What is the meaning of life? I belive I figured it out.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

AdobeStock_125780752.jpeg

After the recent loss of my stepdad, my uncle, and my father I have recently often asked myself: what is the meaning of life? And during my 32 years and 356 days on this earth, I have come up with various answers. Like money, material belongings, constantly reaching for new goals, becoming a father and what not. But in the course of the past few years, I finally think I have figured it out.

Around eighteen months ago I lost my stepdad (who was a second father to me) to cancer. Then, five months later, I lost my closest uncle due to a bad misuse. And two weeks ago I also sadly lost my father to cancer.
All three men were very different in every way. My stepfather was a somewhat famous astrologist in my country. He was a very well-read and philosophic man, who was very relaxed about how he lived his life. He was always traveling because of his job - not so much because of the money, but essentially because he just wanted to. The kindest, sweetest and most likable man I have ever known.
My uncle was a worker in every way. He quit school when he was sixteen and started working as a blacksmith. Which he did ever since. He was a big fan of unions and unity among the working class, and he was also - what I would call - a real patriot. Although I would define him as a tough man rather than kind man, he still had a big heart and a lovely humor. And he also played the trumpet very well.
My father was also a true worker and a genuine entrepreneur. My father has started companies in every thinkable industry from real estate to construction. From producing speakers in Denmark to producing mirrors in Spain. From importing tiles to Sweden to looking for diamonds in Sierra Leone and much more. He was a real globetrotter. His goal in life was to hit the big jackpot and live the rest of his life under the comfortable wings of financial wealth.

Before each of them passed away, I got a chance to get a good perception of what they thought of their lives, of the important choices they made, of their mistakes and successes. But most importantly, I got to learn what their final thoughts on life were. What their final conclusion on life was.
"Do what you love, with the people you love".
In other words, find a passion in life, grasp it and do so while you surround yourself, with the people you care most about. It's not about wealth, status or material belongings. It is not about earning, achieving or getting - it is all about the now. Please don't misunderstand me, of course, you need to secure yourself and plan a solid strategy for the future. But when you one day have to look back at your life, it will be the days when you were living in the 'now' you will remember.

AdobeStock_133295066.jpeg

Even though it sounds like plain logic - it did take me some time to truly understand. But now I get it. I have always pursued the future - trying to earn more, achieve more, be more. And even though that can be a positive thing, you HAVE to remember to endure in the 'nows'. Or you will regret it when you someday have to look back at your life.
So, the short answer to the title is this: "Do what you love, with the people you love". Cause those moments are the ones which will truly count.

If you agree or disagree, I would love to hear your comments. Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

Congratulations @ricoros! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69508.29
ETH 3366.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74