Quit That Job! Entry #3 - The Insecurity of Security

in #life6 years ago

This is the third part of a series I will return to occasionally as I prepare to quit my job in July, on my 10 year anniversary with the company. Check out the previous entries if you have not already:

  1. Quit That Job! Entry #1 - The Office Space Effect
  2. Quit That Job! Entry #2 - Change Things Up!

DSC01281.JPG

People will often say they can’t quit a job because they don’t want to give up the security. With random layoffs at least once a year at my work, I’m wondering what they think security looks like. I’ve been working there almost 10 years. When I look around the office, I notice that a lot of faces have changed over the years. Besides layoffs, many quit to move on to other jobs. Even the people who were laid off say they are much better off now. But there are a handful of people who have been there longer than me. Sure, some are managers or vice presidents, but even they could have better opportunities. But why have these people stayed? As I try to put it all together, something they all have in common becomes apparent. They all have families to support.

I guess I get that greater responsibilities mean even more dire need for security. But that security is illusory. At any day any one of us can be asked to “have a seat and close the door.” At any moment an HR person could appear with a box to clear out the desk.

People live in fear of losing their job, and in this country that can also mean their health insurance (depending on the state I guess). They live in so much fear that they will continue going to the same desk with no fulfilling work. I have often looked at the owners, vice presidents and managers busy at meetings and generally thinking of ways to screw things up. I just want to ask, “is this work fulfilling?” Of course not. It’s something else they are fulfilling, something they are building. It could be a family that motivates them, or just growing the business in the case of the owners of the company. Of course there is that one guy, my original manager, who does not have family and will never leave this company. But I think he may just be a sociopath.

So as I prepare to quit this job, I ask myself whether I have to be worried about giving up this security. If there is no guarantee that I will have my job on Monday, why should I be scared to just make that decision myself? And believe me I’ve thought of just putting in my notice now and not waiting. But I would like to save some money and at least be set for the summer. Plus I have a couple doctor's visits lined up and would not like to suddenly be without insurance.

It’s an easy job as far as the effort goes. That doesn’t mean I can continue being micromanaged and stuck at a desk for yet another 10 years or more. There are so many other job possibilities that I might pass over if I remain at the "secure" job. One of my biggest issues is that they have taken vacation time away from me. In my tenth year they are only giving 6 PTO days, which includes vacation and sick time. What's the point of giving so much of my time to company if I have little time to travel and enjoy life? I have so much I want to see in this world and I can't wait until retirement. I'd rather give up security for a chance to live my life to the fullest.

Every once in awhile it is good to reflect on your past and future, then focus right in on the present. Have I ever felt secure in my job the last 10 years? I lived in fear of layoffs for years then eventually began to get jealous of the people who were let go. I recently ran into a couple of them as well as one of the guys who left on his own. They all said the same thing, “get out!” One guy called it a soul-sucking company. He’s right. I say that all the time. Sometimes you need to just stop complaining and do it. Quit that job!

Sort:  

6 years at the same desk and i get done with work this May.

Feels good and look forward to a new life. Will see how it goes.

Being stuck in a place for 'security', is the very thing addressed in 'Who moved my cheese'!

Glad there are others making this decision! Good luck on also forging ahead with a new life. No job should be so secure that it keeps people from fulfilling their dreams. Is it any coincidence that prisons are defined by their security levels?

Haha. Aren't we all prisoners of something or the other. You probably need to be the Dalai Lama to be really free!

He's exiled from his own country. Perhaps there is something freeing about never returning home.

You got a 6.64% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @robmolecule!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

You got a 10.06% upvote from @redlambo courtesy of @robmolecule! Make sure to use tag #redlambo to be considered for the curation post!

You got a 3.59% upvote from @brandonfrye courtesy of @robmolecule!

Want to promote your posts too? Send a minimum of .10 SBD or Steem to @brandonfrye with link in the memo for an upvote on your post. You can also delegate to our service for daily passive earnings which helps to support the @minnowfund initiative. Learn more here

This post has received a 0.80% upvote from thanks to: @robmolecule.
For more information, click here!!!!

Try the new Minnowhelper Bots for more information here

Do you know, you can also earn passive income after every bidding round simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper?
you can delegate by clicking following links: 10 SP, 100 SP, 500 SP, 1000 SP or Another amount

Help support @minnowhelper and the bot tracker by voting for @yabapmatt for Steem witness! To vote, click the button below or go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and find @yabapmatt in the list and click the upvote icon. Thank you.

Voting for @yabapmatt

This post has received a 6.25% upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @robmolecule.

You got a 4.10% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @robmolecule!

I am also very confused. Although our living environment is not the same, we are not in a country. However, I face the same troubles as you. I have said to myself that I have left the current company and faced a new life. However, I ended up with no result. Maybe I am afraid to face the new environment and I am afraid of facing new results. Thank you for sharing, I think I have to think about my next life.
我也很迷茫。虽然我们的生活的环境不一样,我们也不在一个国家。但是我面对着和你一样的烦恼,我多次对自己说离开现在的公司,去面对一个新的人生,最后却都没有结果。可能我害怕面对新的环境,害怕面对新的结果。感谢你的分享,我想我要想想我接下来的生活了。

As scary as change can be, I think it's scarier to think of things staying the same and not getting any better.

I agree with this view

We recommended this post here.

We are Discover Steem, if you like our work consider giving us an upvote. :) If you don't wish to receive recommendations under your posts and to be recommended, reply with STOP.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59926.69
ETH 2622.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38