PAPA-PEPPER TEACHES THE LITTLE-PEPPERS ABOUT HEAD WOUNDS... THE HARD WAY

in #life7 years ago

So, what do you do when you're heading to the ocean and wind up with a very bloody head wound?


Yesterday, I took a couple of my older @little-peppers out to South Padre Island to check things out.

We had a nice drive over and then stopped for some pizza. There is a nearby spot that I know of where there are some crabs, so I thought that I would show them a few things before we went to the actual island.

There we were, catching hermit crabs and blue crabs. It was just Pinkie-pepper, Red-pepper and Papa. I was about to lead them up to the truck to grab something else that we needed. As I was working my way up, I ducked under a tree and ended up ramming a broken off branch into the top of my head.

MY BLOODY HEAD!

Immediately blood began to gush out from under my hairline. It was very hot out, and I got a little light-headed. Since we had just began our adventure, I did not want to ruin it by heading to a hospital instead. Though head wounds often bleed a lot and can look really bad, many are not as serious as they look. I needed time to evaluate the situation.

Thankfully, I gave up drinking, so my blood was not thinned. By pushing hard on the wound, the blood flow slowed down and eventually stopped. I felt fine for the most part, and explained the situation to the @little-peppers that I had with me. They were very calm, but also concerned. Not trying to draw any unnecessary attention to myself, we made out way up to the truck and got my face cleaned off.

I had planned on recording a few videos of Hermit Crabs and Blue Crabs. With their help I continued. We had to do something while we waited. Also, since we were heading to the beach next, I thought that we might be able to attract a shark if we used my bloody head as bait. That could make an interesting video post.

When we passed by that branch later, we could actually see that it had a clump of my hair on it. OUCH!

In the end, the bleeding did stop, and by the time we got to the beach, I was able to jump in without having it reopen. I decided that the salt water would be good enough for a "cleaning job" at the time, and we got on with our. If we would have given up or went to the hospital, we would have had a much different day and I would not have been able to make this recording.

Obviously, life can be dangerous. Sometimes, it is not the venomous snakes or scorpions that are what get you, but a tree branch. Yeah, that's kind if ironic and anticlimactic.

It gave me a chance to teach my little ones a little more about things, and it was another "do as I say, not as I do" experience for them. Many choices that I make are ones that others should not. If one of the @little-peppers wound up with this same wound, we would have been at the hospital in a matter of minutes. I hope that you guys enjoyed the video. Steem on!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-head-wound



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Hi @papa-pepper. I have translated this post about your headache. :-)))) You can see the translation here https://steemit.com/life/@igor-steem/papa-pepper-rasskazyvaet-svoim-melkim-peppers-pro-raneniya-golovy-samym-tyazhyolym-obrazom

Hello @papa-pepper ! I want to translate this post into Russian. I will put up a reference to the translation here. :-)

Reminds me of the scene from Monty Python and The Holy Grail:

BLACK KNIGHT: 'Tis but a scratch.
ARTHUR: A scratch? Your arm's off!
BLACK KNIGHT: No, it isn't.
ARTHUR: Well, what's that then?
BLACK KNIGHT: I've had worse.

Head wounds bleed like crazy but you are absolutely correct that a hospital visit is not ALWAYS necessary. Many times pressure, cleaning, and a little bit of logic will deal with it quite effectively.

Practical lessons as unpleasant as they often are, remain great teachers

Ouch!
I'm glad that you are okay!

Way to stay positive bro!
How did the little peppers react?

They did good, they just wanted to make sure that I wasn't still feeling lightheaded when it was time to drive. Smart girls.

Hello @papa-pepper ! Oh my god, I hope all is fine now ! The salt water was a good idea but still a visit at the hospital would be good you know.
Be more careful mate!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67467.65
ETH 3470.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71