International Couple Story #2 - The best pickup line guys must use! (how I met my soul mate)

in #life7 years ago

Hello all my Steemit friends! I'm back with another story with my husband @buildpath! 😜 Before I start posting, I would like to say thank you for your votes and comments for my first Steemit post!

If you haven't read it yet, check it out!International Couple Story #1 – How we handled being judged in S. Korea

(I will do #introducemyself post soon 😉)

1C7W9205-1.jpg

Have you ever had the moment when you think some things in your life had happened the way you would never expected? For me it's my marriage. And every time I recall how that happened, I still can't believe how in the world we could find each other in 7 billion people!

As you know from my earlier post International Couple Story #1 – How we handled being judged in S. Korea, I was born and raised in Seoul, South Korea my entire life. So I never thought I would dated or married to foreigners. But surprisingly that have come true by accident or by destiny 😍 And here is my story how I ended up with my loving husband in 6683 miles away from my hometown. The United States!

Life is full of surprises!

One day I was looking for the best way to learn real English. And I came up with online pen pal site! So I started searching for several sites and actually I met some good friends that were from all over the world online! After few weeks of checking them out, I wanted to narrow down those sites and keep few good ones. So I went to the site I didn't like much to deleted my account. Before I went ahead and do it, I checked the inbox for the last time and I found this guy messaged me just saying nothing but this...

"I like your eyebrows! :-)"

My eyebrows? You only mentioned my eyebrows out of my whole face? At first I though it sounded a little perverty lol! I mean.. who would just say that without introducing themselves right?! But on the other side, first of all it made me laugh and second of all it was somewhat dfcbetter than any other cheesy guys. So I clicked his profile, saw his picture and replied him back.

"I like your eyebrows too! :-)"

And who would have imagined that guy would be my husband? Yep! Life is full of surprises!! Love always comes the way you would never expected! And that's what makes our lives fun!

1C7W9192.jpg

Since the eyebrow talk, we moved on MSN chatting - yep it goes back to old days! He told me his best friend from high school was Korean-American that's why he was interested in Korea. But his friend wasn't that good at teaching him Korean cultures! 😂 Somehow that made me more responsible for teaching him right as his real Korean friend! Meanwhile he helped me a lot too. By telling him so much thing about my country in English, I got to use English a lot and he corrected me some typos or wrong expressions. He was and still is my best English teacher ever!!

But I swear to God there was nothing like chemistry or sparkle going on between us. He felt the same way too. We were just not the type for each other. And most of all I didn't believe on dating with someone online! haha!

When you knew it was what people call.. destiny!

After talking online for about 3 months or so he told me he decided to travel to Korea. It was his very first international trip out of his country! He sounded a little nervous to be abroad for the first time, so I promised to give him a Seoul tour one day. And that was how we actually fell in love even though he was late for 3 hours to our first meeting - he fell asleep due to the jet lag and I didn't want to leave him because if so he would have been alone in Korea!! And I think it was God's call to me to let me find my soulmate!! 😉 So we finally met after a long wait on June 26th, 2009.

Talking with him in person was so much better than talking through monitor!!! We talked a lot during the day although we already knew pretty much about each other! At the end of the day, I felt the LOVE is on its way to my heart! And he felt the same way. And that's how all started 💕

collage1.jpg

This was our very first date in Seoul 8 years ago. I hardly believe how long we have come together so far from that!!

We had so much fun together for almost 2 weeks but the time he had to leave finally came. No one expected it would be this hard to say goodbye when Ian told me he would come to Korea, and I said I would be your tourist. None of us thought we would find the one on this trip at all.

Thankfully during our days being together, we somehow knew this would be the one that people call destiny. It was just 2 weeks but we had built such a strong trust and bond on each other. And that helped us manage to handle the long-distance relationship.

We did't have smartphone like these days, so we video chatted or I sometimes wrote him a letter for his birthday, Valentine's day and our first-date anniversary. I visited Ian once but most of the time he made a short trip to Korea as often as he could. He came almost every 2-3 months to see me, my family and my friends and those many arrival/departure stamps on his passports shows how much he devoted for our relationship.

DSC_2840.jpg

DSC_2555.jpg

After a year and half of long-distance date in Korean and the States, we finally got married in 2010 winter!! We both were 24, pretty young, but we knew this was it. We felt this was the right decision for the rest of our lives.. and we have been proving it so far 💑

No one knows what brings you to meet the one. What if he didn't message me that eyebrow thing. what if I didn't wait for him for 3 hours at the hotel lobby. Or what if we didn't even meet at the site. I would never take this for granted because we knew we made our own steps to our fate and I appreciate it.

What is your love story? If you have one, share it on comment please! Thank you for reading our story! If you like to read more of my posts, please follow me! And don't forget to vote! xoxo

❤ FOLLOW ME HERE ❤

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @specialkay :)

Welcome Bot Banner

I am a bot that greets new users of the community.

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:

If you have any questions about steem, just ping reggaemuffin, the creator of this bot with your question :)


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.


See what this is all about and support the bot: SteemGreet the second - submit your links!

Hi Kay,

Your blog is really good!

Thanks for sharing it!

Hey there! Thanks for reading! I have a lot of fun story of our dating to share!! Looking forward to see your comment again! (I just followed you 😊)

Awwww. What a beautiful story. You guys are really made for each other! Thanks for sharing:) I and my husband met online too:) well it's going to be one of my blogs:) hoping I could post it this father's day:)

Ah you and your husband too? So nice to see you friend! :) I will go read it now!!!

awww i deleted it already:( usually deleting my post before 7 days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94