You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Opportunity Cost Of Fluff: Realness, Rawness, And Badass Authenticity...

in #life7 years ago

I really struggle with this topic of being authentic. On one hand, I want to be 100% myself and not hide my thoughts and beliefs but on the other, I know I will have to put up with other ppl's judgements. The biggest area that I think ppl struggle with to remain authentic is religion. It's like whatever religion your parents raised u in, you are damned to follow it "or else". It's the definition of insanity that ppl think they have the right to follow what religion they want, but then they turn around and try to control other people's beliefs.

Sort:  

Religion is a toughie - and perhaps one of the areas it's needed most, for there is so much bullshit there. Tough, yes - though perhaps a test of character to go against the grain of a status quo that is simply fucked in so many ways...

I guess for me, I've found it's especially tough being authentic with family members. But when it comes to religion, I've decided to play along with them. I choose to be inauthentic with them because I think I'm better off in the long-run. I'd rather be on good terms with them, yet annoyed at times by their clashing opinions, rather than be estranged or have them trying to reconvert me, lol. There's a price to pay for being authentic and inauthentic.

and some might call that price "integrity."

Thanks for pointing that out. I never thought about this definition of integrity before - living honestly when its inconvenient.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68208.95
ETH 3894.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69