Collect the Gems You Can Hold Forever

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I'm writing this post mostly to remind myself what really matters in this life.


Image sourse

Every work day we wake up, do our morning routines and start grinding on what matters for us personally.

There's nothing wrong to feed your family and to love the ones who love you. That's good, that's some kind of norm for many of us and we shouldn't feel guilty of having our own priorities at first place, or could we be wrong?

Let's just see what are those things, which can test our understanding of norms.

It usually happens to me few times per week and I guess you also experience situations like the ones I'm about to describe below. These situations have the unique property to put you out of your comfort zone. This could be anything like:

On top of that you would reach the bottom of @merej99 post and discover more #payitforward posts:

These posts hit you like a train. You spend some time thinking about all the struggles these guys are facing. Suddenly you start thinking how to help these people overcome these situations.

Suddenly you realize that your SMD, $ or any type of support actually mean a lot to these fellows. Probably much more than you can imagine.

And this is the moment when the magic starts happening. The brick walls that were preventing you from seeing other people's pains are suddenly destroyed. Your heart is now able to feel the pain in other people's hearts.

Suddenly you find a secret way to collect gems and any type of treasures that you can hold forever and their price won't depend on any type of crypto currency or events like volatility, BIP148 or anything like that.

We are all more or less facing our own limitations in understanding a simple fact:


The more we give away, the richer we become


Fortunately, we aren't left without role models.

It's the Big Larry Stewart who's story still gives me goosebumps every time I read it or think about it.

Or the remarkable Dashrath Manjhi who spent more than two decades carving 100m path with hammer and chisel to make the road to the nearest hospital shorter after his wife died in 1959 after she couldn't reach the nearest hospital 34 miles away.

It's the mysterious man who was taking care of homeless kids for the last 25 years (I'm revealing his story tomorrow, when he should post his 'Introduceyourself' story on his own profile - follow me and join the Steemfluencer Club to make sure you won't miss that one.

Update: I've just published that story:
https://steemit.com/payitforward/@steemfluencer/the-two-sides-of-the-coin

If you like this post, go ahead an re-steem it. Because more people should realize that:


Money equals dust, however the gems you aquire by helping known and unknown people puts gems in your heart that makes you rich for the eternity.


Big thanks to @merej99 for challenging me to go outside my comfort zone today.

P.S.
If you are able to keep your support in secret, that's even more rewarding, and yes.. it's a high ball, but still possible. The Mysterious Santa Claus is just one of the many examples.

Sort:  

As @digitalking said, this post is a good reminder. It makes me stop and rethink my values. Thank you for your thoughts.

Then just take the chance and start walking to the new direction of rethinked values. And never turn back! :)

I loved the line "the more we give away, the richer we become". It spoke volumes to my heart! Thanks for reminding us of what really matters was we make or way through this world. Looking forward to reading more of your work!

Great post that remind us that exist and other values in life. I will keep this "The more we give away, the richer we become" and " ... the gems you aquire by helping known and unknown people puts gems in your heart ..." Thank you.

Absolutely my dear @digitalking! There's hope! :) Happy to see you got the message! :)

This very nearly brought me to tears @steemfluencer - not because of the mention (though I really do appreciate that) - but because there is a certain amount of awakening that I read in your post. In my heart it feels truly genuine and giving. It's a beautiful thing. Thank YOU for being beautiful too.

Thank you @merej99 ! :) I hope I'll be able to gradually improve the way I express myself. Back to work now! :)

Reminds me of a saying, "Are building up earthly treasures or eternal treasures?"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99