The reason for these visions is that I believed once I had completed this heroic feat my CV (resume) would have an irresistible glow and I will be able to increase my earnings and the doors of opportunity would fly open. Upon finishing my degree one door did fly open. In retrospect I should have been suspicious of the ease with which the door flew open and the offer presented.Unfortunately my ego dictated that this was exactly what I deserved. The offer was to work as a business analyst for a small company. The job also involved working alongside the owner in an office together. My mind salivated at the prospect of learning new skills, using my brain and finally getting out of the reprographics/mail roles I had been doing for many years. Unfortunately what transpired was that the owner was a total psycho and within the first week had shouted and swore at me and generally belittled me. I raised my concerns to him however it didn't help and I walked out the place. It was scary thing to do but felt so good doing it. However it did leave a degree shaped millstone around my neck as I gradually had to regress back to my former occupation.

Scenario 2


Image by http://s.hswstatic.com

While I fought the demons that told me how stupid I was for accepting that job and what a waste of time it was getting a degree. Another scenario stepped in with a punch a to the solar plexus. The scenario in this case was dealing with grief as my father passed away. He made the trip to the UK to see my graduation but died two months later. In the space of one week I was getting ready for work and then two days later was on a plane back to New Zealand ( I was born and raised in South Africa , but moved to the UK , my parents later emigrated to NZ. Just to clear up any confusion). Grief is a really crazy one to deal with. Being quite an analytical person I was trying to tick off the seven stages of grief as soon as possible so I could move on with my life. This is the wrong way to deal with grieving. My advice for dealing with grief is to realise that it is a slow burner and you have to go with ebb and flow of emotions. Days and weeks will go by where you feel really accepting of the situation only for it to hit you when you least expect. It is about waves of deep dark sadness combined with happy memories. However most importantly you have to try get back to your normal routine and get through difficult emotional milestones. For example after the initial death seeing your friends again and talking about it, going back to work and the sombre anniversary of the death.

Scenario 3


Image by http://cps-static.rovicorp.com

Through all of this excrement I had my rock, my girl friend who had been there as I wept and shook. However when we stopped to take a moment and once the grief and crappy job dust had cleared we realised that we had moved apart. So we decided to break up. The first scenario regarding work and studying was an inconvenient mental millstone however death and a break up have been some of the hardest things I have had to deal with .

BUT…..

I AM STILL HERE


Image by https://undertheradar.military.com

What do I mean by this ?
The fact that I choose to exist and emerge from these tough times a stronger person. “What doesn't kill me makes me stronger”. This quote from Frederick Neitzche really resonates with me and for the sake of keeping with his philosophy. I am a believer in self healing and strength , to pick yourself up during the hard times and plow on. Then when you get a moment look behind you at the emotional minefield you navigated through and marvel at your bravery and interpretation. Self choice in its purest form can be distilled down to two choices to either exist or to not exist. If you choose to exist you therefore have armed yourself with the power to change your environment.

I AM STILL HERE

Both mentally and physically , having made the choice to exist I therefore worked on small goals to get mentally stronger. To engage with family,friends and fellow steemits. To continue to pursue hobbies and passions that make me smile. In my case music and skateboarding. I have recently been involved in the immense potential of musical collaborations with fellow steemit musicians and this keeps me motivated, creative and engaged with my feelings. Due to skateboarding being one of my lifelong passions I have decided to try be more healthy, work out and eat a bit better so that I can enjoy skateboarding with a level of fitness that can prolong my enjoyment of the act of skateboarding.

It is important to keep these interests and hobbies as a constructive distraction. However sometimes the darkness comes and you just have to let it wash over you and accept what is happening. A few days of darkness is still OK just dont let it consume you. This is where the hobbies,friends and family can help to motivate and give you the strength to exist day by day.

To conclude and paraphrase,

What have I learnt ?

Walking out on the job gave me an immense feeling of self worth and respect and I admire my courage in not accepting such awful behaviour. Out of grief I got a lot closer to my family and appreciated them more. I also had more respect for my own mortality. Out of the break up I again marveled at the courage I had to pursue a long term relationship (it was 3 years and my first long term relationship) and also the many lessons I learnt about myself by having someone in my life who could tell me where they thought I was wrong or how I could improve my existence.

Thanks for reading I will post part 2 in the next day or so , this will showcase the song that came out of this situation.

Sort:  

Um you're amazing number one..number two - I love everything about this such truth and honesty so awesome. And finally why haven't I seen beautiful work like this yet!! I love it and thank you very much for allowing me to see it 💖💖 Upvoted and I'm already following you so 😛

Thank you it has been tough but along the way I found Steemit and Crypto so not all bad

Wow thank you so much means alot

a lot of sadness sometimes leads us to a better understanding that happiness can be built on. good for you stick~

Thank you Satan I appreciate your comment and vinegar tears. Roll on next year

Hey stick, my dude. I always like to say - if it were easy it wouldn't be fun!
Or maybe that's just my coping mechanism ;-)

Really beautifully written post my friend. I know we have talked about some of this in private chat but I appreciate your openness and honesty in putting it all out there. I am proud to call you my friend and am very glad you are still here :) Love you man - Carl

Thank you sir , out of it I managed to create a great song , it will be up this weekend hopefully

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Your post was resteemed thanks to @beelzebub

Curious? Check out:


The @resteembot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in resteembot's feed.
Some of them are truly great.

Thank you for sharing. I'm sorry for your loss of your father. I'm glad you are still here and thanks for helping to remind me that I am still here too.
<3

Yup philosophical fundamentals , not that I advocate suicide but it is a choice . If you choose to exist then make it meaningful. Thanks for reading and it is due to your courage that I aired my dirty laundry on here so thank you.

Thank you <3

"I am still here" is a great sentiment. Life has a way of throwing curve balls at us but you are strong!! Much love from one survivor to another!! :)

Thank you very much means alot to reach out and have some great support come back

Our hearts are with you @stickchumpion !
Thank you for sharing this personnal and profound reflexion with us, life is such a pain and a blessing at the same time. You have great courage! Very well written my friend.

Thanks so much dude and well timed , some scam artist tried to get me to re do the format . Trigonometry my feelings.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @stickchumpion to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63310.58
ETH 2680.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58