A fresh college graduate...

in #life7 years ago

I am 24 years old and have just completed and undergraduate degree in fine arts. I didn't plan on going to college and did not initially, spending some time working in a recording studio. I spent my entire adolescence learning about engineering and mixing and was provided a chance to work at the age of 18 around Grammy Award Winning engineers. I learned a lot – both good and bad. The main take away was that the turn around time for "success" was 10-15 years. This was not satisfying for me, and I quit my job with no real plan other than a house for rent in the country my brother found online.

I was then given a chance to attend college at a school where my terrible high school record did not matter much. Over the course of my college career I attempted various schemes. I studied finance and economics. I sold weed. I studied political studies and foreign affairs. I sold cigarettes I got online from Moldavia. I studied painting, sculpture, installation. I bought into cryptocurrencies and made more money than I ever made selling weed.

I feel deeply engaged with the world and want to participate in it, and help to make it closer to what I believe we are capable of. When I bought Ether for the first time I had no idea what it was, except for slightly like Bitcoin. I had known about the space before, and had a loose understanding, but never took the time to take a real look. Blockchain technology and its implications and applications are the most exciting thing I have ever encountered.

The intersection of technology and politics is unlike any other technological invention humans have made. I deeply believe this technology will change our world and am extremely interested in putting all of my energy and skills to forward its progress. I feel like I can sell anything, especially when I believe in it. Everybody who doesn't see the possibilities is wrong. Flat out, they are wrong, stubborn, or have a financial stake in those things occurring (Washington D.C.).

I have no scope of how to participate in this emerging space or where I need to be to do that. Given the global nature and global possibilities + the global level of commerce that occurs in 2k17 is a large mountain to stand at the bottom of as a fresh college graduate. Unfortunately for me, I decided to go to liberal arts school. It's just not an efficient product given the demands of the world we live in. Good for dinner conversation.

I'm interested in any sort of engagement through this platform. I love learning and I love talking to people.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @simonsaysgo! It seems like you will do well here! Try to post at least once a day and comment on a lot, it will help! Best wishes - hansenator

Very interesting

Congratulations @simonsaysgo! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58440.50
ETH 2618.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39