A Small Village vs A Big City: A Short Productivity Analysis

in #life7 years ago

Let's get straight to the point of this post:

Image source


Where do you feel more productive: living in a big city or in a small village?


Big cities definitely have some advantages; however, if you need to travel more often, you are exhausted because you have to lose a few hours in the traffic jams every single day. For comparison, small villages provide you with everything in one place: there's a grocery store, a bank and other public services available all in the downtown.

That's why I often think that moving in a smaller town or a village would drastically increase my productivity. I would say goodbye to:

  • any type of time wasting events
  • senseless meetings
  • wasting time in traffic jams
  • summer city heat that often prevents me from doing almost anything
  • breathing dirty air
  • driving a car more often (if we accept that I can use a bike to move around)

Eventually, everything we have in a big city we could also find in a small village or town as well. Moreover, we enjoy advantages that we can't find in a city.

We have:

  • access to public services
  • banks
  • grocery stores
  • even friendlier neighbors
  • clean air
  • less noise
  • better playing environment for the kids (and for us)
  • less stress

I'm sure nobody will underestimate the less stressful environment of a smaller habitat.
That's the main reason for our productivity increase.

Unfortunately some of us are still employed by big corporations and it's often easier to live close to the corporate office. The city suburbs are often less polluted and friendlier places to live in, however the distances and the morning stress caused by driving and being in a hurry could literally kill all the advantages of living in a city suburb even though the neighborhood is good.

I think a nice combination could be life in a city suburb and being self-employed and do not dependent on a salary.

My personal choice is a smaller town not far from a big city (like 15 to 50 miles away).

Please do share what do you personally prefer - living in a big city or in a small village

At the end of the post, I'd definitely draw your attentions to 2 of the most important blog posts I've ever written:

See you soon! :)

Sort:  

I have been the big city guy from birth and I always admire those that live in smaller towns and suburbs. They seem so happy and generally more friendly , I have traveled to a couple of small towns but never stayed long enough to soak in the feel like I would love to.

Nice thoughts @steemfluencer , do you live in a city?

Cheers !

Yes, currently I live in a city.. planning to move to a smaller town.

Be sure to update us on here of your experiences when you eventually move .

Cheers!

I have always lived in smaller villages and towns, preferring to be in the woods closer to nature and not too many neighbors. But an occasional jaunt into the city allows me to enjoy big city things: music, sports, an abundance of restaurants, and different views.

The older I get the more I want to be more and more "off the grid" to a certain degree, and away from everyone (except my internet people). LOL I suppose I could be a very happy hermit. I need quiet! :)

merej99, I've grown up at a smaller town and I often get back there. When woods are closer it somehow feels better. And when the neighbors are less you could actually have the opportunity to get to know them much better.

I lived one year in the Adirondacks and the scenery, hiking trails and neighbors were all amazing. I really miss that area and everything that came with it...except the deep cold! That was the year we remained in -20 degree F weather for weeks...and I ran out of gas for the heater. NOT FUN!

Sounds scary indeed...I'm curious what a #homestead person could do in that situation..

I prefer to live in a small town and that is my plan when I get old to build a house at province sorrounded with plants ,garden , chicken and other animals but for now I have to stay here in the big city because of my living is here but started to save something for a retirement plan in province.I hope that my kids will like to live at province.

So, I have the feeling most of us tend to prefer a smaller town or a village.

I like the best of both worlds - small village style (quieter, nice neighbors/community), with big city conveniences (food delivery, public transportation). Not easy to find, tho.

Thanks @jannell! The big city is creating a whole new type of economy, mostly services - food delivery, a bunch of apps like Uber (actually they are thousands) and the feeling of connectivity.. I only wonder how genuine is that feeling.

My preference has been for communities about 150,000 - 200,000 in size. They are big enough to have diversity, culture, comprehensive public services including transportation. Yet they are small enough to get around by bicycle and to get out of town or across town in just a few minutes.

I've lived in smaller and larger communities. The key I found, for having a small town feel in a big city, is to have a neighborhood focus. Cities with clear neighborhoods can really maintain that small town feel, with local stores and community centers. I got to know my neighbors just as well as in small towns.

You are trying to get the best of the cities and the best of the towns and small villages. Seems like these mid sized communities are within that sweet spot. Thanks for the opinion! :)

You're welcome. It's an interesting discussion.

Yeah.. I might research some facts and post a new title around the subject. @allfabeta has inspired me and I had some deep deep thoughts about the homestead perspective of the issue.

There are definitely a lot of different angles to the discussion -- overall society, energy and material flows, economic efficiency, food security, adaptability, vulnerability, individual perspectives over different age groups, social networking. Lots to think about!

Hah.. agree. To be on the safe side, one should just share his own personal point of view.

It gives you a lot to write about, too! :D

Yeah, once day when I become urban/population scientist I'll change my style of writing and explore all the options you were talking about! :)

Yeah, I see your point. I'm in an area where sidewalks are optional and there are no shoulders on the road for safe walking. And even then it's MILES to town and at least 1 mile to the nearly bus stop. Still, I like the woods for peace of mind. There is something to be said about the vibe of a community. My currently neighborhood is a landing spot. The vibe here...? Well, let's just say I can hear arguments nearly every day from someone's house. The funniest thing was when one of the neighbors said, "I don't have to listen to you. You ain't my woman!"
I nearly fell out! hahahaaa (get me out of here!)

I can imagine your response to that neighbor's comment! Yeah, each place has its advantages and drawbacks. But the woods are always a nice place for an attitude adjustment!

you also should consider low school ratings in small cities and lower quantity and quality sport, art and music classes for kids.

and you should be prepared for constant driving, because the nearest grocery store in 40 minutes walking distance, nearest hospital in 20 miles and no public transportation at all.

So, are you saying that you prefer the big cities? I agree with that, but as I see it isn't something that homestead people bother about too much.

I've said what should be considered before moving to a small city. i leave in a small city

I don't know if homestead people worry about their kids future, any health problems or about an ability to pay bills.

Small city also means small paychecks

Eh, that's pretty interesting... If you allow me I may research more and write about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25