Too many words, not enough time. Too much time. Never enough words. Isn't that how "it" is "supposed" to be?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Hey Again, Steemitizens!

The other day I wrote the first poem I've written in decades, and surprisingly it was well received. It was really a very personal and cathartic thing to put "out there" and I did it for purely selfish reasons.

While it was intended to reach a very specific audience of one, I'm grateful that it was enjoyed by some other readers and flattered, honored and gratified by the response it received.

Since then I've had a very emotional week. Some reasons relate to events in my personal life, and some reasons relate to co-experiencing some of my dear friend's experiences both in chats online with steemit friends and offline with local friends.

There must be something in the season because emotions have been pouring out of hearts all around me. From Nigeria in Africa, to unknown parts of Australia to Massachusetts, Florida, and Virginia in the USA and to my own office chair in North Carolina, I've heard and shared stories of grief, sadness, hope, change, fear, happiness, anger, disgust and romance.

I've stayed up past my bedtime and kept others up past their's evaporating hours of sweet and bittersweet shared moments in deep and heartfelt philosophical conversations with people of nearly every type imaginable. Some in short intense moments, and some in all night or all day long ongoing conversations.

In all of these, a single recurring theme has been showing up for me over and over throughout the week.

Too many words, not enough time. Too much time. Never enough words.

Though each exchange was critical in its occurrence and couldn't be discounted as unimportant at all, the most important ones to me that I found myself most engaged in, were naturally the conversations where I've been feeling my way into a new friendship with what we will just call "a person of interest" for now.

She is a fairly new friend, and rapidly becoming a fast friend thus far. She is one whom I have an obvious and undeniable crush on, as silly as that sounds for a 48 year old man to admit, and the exploratory, sometimes awkward, always enjoyable discourse continues to unfold towards a most certainly uncertain future.

There is so much I want to say to this person. So much I want to hear them tell me. Stories, experiences, histories, hopes, dreams and goals. But there is never enough time in the real world to explore all these realms and fantasies.

Too many words, not enough time.

Conversely, as I said, we've spent hours in these conversations, perhaps allowing them far too much time, if one gauges use of time in terms of productivity and accomplishment towards various tangible life requirements like say, getting the laundry done.

Too much time. Never enough words.

Even so, with all this time applied, too much time, there were never enough words. I want to spend every second talking to this person and I think, we could probably do it for years to come and never run out of things to talk about.

As I said above, there is a certain amount of uncertainty in these conversations. An ironic, serendipitous two way street of profound, eloquent, and elaborate unknowns. As many mysteries remain to be resolved as there are rings in the tree of life and I desperately find myself wanting to count and touch them all.

For all the minutes, hours and days that have passed, and all that has been said and shared, there still haven't been enough words passed between us to fill my appetite for the sounds and expressions of this person's beautiful heart, mind and soul.

Isn't that how "it" is "supposed" to be?

And just like that, this post is over.

Full steem ahead, steemitizens!

@sircork

Tune into my show: Monday Night Minnow School on The MSP Waves Radio Network
Get more info about this and other great steemit MSP talk-radio shows at:
http://mspwaves.com

Sort:  

It sounds like love, it looks like passion, it hides like friendship develops like romance. Just a fleeing moment or a last chance. No matter what happens I'm grateful your sharing.

Have a mega delegator 2 cent upvote for your prosaic comment, kubinater :D

Woot, woot. collecting all the pennies I can!

Fancy pants ^ :D

Am I out doing you? Yes, yes I do believe that is what's happening here.

Soon you will take the pebble from my hand, kubhopper.

The decree is that the agend of this post will remain hidden to the person who doesn't read it beyond the title. Well, @sircork we have something nice cooking and it smells good.

I don't know who the lady is but your passion for her is no secret anymore. I wish she reads this post because she's the best person to understand it. I do have something for this budding relationship and that is a good dose of Johari's Window Model.

I wish you (both) the best of luck and certailny wish to hear some good news soon.

Wow, your link is dead on target like your profile pic! She will be fascinated by it too. No in fact, she probably also teaches it, as she is in a related profession! Thank you for sharing it with me! I'm half way through but came back to reply right away and thank you for it! I wish you would catch us in minnow support discord chat sometime! (if you aren't already a member hit me up for a chat link) And thank you for the best wishes!

Thanks a lot and so nice to know about her profession. If she teaches it, might well correct me if I'm wrong somewhere. I'm a member of PAL Network and on discord too. I will message you there.

Looking forward to it and introducing you to my friend and continuing the conversation!

If the intent is right and the effort is put in, the amount of words is not so relevant to me and can even dilute the power of the message if you start using many.

I love you corky. <3

Don't you start in on the Cork talks too much train too, buddy! :P

I love you more sammo! <3

I am not aware of this train you speak of.. whistles innocently

Verbosity is great but sometimes being concise and to the point is wise. It's all about seeking a balance between the two. After spending years writing user documentation I tend to err on the side of over explaining and it has been a struggle for me to get back to a more easily assimilated method of communication. :D

Also love you MOST. <3

Loved you FIRST! <3

Dang it, you got me.

I'm so glad I do :)

Yeah makes sense. It is harder to make something short and concise.

I'm curious @sircork about how you managed to live off grid. Do you have a post where you explain that in depth?

No. Not really. I get a lot of questions about it, so I suppose I should, but to me, that is just not something I want to start labelling my blog about. It's where I live. It's got some solar panels and I get my water out of a spring head in the side of a mountain. I poop in a bucket with a toilet seat snapped on to it. But it's just my residence. Sure, it's unique, but it's like, do you have a post about your house? If that makes any sense?

OK yeah i know what you mean. Whats the nearest big city?

@sircock ,wish you luck with that special one.

Thanks, with the new name you have awarded me above, I may not need luck :D

Hahaha! This got me laughing like mad, made my day! Really Blessed!!!

As always, thanks brother!

Thanks for being a Steem family @sircork <3 Steem on, as they say!

Oh KK, thanks for reading, always a pleasure seeing you in the chat! <3

Life is like a head of lettuce, as you peel away the outer leaves it gets sweeter to the core. Savor and treasure each leaf.....

I sure hope this is not an onion!

LOL are ya hating the sweetness of a onion?

Love's me some onions, to be honest!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 24. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.71 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 24 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

This post has been upgoated by the minnowsupport angels hoping that intra msp crushes materialize into intra msp romances. You kids have fun, and make sure she gets home no later than 10PM mister. We'll all be waiting up!

I can't foresee the future. But I sure enjoyed the moment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61814.34
ETH 2979.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48