Meeting People - Rat Rod Bicycle

in #life6 years ago (edited)


I love meeting people! I consider myself a collector and connoisseur of stories and moments in time. Being always on the lookout for unique people to get to know, I never pass up a chance to inquire about an oddity or interesting situation. I enjoy being in the moment with them to learn a bit of their passion and watch them light up as they describe their passions. You never know when these opportunities will strike and you must always be at the ready to jump out of your comfort zone to engage people. Even at a gas station at 3am.

Meeting People - First Contact

meeting people people life

My nightly work routine brings me to a gas station usually between 2am and 4am to refuel, grab a bite to eat, or refill my drink. This gas station is next to a major interstate and offers unique opportunities to meet people. You can't imagine the sights, sounds, and smells that congregate at a 24 hour gas station at this time of night. It is beautiful and horrifying in the same moment. The worlds of reality and the bizarre commingling like a mist over a pond in the cool morning air. The types of people darting in and out of this wayside portal metro oasis are as varied as the stars and can range from the ridiculous to the sublime. It is a feast for the senses and sheer ecstasy for a collector of moments, like myself.

This particular night was no different. I am minding my own business, gassing up my vehicle watching the pimps and princess stroll in and out of the electric illumination when a ragged, choking truck pulled in next to me with the most glorious creation I had seen that night. In the bed of this truck was a green and black personification of Frakensteinian creativity - a rat rod bicycle!

Meeting People - It's Alive!

meeting people people life

As I am standing there, transfixed by the majesty and might of this creation, the driver steps out and sees me hypnotized by the work of his hands. He is a tall, slender, slithering gentleman. He is adorned with the typical garage threads of denim, grease, and gas fumes. As he notices my reaction to his offspring, his smile widens like that of a door-to-door vacuum cleaner salesman who knows he has you hooked. I stop everything I am doing and make a beeline to the bed of his backwoods chariot to admire his beast a bit closer. He leans in and says with a twinkle in his eyes, "I built her myself". Well of course you did, no modern company possesses the creativity and bravery to unleash such magnificence upon the world! He took me up and down and front to back of this rat rod bicycle explaining every decision, nut, bolt, and dream.

I marveled the bike for several moments and then we begin to discuss how he came up with the idea and the possibilities it held. I was quick to add that this could really take off with regular guys who like to modify things, but can't afford a Harley. That he should start a Facebook group and get similar minded guys together to form a sort of rat rod bicycle club. It may sound cheesy to some but how amazingly glorious would it be to see a parking lot full of these beasts of uniqueness lined up shining in all of their glory? Their owners standing tall with pride of possessing something truly unique.

Meeting People - Adieu

meeting people people life

We the good Dr. and I finished our impromptu brainstorming session on the future of rat rod bicycle gangs roaming rural America he slithered back into this dusty chariot and disappeared at the edge of the fluorescent illumination and into history. I honestly hope I wake up one day and read an article about his bustling company of creating custom bikes. These are the moments you can miss if you keep your blinders on and stay within the box of your own perception. Take a chance on the world and open yourself up to all of the good, bad, ugly, dirty, lovely, beautiful, crazy, deranged, disfigured, rusted goodness it has to offer!

 

You may also like my article about everyday inspiration!


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://papacrusher.vornix.blog/2018/08/16/meeting-people-rat-rod-bicycle/


All photos and videos are my own creation unless otherwise noted.

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

MAN CAVE_FINAL.jpg


All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter,
Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost
-Tolkien

Sort:  

What a great story!
Learning about people is one of my favourite things to do!
Oh, and I also love the smell of petrol, engines, grease, ok that sounds weird lol.. my step dad used to do banger racing so spent a lot of time at the tracks watching them build the cars, would sometimes see the bikes too! I remember the feelings I would feel the moment the engines roared into gear, wow, excitement and anxiety all at once, quite thrilling! Great post :)

Sounds like your dad had a cool hobby!

Heh heh, cool bicycle! )
Great story @papacrusher

Why is it called a rat rod bicycle? I mean is a bike with a little gas motor right? I'm confused Papa!

His words, not mine. He also hand built and customized the handle bars, sissy bar, and a few other things.

Nice! Well, he should try to register the name because it sounds like nice trademark: The Rat Rod Bike. Thank you Papa!

I think the whole facebook group thing is an awesome idea. I didn't realize that there were that many people into this. I think its really cool I bet my grandson would love to customize a rat rod bike, He would be one of those proud standing owners you speak of...lol

It was very cool. You could see the pride and hard work he put into it.

haha! good morning sir papacrusher! you crushed another great story tonight out of just a brief meeting with a stranger..with a strange bike.
great job. What kind of work do you do that you're up all night?

Thanks for the compliments. I'm a police lieutenant.

oh my gosh! and where are you located? I mean most police don't talk to people like that and they aren't friendly, at least the ones that I've seen, that is so interesting.

And do you post about your work or are you not allowed to?
you are on straight third shifts all the time?

I'm just SW of Atlanta Georgia. I post about wirk from time to time. I talk to people everywhere I go..lol. We work 12 hour shifts and rotate from days to nights every 4 months. I finally go back to days in September!

howdy again sir papacrusher! well thank you for your service, way toomay people have the wrong impression of police officers and it sounds like you are changing that impression everyday with people you come in contact with, can you tell many of them are surprised by your friendliness?
third shifts are hard on your body, worked them for many years, probably 20 years.

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Proud to be a member of such a great and supportive community!

How cool to see a creation like that and get to talk with it' builder.

He was an interesting fellow.

I don't understand how to drive this without getting your arms tired

I think it's about style, not comfort! Lol

That really is an amazing and creative design bicycle, quite fortunate you came across it in a petrol station.

Sometimes it is amazing what you can find when you are not even looking for it, life certainly is full of twists and turns. And thank you for the Witness vote, I really appreciate that.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Ain't that the truth! You're welcome on the vote, my pleasure. I've followed @derangedvisions for a bit.

Hahna the gas tank..:) ye biking regardless how u do it is super easy to meet up whit people. its a lot of god think can happen in a grupe like it. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80