WHAT A BLOODY NIGHT!

in #life6 years ago

Okay, it was still a success!


The plan was simple, and then things got complicated. Extra variables were added, and soon I was bleeding. Want to know why?

GET THE GAR!

That was the simple goal. We had spotted three gar in a water hole earlier today and only managed to capture one. We figured if we headed out after dark, our chances of capturing the other two would increase. That much we were correct about, as the photo above will agree to. However...

These large Northern Water Snakes were not on the "to do list," but they managed to find their way into our agenda. While the @little-peppers may be extremely careful about proper handling of wild snakes, @papa-pepper is not always so focused...

Yup, look at that lack of control that I had over the snake. While these may be nonvenomous, they can still bite, and they do have some pretty needle-like teeth that can tear into you... or tear into me anyway!

And, of course, blood always looks worse when it is mixed with wet skin, since it tends to spread out everywhere. Thankfully, this was the worst (and only) injury of the night. Also, we did not encounter any Water Moccasins, so that it good news too!

Do you see how much more careful, controlled, and cautious the @little-peppers are being? Oh yeah, they'll enjoy some wild nights too, and you can click here to see more from their point of view. At least we still succeeded in our original mission, plus the bleeding has now stopped too!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-making-special-family-memories

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Geez! Be safe....:)...

Ouchie! Don't think I could do that. Where I'm from we only have one variety of snake and it's pretty docile and definetly not venomous. Good on you and your girls!

Where I'm from we only have one variety of snake and it's pretty docile and definetly not venomous.

That can be helpful! We've got both around here, but at least we can tell the difference.

Where I'm from it's the fungi that can be deadly! lol ;)

I am still waiting for that reality show.... can't believe someone from Hollywood isn't knocking down your door!!

Stay safe, and glad to see those weren't poisonous.

LOL! - Yeah, I'm not sure there would really be much of a plot or story line... just a weirdo in the woods...

I don't think so.... people are more and more interested in healthy living, which includes growing your own food organically as you do. Also people are interested in homesteading and off grid living, plus all your adventures with snakes and other animals always keeps it exciting. Throw in a little blood with a bunch of children holding snakes.... what time and what channel is that on?!!!
For now watching your videos and posts is good......

Now I feel ashamed.. your little girls are completely relaxed and laughing while holding snakes and I would run away screaming if I would see one, lol!

At least now they now how important it is to focus while handling wild snakes. You gave them a good lesson!

It is a good lesson, and most snakes aren't really dangerous.

Immediately I was worried one of the Water Moccasins got you. I'm blown away the girls have no fear of the snakes.

Not yet... Almost got into it with a rattler earlier though, perhaps I'll share about it tomorrow.

A good lesson for the kids, hold on tight or else.
It is always easier to learn from someone else's mistake, less painful as well
Well done Papa, taking one for the team.

That's right! they can learn from my mistakes!

That looks gnarly. It sounds like you're ok though. I'm glad it wasn't poisonous. That would have put a damper on the evening. Stay safe out there!

Yeah, venomous snakes aren't quite as much fun to get bit by.

Icarumba! Quite an adventure making new & special family memories!! ✨🎈 Nice you have it in a blog for future reference ❤ y'all are crazy brave when it comes to snakes! I'd be like @delishtreats all screaming and running away likely hyperventilating 🙈😂 .....careful out there with all that bleeding!!! Mommamia 🙏🤣

.....careful out there with all that bleeding!!!

I bleed content!

Ahhhh!!! It's not halloween YET 🙈

Ouch!!!!But great photos of beautiful snakes Sorry you got bitten but am sure it made you a little more careful for the future - fangs very much 😉

sure it made you a little more careful for the future - fangs very much

LOL! I doubt it, but I know me better than you do.

Now, little Peppers; DO AS I SAY, Not as I do! Give yourself TWO bad dogs for snake handling! But since the Little Peppers are so darn cute, and careful; we will give you a pass with time served (for healing) ROFLOL!

Someone needs to be more careful! :)

Someone needs to be more careful! :)

Yeah, I hear you. THEY really should be more careful.

HMMMM, Maybe I didn't make it clear enough, ROFLOL.... :)

No snakes for you until you are healed up, or I will sic the little peppers on you! (I think they can take you) :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68086.39
ETH 2626.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67