RedHens Writing Advice: Life Lessons and BookssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

"What is the best life lesson you've learned from a fictional character?"

In this video, I share my answer to that question, posed to me by @mindhunter, and explore the subjectivity of stories and what that means to us as both readers and writers.

If you enjoyed this video, please follow @redhens. You can also check out some of the other videos and articles on my blog, including:

Sort:  

There is no one lesson from one fictional character. There are life-long lessons from the interaction of fictional characters. For example, a whole human life, with all key lessons is packed into Bulgakov’s “Master and Margarita”. Fenomenal novel.

Excellent point. I haven't read that one yet, but I'll have to check it out.

Do it as soon as you can, you won't regret.

Congratulations @redhens! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Super smooth response @redhens! I'm glad you eventually found an answer. How ironic I've also read the book and seen the movie. As for the book, I thought the ending was brilliant: one of the best endings to a novel I've ever read. The story is fantastical yet the writing is so good I found it totally credible.

As for my own favourite character, it has to be Winston Smith from Orwell's '1984'.

I became enthralled in the story; I felt for the characters, particularly Winston, and I grew to hate Big Brother and the state of Oceania as the story progressed. I wanted nothing more than for the state to fall and Winston to instigate it.

I suppose I'm just an ole' Steemian anarchist at heart.<3

UV & RS.

Thanks for answering my Q ... "and as always ... Steem on Trilby!"

MH.<3

That's exactly how I felt about the ending of Life of Pi. I closed the book and just sat in silence for a minute, thinking "Wow."

I hate to admit it, but I have yet to read 1984. I'll have to bump that one up on my list. Seems like it should be mandatory reading, but somehow I haven't gotten to it yet. :-)

Trilby, Orwell's '1984' really scared me to death at age 15 at English class in school. I read it again recently and it still scares me to death!!

It's a mandatory read for an rebel Steemian on here :) 1984 was meant to be a warning - not an instruction manual for the Deep State! I won't tell you Winston's fate, but the battle he started must continue on ....

Steem on! ....

P.S. How would an author describe you as a character in a book? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56516.28
ETH 2315.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34