Analogy between Steemit and the world. #1

in #life6 years ago (edited)

The rich get richer & the poor get poorer.

At Steemit, if you are new and you don't have capital to buy steem and power up, you have no influence. You are poor! It will take forever for you to earn your SP through content creation and content curation. When you create content, no one will ever see your content but yourself and maybe one or two odds great soul out there coz you don't have any capital to promote your content (maybe by buying upvotes coz that's what the rich at steemit do.)

If you are rich at Steemit, you have lots of SP, so you obviously have lots of influence. You probably own assets (bidbots, marketplace where all kinds of exchanges takes place) and make passive income from your asset. You don't need to work like the poor, creating & curating content. However, if you do create content once in a while, you use your far and wide influence aka SP to make it known to the steemit universe. As you are already rich & influential, you already have a steady stream of followers and admirers who are all too eager to invest with you hoping for big returns, and hoping to make it big like you someday.

In the world, if you are poor, you work for someone and get paid. Or you could also work for yourself (you be your own boss but actually you are also working for someone - your customer). Your customer pay you directly, so you get to earn more. No matter how much you work, you will not become rich like the rich. There are the rags to riches stories but these forms maybe 1 to 2 % of the whole world population. The rich keep getting richer. They own assets that generates passive income. They have more time to figure out more ways to make more money. Occasionally, they dish out something to the poor and they shout about it - the whole world knows. Actually, their wealth do not reduce when they do that. Just like in Steemit, the rich will occasionally upvote a newbies or a minnow and it is made known to everyone that he is doing that. Actually, he doesn't lose anything by doing that and all the poor soul (like me) is hoping & anxiously waiting for his/her handouts.

Then, of course there is a big percentage of people that lies in between the rich & the poor. These people are engaged in various kinds of supporting or destructing activities, hence the need for policing and governing.

But, for those who believe in a creator of the world or universe, they must be wondering why the creator allows all sorts of things, bad and good, to happen. Why don't the creator just let the good things happen & prevent all the bad..
Here at Steemit, I wonder why certain things (like bidbot for example & spammers ) are allowed to flourish by the creator. Why oh why?!

I search for a pic in google and found this. Turns out, it is from Steemit with Kamesh signature on it. I searched Kamesh in steemit and he is there. @Kamesh, I love the picture so much coz it really explains what I wanted to say. Thank you. I hope you allow me to use it.

Sort:  

Not a big fan of bidbots and I never use them. I would like to think whatever I earn is done through hard work and organic growth. Call me a fool, but persistence does pay off. I should reach 1,000SP before my first year is up and have never fell for the Upvote for Upvote mentality approach, bidbots, or buying influence for votes... just good old content creation, commenting and curation. Remember, there is good and bad in EVERYTHING in life and it all must be navigated accordingly. Best wishes to all Steemit newcomers!

Hi @retiredinsamar. Thanks for upvoting and for the feedback. I just came back from checking your blog. This is really something. Thank you for sharing. If you don't mind me asking, how many steems did you start of with. Coz you are really doing well , this is beyond my expectations. I am glad to know that there is another way besides the ones I already figured out. I am following you.

I began my Steemit journey like everyone else, with delegated SP. I have invested about $255 of my own money over time, the rest has been earned. Commenting on other's posts gains you the greatest exposure and is the greatest earning power you have on Steemit initially. Additional exposure from creating good content comes after you have gained some followers.

Thanks, I learn something from you today. I like steemit in a way coz of people like you here. People actually read the comments from others and reply. And now I know why commenting is useful.. I am putting it to practise rightaway. Thanks @retiredinsamar

See, you have learned that commenting and post interaction pays... And in this case, paid you for your comment!

I know right!?!! I am heading on to your blogs to comment there..later on

Interesting - I think the trap new Steemians fall into is expecting that it will be easy and they will start getting big payouts straight away - but it takes time and effort! Having been on here over 2 months now I am only just starting to gain some tractions... This is definetly not a get rich quick scheme like many probably think.

But yes there is a large ammount of inequality on here between the rich and the poor - alot of it comes down to how the whales act and whether they want to be greedy or generous. Being generous is the best way because otherwise Steem may not last the test of time

Hi @conradt, thanks for reading and commenting. When I first found out about steemit, I went to YouTube to search about it and I found people there telling how easy it is to earn at Steemit.. When my account finally got approved, I thought it was so easy. After writing 2 of my longest blog ever, I almost gave up. Then, my "third eye" opened and I saw more and more....

There are some clueless people on Youtube posting about Steemit (among other topics!) and I think people think itl be really easy on here.

Yeah I was the same but when reality hit it was tough.. As long as we learn and grow then Steemit is a good place to be!

The picture works perfectly with your blog. It sucks that steemit works just like the world. I have only been on here for a little over a week. I was kind of hoping to grow through my blog posts. It seems harder than I thought to get exposure. I don't have a lot of money to spend. Hopefully I can grow at a normal speed organically.

Hi @big.ock, thank you for commenting. I was in your shoes 3 weeks ago but I had it rough. I wrote something that the whales didn't like and they downvoted me. I lost quite a bit on that post. But I did learnt a lot. I wish you all the best. I also checked out your blog and you seem to be doing fine. I upvote your above reply. Thanks again

Yeah. I almost made a post my first week about the whales. Glad I didn't do that. Now that I have a better understanding of how steemit works. I realize that would be a bad idea.

You got a 2.44% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @simply-me!

You got a 1.18% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @simply-me!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65