The Kwiksave Chronicles of Slobberchops - Part Nine

in #life6 years ago

This is a candid recollection of my memories working at Kwiksave (the now defunct discount supermarket chain) as a ‘Stock Lad’.

I wasted over FOUR years of my life in this horrible dump, and still wake up with nightmare's occasionally thinking I'm still there.

Some of the names have been slightly changed simply to save my arse in case anyone takes offence at some of the details regarding my facts or opinions. Many of the people mentioned are now dead as this happened so long ago, but their siblings are not.

This will be a multi-part article as there is simply too much to tell in one sitting. I hope you find it as entertaining as I found recalling it from my brain.


Other articles in the series:
The Kwiksave Chronicles of Slobberchops - Part One
The Kwiksave Chronicles of Slobberchops - Part Two
The Kwiksave Chronicles of Slobberchops - Part Three
The Kwiksave Chronicles of Slobberchops - Part Four
The Kwiksave Chronicles of Slobberchops - Part Five
The Kwiksave Chronicles of Slobberchops - Part Six
The Kwiksave Chronicles of Slobberchops - Part Seven
The Kwiksave Chronicles of Slobberchops - Part Eight


Kwiksave.jpg
Source


‘Some kids are best left to fend for themselves, and others were born to stack shelves’ – Steven Wilson


shopping-3225130_960_720_sml.jpg

May 1983 – Is this Love?

In 1982 I bought a Sinclair ZX81, and by the end of that year had managed to get myself one of those new ZX Spectrum computers. I was intrigued with this device and unknown to me at the time my new hobby was forging my future career.

On the way to work I would generally pass a newsagent and buy C&VG (Computer and Video Games), a monthly dedicated to these new devices, and so the arrival of yet another female checkout operator passed me by.

During my lunch break I generally had my head buried in this magazine looking at the BASIC listings and contemplating typing them in order to play yet another terrible game.

Most of the time the listings had bugs which would result in the program not running, or even worse freezing your computer. If you hadn’t saved beforehand this was seriously bad news.


speccy.JPG
Source

The new girl would sometimes chat to me in the small canteen about abstract topics that I can’t recall. I talked back to her but really didn't think much of it. She seemed nice and was fresh from school but was otherwise unremarkable.

The next event I recall extremely well. It was a Tuesday and the store closed at 1pm that day, leaving everyone with the afternoons free. I was filling the freezers with solid bags of frozen chips and my hands were red with the cold.

A middle aged lady approached me and asked me if I knew the new checkout operator, Barbara.

‘Yes I know her’, was my response.
‘Well she is interested in you…, you get my meaning?’, and with a wink, walked away.

I was stunned, and I mean temporarily rooted to the spot in a daze for a few seconds. I didn’t get a chance to respond as the lady had vanished by the time I had regained my senses.

I took me the best part of an hour to approach a bored looking Barbara who was sitting at one of the checkouts. Tuesday was hardly a busy day, and half of the time the operators simply sat on their arses counting the seconds away.


shopping-3225130_960_720_sml.jpg

‘Hi’, I said,

‘Hi’, she retorted with a shy smile,
(why had I never noticed that smile before)

‘Would you like to go to the pictures tonight with me?’, I stammered out, desperately trying to keep calm.

The ‘pictures’ was a slang word commonly used for the Cinema. I verified with my daughter that is in fact now extinct among the young.

‘OK’, she said in a timed voice.
(was that a blush I detected)

At this point I had to walk away as I was shaking like a leaf. This girl actually liked me, ME? I couldn’t believe my luck!

I still had to make some plans where we would meet, and at what time but one step at a time @slobberchops. I really needed to cool down and get a grip first.

That morning passed so slowly for me. All this had happened around 10am, and neither of us was due to leave until 1pm and what’s more, a load was due.

A ‘load’ was an articulated truck filled to the brim with pallets of food. It needed to be unloaded and stacked in the back shop ready for the next day. As usual myself, Welder and the truck driver did the work while Dire supervised, aka did bugger all.

1pm came and went, the load was a little late and we had to stick around until it was finished.


goodsin.JPG
Source

Had I blown my chance with Barbara? I raced out of the back shop on to the shop floor at around 1.15pm, and there she was, waiting with that small smile I was about to fall in love with.

I immediately went tingly all over, approached her with tentative steps and enquired where she lived in a tentative voice.

I actually had an idea it was close to where I lived, as I had seen her on my bus several times but had kept my distance to date.

Sure enough, one stop further toward Rawtenstall AND in walking distance was her parents’ house. We made plans to meet at 6pm outside the motorcycle store, approximately 200 yards from her house and then duly separated.

I don’t know how I got home that day as we technically should have been on the same bus, but until things were a little more ‘official’ it didn’t seem right to catch the same one. Does that sound strange?


shopping-3225130_960_720_sml.jpg

I may a feeling that I have snuck into Fitzpatrick’s Temperance bar, a small drinks store that sold non alcoholic beverages with names such as ‘Black Beer and Raisin’, ‘Blood Tonic’, and genuinely took you back to the 1930’ when entering while claiming to be ‘Britain's Last Temperance’, I just can’t remember.

A pint of Black Beer would have been enough time for me to 'miss the bus' and ensure I didn't see Barbara on the way home, that would have been plain awkward.


tempbar.JPG
Source

The picture above is what it used to be like when I frequented it in the 1980's. It does still exist but has been modernised and in my opinion has lost its charm and flavour.

You can no longer buy ‘Black Beer and Raisin’ as they can no longer source it. A real shame as it was a unique drink.


shopping-3225130_960_720_sml.jpg


To be continued...


All stock photographs I have used are filtered as ‘Labelled for reuse’ or 'Labelled for noncommercial reuse' and the sources have been cited.


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Who'd a thunk someone could turn a mind-numbing job into a nail-biting saga? What's next, I wonder. Did you cop a feel? Did you have the temerity to reach below her waist? Did she slap you? Did you arrange a second date? Hopefully, you will answer these and many more questions next episode. Enquiring gnomes want to mine.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Yes, all will be revealed in the next exciting episode.. I can see you are jostling in your seat with anticipation :)

I was there the best part of 5 years and it has left a rather bleak footprint in my mind, I want to get it all out before I forget it all. Besides my daughter loves reading about 'what dad did when he was young'.

wow, we witness the hit of Whitesnake "Is this love" :)

I had another 'Is this Love' song in mind while I was writing it :)

I knew you would :)

Whitesnake were good, Bob Marley was way better. Not one of my favourite Alison Moyet songs.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

lol, Bob Marley was very good indeed !!

On the edge of my seat waiting for the next instalment! Sounds like you drank some dodgy stuff back then....even stranger it was alcohol free!

Black Beer was awesome! Great taste and unique flavour. I did drink proper beer back then, but went into Mr Fitz' at lunchtime for a quick one sometimes.

Another great addition to your series. Thanks for sharing. I look forward to seeing how the date went. We had a TI with a tape drive when I was a kid. It was fun at the time!

Timex was the American name for Sinclair. Or are you talking Texas Instruments? Never saw one of them with a tape drive. You had to love those five minute load times.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Dude, you are really milking this cow, way to go. I hadn't stopped by in a while and here you are, still slinging the memories of the grocery store. I think you really are wanting back in the grocery business and are struggling to admit it, it's Okay, come clean with us and go apply. We love you for who you are, not what you do, trust me , I know a Doctor named Catweasel.

Care to introduce us?

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

How do you two not know each other? @slobberchops is a regular contributor @thesteemengine and the guy I got the idea from to start giving sbi shares away to people from.
@slobberchops meet @catweasel , and vice versa fellas, @catweasel meet @slobberchops.
My work here is done.

I actually meant that you should introduce me to this doctor you claim to know.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

There's still some milk left in those udders, besides in a few years my brain will have stopped working and all this stuff will be lost in time unless I place it on the blockchain ;) I would need to be dragged kicking and screaming back there, its my anxiety release to write about it.

Are you familiar with @catweasel , he is with the us @thesteemengine? He seemed to not know who you were, so I don't know if he is senile in his old age or you two just never have run across each other.
I look forward to hearing about the date and how that ends up.

I can't wait to find out what film you saw! And it's a shame about the Black Beer and Raisin - that sounds intriguing!

I do remember what the film was, it will be revealed next chapter :)

Loved C&VG. I remember spending up-to 4 hours typing in a single listing for a game.

The Internet has ruined a lot of those experiences for the young.

Me too, they rarely worked first time due to either bad typing or bad listings. Still we had to figure out the bugs and I did sometimes. It was excellent training for what was to come.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67876.87
ETH 3852.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65