All I want for my birthday is a resteemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

cake.jpg
Courtesy of GraphicStock.com

I've always looked forward to birthdays. When I was a kid, birthdays meant presents and parties. As I grew older, the presents grew smaller but the parties grew bigger.

But birthdays weren't just an excuse to celebrate with family and friends. Each new year also opened new doors and brought new opportunities. I loved anticipating what the coming year would bring, because I always believed it would be something great. Like a driver's license, or a job, or legal entry to the bar.

When I was young, I couldn't wait for the next birthday to come.

But things are different now. Now, time passes by fast enough. Now, I'd give anything for it to slow down.

And while I still look forward to my birthday, it's for far different reasons. Sure, I still like to celebrate the occasion with a glass of wine (or several), and spend time with family and friends. But the older I get, the more my birthday becomes a time of self reflection.

A time to look back on the past year, and to set goals for the year ahead. There are no more standard milestones or rights of passage. Now, the things that I achieve are through my own effort, and my own choosing.

So I've been thinking a lot about what I'd like to do in this coming year. Some of my goals are fairly self-centred, like running a half marathon (I just registered and I'm already freaking out 😳).

running_shoes.jpg
Courtesy of GraphicStock.com

Others are more community-minded, like joining a local volunteer organization (far less scary).

But one of my biggest goals is a combination of both -- to become more involved in Steemit.

And because I believe goals should be measurable, I've set a target of reaching 2,000 followers and 20,000 Steem power this year. When I look at what others have achieved on this site, that seems like a reasonable goal. When I look at my current stats, it seems crazy out of reach.

So, because I have reached the level of adulting where I only ask for practical gifts, I asked my husband for a new pair of running shoes, and I'm asking you to help me expand my reach by resteeming one of my posts.

But don't do it as a freebie or a favour. I only want you to resteem if you truly like what you read and think your followers will too.

And if not, that's cool. I've still got a year to hit my target. And a glass of birthday wine to drink. 😜

And some new running shoes to put on. Starting tomorrow, of course.

If you enjoyed this post, please resteem, upvote and, of course, follow @redhens. Here are a few other posts you might enjoy:

Writing Grit series:

RedHens Writing Advice video series:

General interest:

Sort:  

Wiser, older, stronger ...

Your wish is my command birthday girl! Resteemed because I want to! A glass of wine will be downed later in your honor! ... Oh! And you have a fb request too ;) Happy birthday Trilby you high IQ sparrow :) MH<3

Thanks! And I'll check for the FB request soon -- but I don't spend a lot of time on there these days. Steemit has taken over!

Enjoy your wine and I'll enjoy mine. 😀

Cheep! Cheep! Enjoy your day my Canadian friend :D

Upvoted, resteemed. Happy birthday :-)

Thanks! 😀

Resteemed , I have a habit of turning the numbers around in my age ( and got away with it !) but once I hit 66 did not work out so well , in a few months I will be 7 again , but will probably only be successful if I claim it is my Mental Age.

Ha ha - I may have to try that.

Happy Birthday! Resteemed 😊

Thank you!

Your wish is my command! Reseteemed!

Enjoy your day.

Thanks! The best part of my day so far has been sharing it with others, including all the great people on Steemit. 🙂

Many Happy Returns of the Day!
ReSteemed!

Thanks! I love that greeting. I'll have to use it myself in the future.

I got it off of Winnie the Pooh to be honest. I think that makes it even more special :)

Great article!! resteemed and happy birthday. I'm following you, too.

Glad you enjoyed it. And thank you!

Happy birthday!

Upvoted AND resteemed :)
@shayne

good luck with the run! (resteemed :-)

Thanks! I'm going to need it.

Happy birthday. Wow That's very delicious cake...yummmy.

Oh shoot -- this just reminded me that i need to credit the photos. It's not my cake, but my mother in law is bringing a chocolate cheese cake that I'm sure will be just as good. 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84