WHY IS IT VERY DIFFICULT TO CHANGE [mind-conscious-subconscious-scheduling-changing]

in #life6 years ago (edited)

TRAILER:

I took some time to understand this. I recently got married and I love my wife and I can never imagine shouting at my wife. One day I notice that she is upset. I patiently talked to her and she said that I shouted at her. I could not remember when I got angry on her. And she was adamant that I shouted at her. Then this happened again. Then, I started doubting myself. I started becoming conscious of my behavior with my wife. When it happened third time, and My God! It was or real. I was really shouted at her. I could see that I was really shouting on her. I was dumb founded. I was taken aback.

cry-1682140_1920 (1).jpg

STORY:

Hi Steemit!

I hope everyone is fine and doing good. I am really enjoying my profession of a teacher. After studying for 6 years (That much was not required, now I realize!), I DARED to chase my DREAM. Initially, I was frustrated because all my friends were getting Jobs and were looking really Happy and contended. And I was struggling really hard to get an opportunity in teaching field. In the due course of my life, I landed up in the correct place, institute which values me and my services. I LOVE teaching my subject and guiding students.
I share my experiences with the students and also teach them the Lesson which I learnt from those experiences. I say to them that they don’t have to go through the same experience to learn the same thing, if they are ready to learn just by listening. If they just accept what I am telling, they start applying it, they just learn new lessons. These lessons are life lessons mainly. Academic lessons…..anyways I teach them.

boy-1666611_1920 (1).jpg

In the course of teaching them, I observe them, their lifestyle and accordingly advise them. But what I found seriously Wrong that even when people (including me… of course, I am not perfect and am striving to improve) know something is wrong, they anyways to it. In case of students, wasting time on mobile phones, games etc. OR, even if something is good for them, they do not practice it. I asked my students to make a schedule of their day, specifically plan out how they are going to do things and use their time. I explained to them my way to make schedule. What I noticed that too many, approximately 96% of the students gave up their practice in just 2-3 days. Currently I teach almost 100 students (to whom I asked to do scheduling). Only four of them are doing it constantly. I keep checking their schedules from time to time but I find them very irregular. After talking to me, getting inspired, they do it once or twice and then, leave it, let life take over and flow with it. I remember feeling a bit helpless some time ago because I really relate to the students. So I did a research. And here is what I found out.

anatomy-1751201_1280.png

Our Mind has two categories. Conscious and Subconscious. Conscious mind is 5% and Subconscious is 95%. Our body is like a machine and it runs on programs. Subconscious has default programs in it. If we are not conscious, our body goes automatically to default program and behave accordingly. Programs in the subconscious are downloaded and set when we are kids. From age 0 to age 7. At that time we just watch, observe, hear and learn. We don’t reason many things. Kids ask too many questions in conscious state but they might not remember too many things but they (We too!) download many things like the unwritten rules to live in a family or society, behavior of parents and relatives, repeated actions and behavior, how to do or to be in certain situations. These are set in the subconscious and these are 95%. This is what we practice, repeatedly, effortlessly, automatically like biting on nails. These are who we are actually. When we are conscious, we are just 5% of ourselves but we think this is who we are.

I took some time to understand this. I recently got married and I love my wife and I can never imagine shouting at my wife. One day I noticed that she is upset. I patiently talked to her and she said that I shouted at her. I could not remember when I shouted at her. And she was adamant that I shouted at her. Then this happened again. Then, I started doubting myself. I started becoming conscious of my behavior with my wife. When it happened for the third time, I noticed it; and My God! It was or real. I could see that I was really shouting at her. I was dumb founded. I was taken aback.

Then the knowledge of the mind struck my mind. This was me. I was subconsciously acting in a manner which I did not like myself. These were the scripts running in the program that was set in the subconscious when I was a kid. Whenever such situations came, preciously that of disagreement and conflict, I was tending to increase my volume and shout out.
This is just an example from my life itself which taught me what students are going through in their lives. I could appreciate their struggle. I became inspired to help them even more. Whenever I ask them to do something, they struggle against their 95%. And they are small in age. They can’t be conscious all the time. That too in this age of distractions.

When I teach, I observe students shaking their legs or biting nails and doing other habitual stuff. They say that they get carried away by things and people. They are not able to make efficient use of their time. I understand that these actions are due to the scripts running in the subconscious. I always correct them and keep them making conscious. Actually we have been used to live in the autopilot profile of the mind. And that’s what we tend to do. We are not sufficiently conscious and then we want to change something, implement something; but we give up in the middle of everything. We have practiced unwanted things unknowingly so many times for so long. We must understand that it requires time and effort to change those unwanted scripts which plays in auto mode when we are exposed to situations supporting them.

crossfit-3564719_1920.jpg

I say to my students that the remedy is being conscious, making moment to moment proper choices; identify what is there in their subconscious that they want to change and be consistent. I say to them that they will fail in their initial endeavors but sure enough after a period of consistent effort, they will overcome the negative which held them back and seek my guidance whenever they are overcome by despair.

I hope all of you like this post.

Please vote and comment and follow me.

If you like my post, find the post useful, please share.

Thank you!

@questionthetrend

#questionthetrend

Sort:  

This post contained some typos in its mentions that have been corrected in less than a day. Thank you for your quick edit !

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Thanks you @checky that was a spelling mistake! I rectified it.

Congratulations @questionthetrend! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @questionthetrend! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Seems like there is for the most part little attention on the mind and how it works. Sounds like you have put a lot of thought into the topic.
Interesting that you started to find some of your own subscious scripts.
I found your post through the pay it forward curation @pifc where it was featured this week by @mcnestlers

Hello! @headchange, nice to meet you. Glad to see your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33