Searching for a cheap laptopsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

I'm looking for a cheap daily driver laptop -something I can toss in my bag and not worry too much about what happens to it. I've been looking at Chromebooks because they're slick and lightweight, but I'm also trolling around craigslist for a cheapo $50 laptop that I can wipe god knows what and run Ubuntu. Considering I live in a city of violent crime and robberies, having something I don't need to worry about is clutch.


I'll be using it to write and make posts mainly, so the specs aren't as important as the "right price" is. I would love any recommendations or your own experiences with low budget mobile PCs.

Sort:  

My old Gateway is still running very well as I have replaced several components over the years. Alternatively call PikesvillePC or visit http://www.pikesvillepc.com/

I definitely have one for you. "Laptop" is same as "Lap Dance" isn't it? 😁😁😁

I bought my laptop about a year ago, 60 euros off some guy from a craigslist like website. It's the HP 6730b and it now runs Ubuntu 17.10. Not the fastest, but definitely worth the money.
One thing I would warn you about is old laptop batteries. Calculate an extra 25 to 40 eur/usd for a new battery as they tend to either work very poorly or not at all on those older used machines. If you know how to solder it's also pretty easy to replace the cells yourself on most models.
Would however not recommend a chromebook. Used one myself but ChromeOS is terrible even for editing documents. An older laptop with a new battery and Linux install will definitely beat a chromebook, except for battery life.

I would recommend LUBUNTU. Its very fast and stable und good for old PCs and Laptops. It depends how much you want to pay!

I'm hoping to scoop up a nice black Friday sale somewhere, I'd really enjoy getting a Chromebook on the smaller side of things, like 12" or so, lightweight and easy to toss into a backpack. Fingers crossed for Microcenter...

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
The @reblogger's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

This post has received a 0.95 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @radagast.

This post has received a 5.36 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @radagast. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 5800 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.100 Steem or 0.100 Steem Dollar and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.
@resteem.bot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66431.89
ETH 2569.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65