Quit That Job! Entry #2 - Change Things Up!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180410_152015279.jpg

"Everything changes and nothing stands still." - Heraclitus

I feel like I’ve been neglecting Steemit, only posting once in the last three days. I want to change my life and writing this blog is helping to both inspire and initiate that change. Change happens all around us, and to us. I want to embrace it and move forward. I don’t want to be stuck in place and look around one day wondering where all the time went.

I’ve been at my job 10 years. How much have I changed in that time? I’ve done all of the following over the last 10 years:

  • I finished a bachelor degree in communication and media studies.
  • I began meeting other cyclists on social bike rides.
  • I realized I could ride 10, 20, 50 and even 70 miles a day.
  • I discovered the joy of bike camping and bike touring.
  • I learned how to play synth and drums.
  • I played in 6 different bands after not playing music for nearly 10 years.
  • I became a homeowner.
  • I adopted a dog for the first time.
  • I adopted a cat, and I hadn’t had one of my own in well over 10 years.
  • I learned that just because a relationship ends, it does not mean it failed.

So who was I ten years ago?


I was somebody who had not experienced the things I described above. Exactly 10 years ago (April 2008) I was only 33 years old, living in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. I had graduated a couple years earlier with an associate degree in video production. I had worked on a cruise ship as a videographer, briefly. But I found myself back in Pittsburgh, at my old valet job, except as a manager. I had given my job an ultimatum. I applied for a promotion that was a little bit ambitious. I told myself if I didn't get the job I would move back to my hometown of Buffalo, New York and seek work there. I put in plenty of notice and explained I was leaving because I did not get the promotion. In just 3 months, I found a job in Buffalo making training videos. I eventually became the company's instructional designer. This July will mark 10 years since I began working for them.

A lot has changed in 10 years, but the one constant has been my current job. There is no room for advancement. There is little to learn. I can’t predict everything I will do over the next 10 years, but I do not want to be at the same desk in the same office. Where I will be I don't exactly know. I am at the mercy of my employer at the moment. I could walk in tomorrow and be fired. Should I be scared of taking this future into my own hands instead? I did that 10 years ago and it worked out, for a little while at least.

What lies in the future?

  • I want to go on more bicycle tours and overnight camping trips.
  • I just bought a dog trailer for my bike. I hope I can get my dog to come bike camping with me.
  • I can travel by car as well.
  • I can drive for Uber and Lyft
  • I am going to blog on Steemit.
  • I have money invested if I need to access it.
  • I want to own less things.
  • I have records and other collectibles I can sell.
  • I can rent out my spare bedroom to a roommate.
  • I can learn to do some work on the house.
  • I can garden.
  • I can volunteer at a non-profit.
  • I can always get another job.
  • But first I will do whatever I want to do!

We live in a time that can be scary as things seem to be rapidly changing around us. Who knows what forces will win in this cultural battle? Perhaps this is inspiring me to change the only thing I can, myself. I want to also do good in the world, creating positive change around me. When I free up my schedule, i can use that time to volunteer for organizations I believe in. It would be more fulfilling than going to a job simply to earn a paycheck.

Sort:  

I quited 6 months ago and I am much happier now!

Glad to hear! Some friends express doubts about this decision. Many are supportive. I know I will be happier.

Change is always constant, but I wonder the future generation will see if I can use drone, Cryptocurrency robot and some other technology advancement... Change is constant

Congratulations @robmolecule! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Welcome back!! Sounds like life has taught you a lot and you are growing. Its all about learning everything you can in this lifetime. Keep the momentum and it will pay off. Failure is just another step to success.

Thanks! I guess I need to expand my posts beyond just cycling and movies. I will do some more of these personal posts sometimes. It's weird that I feel more comfortable sharing this stuff with strangers than on Facebook. But I tend to post very little on Facebook anymore.

I like the way of minimalism

I don't need things that just sit on a shelf or in a box. Material possessions that have some utility are fine, but it's good to not be weighed down by things you possess just for the sake of saying you own them.

Nice to hear. :)

A few years ago I sold and donated everything I had. At the end I had ONE box with photos and some important memory things. I felt much better and free after this.

I've often said my possessions are unemployment insurance. So when I quit my job I can finally use them for that. I'll still keep the stuff I use of course.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

"There is no room for advancement. There is little to learn. I can’t predict everything I will do over the next 10 years, but I do not want to be at the same desk in the same office."
Same boat!!!I've been at mine 11, I feel you man. I too am seeking the way. I hope you find the breakthrough and get up and out.

I'm just going to take a chance and leave it. I have a resume. It's just hard to devote time to looking for a better job when already working full time.

I think another job is gonna lead to more misery ! Unless you can do that job from anywhere allowing guy to be free

You're right. I really would rather work remotely so I could travel and work. I get that people who work from home get bored being home all the time, but it's not like an office or your home are the only workplace options. I think returning to a full time job will be a last resort. I really don't think I can do an office job. But I might not mind something that was a little more active and doing something positive.

Yeh being part of an amazing team working on something worthwhile would make a job not feel like a job. Something where you are valued, you get to travel, you can work remotely if you choose, would be the ultimate. They do exist, we just have to seek and find.

Very meaningful life, people are very envious, continue to pay attention to you, a civilian from China @chinese
很有意义的人生,让人很羡慕,持续关注你,一个来自中国的平民@chinese

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56792.41
ETH 2444.34
BNB 487.19
SBD 2.39