Sort:  

Hahahahahhah, I can't control my laughter as at this moment. We have all have lived in this lies saga when fantasies were so much of a bearing headache and causes our stomach to churn with the sound or mention of the name. And today we can't say more of this act. Life is beautiful.

Amazing article. Raw, honest, authentic. Just what I like. And to be honest, I like it because that's what I want to be 100 % of my life but I am not. There are areas of my life where I am that (to better or worse). Though there are others where I struggle immensly.

Here's a thought though...

What if we evolved this way as if we were completely open and honest in the past we would be either clubbed to death, proclaimed insane (or a philospher, depending on our luck :D ), put on spikes or burned alive for being a witch, etc.
And therefore most of us have genes of cowards as cowards are the ones that survived and reproduced in past.
Man fighting in war or fighting and expressing his strong beliefs is statistically less likely to survive and have offsprings than the one who sat quietly during commnism just hoping for it to pass. I know my family for example has no "partizans". Did it make me more cowardy or less likely to be completely authentic?

On the other hand, there is also socety in which we live in which teaches us to not stick-out. Especially in Nordic countries. In Denmark for example they have a phrase for it which I would paraphrase to "don't stick out. Stay the same and let's work together".
So there is that pressre, too.

So, from that, can we conclude that we are doomed to be a bunch of PC pussies in some extend or the other?
Is it only on the internet we are more likely be more raw and authentic? Are troll Youtube comments a fucked up mutation of it?

surely, yes - these factors contributed to the habit of closing up.

can make such a conclusion as you state at the end...? NO. cuz times have changed. and so must we to evolve.

the internet may be a safe stepping-stone, given people can more freely express themselves with anonymity, and yes trolling may be part of that phenomenon. though ultimately, evolution must occur - and the maturation of expression happen such that some might build enough confidence with the training wheels of their social media games to speak louder and bolder in real life....

Yes, I agree that we are evolving. Just the topics we as humanity discuss more and more - freedom, consent, sexual expression, rise in libertarianis, movements like radical honesty, etc.
Even corporations are becoming more transparent.

So I think we are on a great way to some amazing times :).

I do wonder how much evolutionary biology influences how we act today. I heard people on podcasts mention how important evolutionary biology is but I haven't been able to find any interesting free online content about this topic.

Do you know of any good youtube videos or authors that talk about this topic?

Depending in what sence you want to learn about it.

If you want to look more into the genes and how they influence us then unfortunatelly I don't.

If you want to hear how our ancestors influence our life, how we formed our habits, what we should eat, what is the best "social structure" we thrive in, and things like that then I would have few recommendations.

A good start might be a Rewild Yourself Podcast which goes into some of these topics and some of the guessts there are amazing. Though the quality of information is going down as it's used for reinforcment of the guys ideas. Though there are some gems there.

I will check out some of their earlier content!

People should always be themselves, otherwise your whole life is going to be a lie. Why waste time trying to fit the expectations of others when you could be true to yourself and the highest vision of your future and attract people that will further that growth? Being too real might drive some people away, but it will attract many more, and they will be valuable because they want you FOR WHO YOU REALLY ARE.
Anyway, I like your conversational writing style, and the things you write about are very interesting to me. My consciousness is just now starting to awaken and connect with the universal hivemind, and it is a journey like no other. Thanks for the insightful posts, and keep up the great work!

Wow, this comment and post both really speak to me.

I catch myself people pleasing way to often. I catch myself laughing at jokes that I don't think are funny, I stay quiet if I have a controversial opinion about something and I feel uncomfortable making other people feel uncomfortable.

I have recently found myself struggling to connect with people and it may be because I am being fake as fuck. I just need to be stronger and say what I think.

I really struggle with this topic of being authentic. On one hand, I want to be 100% myself and not hide my thoughts and beliefs but on the other, I know I will have to put up with other ppl's judgements. The biggest area that I think ppl struggle with to remain authentic is religion. It's like whatever religion your parents raised u in, you are damned to follow it "or else". It's the definition of insanity that ppl think they have the right to follow what religion they want, but then they turn around and try to control other people's beliefs.

Religion is a toughie - and perhaps one of the areas it's needed most, for there is so much bullshit there. Tough, yes - though perhaps a test of character to go against the grain of a status quo that is simply fucked in so many ways...

I guess for me, I've found it's especially tough being authentic with family members. But when it comes to religion, I've decided to play along with them. I choose to be inauthentic with them because I think I'm better off in the long-run. I'd rather be on good terms with them, yet annoyed at times by their clashing opinions, rather than be estranged or have them trying to reconvert me, lol. There's a price to pay for being authentic and inauthentic.

and some might call that price "integrity."

Thanks for pointing that out. I never thought about this definition of integrity before - living honestly when its inconvenient.

great article, amazing talent. pure art. this is not just a post, this is mountain lion, chewing on a throat of a wild goat in the sunset. i am still shaking. this is really enlightening. actually, this is why i am here. people like you are what makes this community the best one. i wont even mention your photos, ill just say - breathtaking. you are one of the steemians who truly inspires me. What a day, what a great community of talented individuals, im going to thank the Lord for a chance to witness all this greatness happening.

anyone willing to invest in Ass Kissing Generator for Steemit? AKGS?

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this post. It’s sometimes isolating to have these thoughts on the state of how we all inherently behave or try to behave. I’ve sensed a shift for a while now. That there is an awakening rippling through the fibres of this world. The masks can’t be upheld for much longer. They’re cracking in all places. The dams of our beings have been held back to long and we want to go home to who we really are. I can’t really express what I got from this article but I felt this journal post I wrote recently is relevant:

https://thefabledroad.deviantart.com/journal/Recognising-the-Mask-708420891

Thanks for sharing your words and thoughts.

your welcome. 😊🙏

good journal post. could be worth turning into a Steemit post... ;-)

Thank you @rok-sivante, I look forward to more writings from you. :)

Good Job on this, raised some interesting questions for me.

Followed, and upvoted!

That's the real spirit! I believe that Steemit came to outline exactly this type of self-revelations! Use the community to discover yourselves guys. Forget about STEEM, SMD, SP, Fork 19 and so on. for a moment, stand up from the laptop, go in front of the mirror and look at yourself.

Who do you see?

The answer could delay, but if you persist you'll definitely get a reward, that's millions of times more precious of any Steemit reward.

Thanks - there is much to think about.

People exclaim that a person is courageous if and when they stand up to the status quo. As a society, debate and differences of options are things we read about in history books. Raw, real, honest, direct...these terms are used to define tyrants now. Not to be herald as badges of honor. Everyone wants to be liked by the global IN CROWD. It's high school on a galactic scale.

DILLIGAF!?! People are afraid of not being liked and fitting in. Again, DILLIGAF!?! Not everyone is going to love you. Not everyone is going to want to get your autograph. Not everyone is going to want to be your BFF. Not everyone is going to want to spend time with you. Ok...and? Don't apologize for being the best person that you are working on being. It's ok to not fit in.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55