The Risk to OffendsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

offended_couple.jpg
All photos courtesy of GraphicStock.com

I'm very much a people pleaser. I go to great lengths to avoid upsetting other people. If I make someone feel uncomfortable, even if it's by accident, even if I apologize profusely, it still keeps me up at night. So needless to say, I'm naturally pretty careful about not saying things that are offensive.

So when I saw this video making the rounds on social media a while ago, while I thought it was laugh-out-loud funny -- pretty much everything by JP Sears is. -- I also found it was a little too true for comfort.

Because lately, the risk of causing offence is so high that even I feel like I'm walking on eggshells.

Everywhere we look, someone is offended about something.

It's OK to feel offended sometimes. It means that we've set boundaries on how we expect to be treated. It means that we have standards. The problem is not that we feel offended. It's how we react to feeling that way.

Where once we would stand up and say, "I don't like that" or "I disagree," now we demand that the offender be punished, fired, put out of business. We seek vengeance with a vengeance. And we are prepared to boycott and protest and throw a public tantrum until we get it.

ears_plugged.jpg

Look, I am 100 per cent supportive of the right to peaceful protest. And there are certainly times when it's necessary to take a strong stance. But when our gut reaction is to respond to extreme views -- or even moderately disagreeable ones -- with an extreme response, we lose out on an opportunity.

Instead of shouting about how offended we feel and demanding immediate action, immediate change, maybe, just maybe, we could use the situation to start an actual conversation. We could take the time to share why we're upset. We could listen to what our offender actually has to say.

Now I know what you're thinking. Some things are so offensive that there is no room for tolerance. Some people are so extreme in their beliefs that there is no room for reason. And that may very well be true. But I think there are many cases where, if we try, we could at least learn something in the process. Or better yet, we could educate others who are watching the situation unfold.

Every time we shout down someone for saying something that we perceive as wrong or intolerant, we silence another person who simply doesn't understand. A person who has questions that they're now afraid to ask for risk of causing offence. I know this because I have heard many people say, literally, and quietly, "I don't understand this but I'm afraid to ask about it because I don't want to piss anyone off."

I live a largely privileged life. There is a lot in this world that I don't understand, and that I haven't experienced. I don't know what it's like to discriminated against because of my skin colour or sexual orientation. I've never had to listen to someone spew hatred targeted at people who share my religion or political beliefs. I can only imagine how that must feel, and how badly I would want to shut that person up, and make their offensive words go away.

But I truly believe that the way to achieve this isn't by forcing these offensive ideas into the shadows. It's be addressing them in the light. By using offensive remarks as opportunities to engage, explain and educate. By inviting others off of the sidelines and into our circles, and by ceaselessly, passionately working to find a way forward.

If you enjoyed this post, follow @redhens. You may also be interested in my writing series': RedHens Writing Advice and Writing Grit. Here are the latest posts:

Sort:  

Your post is a beautiful starting point for a serious discussion. Exactly the thing new global neoliberal order wants to remove. Please, keep steeming. Resteemed.

Great points. I trained myself to tolerate offensive to me articles and videos by "titration": add a drop of inflammatory ideas, and allow the chemical reaction to pass, leaving a calm and neutral space prepared for reason. Also, I practice very hard to mentally turn offensive words into a glottal stop, ! Is the linguistic notation for that back of the throat popping sound in some languages. So, for example, if a guy is ranting and calling people "cucks" I turn that word into a ! and pretend I am an ethnologist learning a natural language with a sense of curiousity rather than judgment.
Curiousity is a huge part of my project, the creation of care. Being curious allows me safety inside my self, while examining challenging or dissonant ideas and people. Rather than becoming outraged like i used to, i try to care a lot about this person i disagree with. How did they arrive at their mentality and what commonalities can we discover together?

Thank you for this post.

Searching for commonalities instead of highlighting differences is a great way to move forward. I also really like your linguistic approach. 😀

I've bookmarked this post, and will be linking to it at the bottom of all my future controversial posts. I'm a bit of an ass, so that'll be a fair bit of linkage.

I hope it serves you well. Being a bit of an ass at times makes life a lot more interesting. 😀

I believe it several a valuable, yet generally unappreciated service to the community. That's my justification and I'm sticking to it! Which helps others grow thicker skin and be exposed to opposing views.

Marcus Aurelius: "Reject your sense of injury, and the injury itself disappears."

Quotes for our time. We could use a healthy dose of Stoicism, I think, in our modern age.

That's a great quote. And yes, we certainly could use a dose.

Absolutely love the quote ;)... And you all took the words right from my mouth.

Welcome to the age of spiritual narcissism @redhens where everyone is so sensitive to bad tweets and fb blocks! Nowadays most young people can't even do 10 press ups, but they can turn on an Xbox-360!

@kobiespriggs - my favourite Canadian writer next to @redhens wrote an excellent article on this. For me she is one of the best philosophers on Steemit.

https://steemit.com/spirituality/@kobiespriggs/spiritual-narcissism-rise-of-the-new-cultural-consumption

I've been following her but missed that post. She is dead right. And I'm sure I'm guilty of some spiritual narcissism now and again -- maybe more often than I'd like to admit. 😳

Self realisation is when you realise you are part of that spiritual narcissism that surrounds you - this is the beginning of awakening Trilby. Both me and Kobie are wide awake :) ... but more on her later ... My next post idea will be:

If one Steemian were to suddenly stop writing tomorrow, who would you least like it to be?

I bet that one gets you thinking too ;)

Stay awake!
MH.<3

Thanks for this link, I am now following her too :)

Stay tuned for my post on her later @creationofcare :D

I look forward to it!

DONE! Check my timeline now :)

I so agree with the content of your post. I try to be thought provoking and try to get response to issues in a non-challenging way. It is very difficult though, easily crossing the line into perceived rudeness. Sometimes I wish I had 'engaged my brain before my mouth'! Hey ho, life goes on. X

What if I like offending people, because I hate people who get offended?

Would that make me bad person?

I think that would make you an instigator. And possibly lonely. Lol!

That explains a lot... :,(

Or you'll end up with people who aren't easily offended and love the spice your non-filtered mouth brings to their lives. 🙂

:D. Thx for the positiv outlook

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56769.00
ETH 2325.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36