Our unexpected journey - prelude

in #life7 years ago (edited)

DSC_0666-01.jpeg

This is the follow-up post to the one I made last week where I began to tell you about a new adventure @abh12345 and I have recently embarked on, far away from Europe, on the island of Reunion.

To help you locate and get a feel for this somewhat rather small piece of land lost in the middle of nowhere, here are 2 maps which should give you a better idea:


Reunion island is to the right of Madagascar

Geology of the island with its towns and volcano

As I mentioned in the previous post, I was hired a couple of months back to teach in a Montessori classroom.
Here are the 2 main things I was told I would obtain upon my arrival (and also the reasons why I accepted the job):

  • despite a low salary (lowest I've ever been offered), the entire top floor of the school was offered for us to live upon our arrival. From the photos they sent, the place was huge (with 5 different rooms) and filled with beautiful natural light, lots of windows and a massive terrace the length of the entire floor. Huge potential. After a bit of research and seeing how high the rent prices were in St Denis (the capital), I realized this may just be a great opportunity.
    The only inconvenience being that it was unfurnished... which meant extra expenses especially in the first few weeks/months of our stay. Not ideal, but hey, nothing is.

  • a class filled with 15 children - this is quite low for a Montessori classroom, but it is not a bad number if most of the children do not come from a Montessori background

The surprises which ruined it all:

Four days before our flight departure I received an email stating that the school and the top floor (our future home) had not finished being renovated and would not be by the time we arrived. Nothing more on that topic. And strangely, not even any guidance as to where we were supposed to go... First "hhmmmmm WTF".
At the end of this email, he also stated that there would now be 10 children in the classroom (numbers are dropping... teacher is worrying). Second "hhhmmmmm WTF".
Thinking about the situation for a bit, Asher and I decided it may be better to get a hotel room from the Wednesday of our arrival to the following Sunday, knowing that my contract started on Monday, and assuming that by then, the school/house would be ready.
I let my future boss know our decision, which he then replied by saying: "Up to you, if you can afford it."... Third "hhhhmmmm WTF". (no offer to pay or reimburse. no offer to help. no nothing)
Remember that, by this time, our flights had already been purchased. Not much backtracking possible. I've turned on the trying-to-see-the-good-sides-to-everything mode.

As we arrived and settled in our hotel room in Reunion (in between 2 cyclones which did not make our first 3 days very exciting, as you can imagine), we spent a bit of time adjusting to the new temperatures (above 30 degrees celsius/ 86 degrees fahrenheit) and high humidity, as well as discovering the city before we were scheduled to meet up with my bosses and several staff members to help paint, build shelves and tables on Saturday.

On Friday night, I received yet another email from my boss with some new information:

  • school renovations are definitely not done so the scheduled parent/teacher meetings which were to happen during the week would now take place in the other school campus (a 30-minute drive away from my school and the hotel we rented)
  • the upper floor is therefore not ready for move-in either (no water, no electricity...)
  • there will be 5 or 6 children in the classroom
    All that with a nice "See you tomorrow bright and early to help get the school ready for next week's opening day" (first day of school here is on February 1rst)

Jaw drops...

Let me tell you, I've had to go through a lot of BS as a teacher throughout the years, but this place was winning some serious BS awards already!
Was I supposed to be living in a hotel indefinitely? Does he not realize I have not just brought a tiny suitcase here, I have moved... WE have moved. Does he think that teachers have such amazingly high salaries that they can afford to live in hotels indefinitely? Still no mention of reimbursement or help with anything... How do I get to this other school without a car? Can I afford taxis there and back daily for 5 days? Which buses should I take? (looks like a big mess on their website). And the cherry on top of the cake: 5 or 6 children!!!

Just so you guys know, a Montessori classroom with 5 or 6 children IS NOT a Montessori classroom. More like a posh babysitting service.

Stay cool Sylvia. Just stay cool and focus on meeting everyone tomorrow. Everything will be fine.

So the next day, Asher and I got up, focused on meeting everyone, seeing the school and our future "home". Bosses are welcoming and seem lovely, but also very busy painting and building around the house. We all get to work and paint the entire classroom.
The state of the upper floor is... well, how can I put it... an absolute mess. I can see in Asher's eyes that he's really not feeling this anymore. This place was NEVER going to be ready upon our arrival. Nor will it be ready any time soon.

We stay there painting and building the entire day, having a few chats here and there with lovely people.

As we walked back to our hotel, Asher and I barely talked. Too tired, too disappointed, too confused...

It took me about 24 hours to realize and decide that I was not going to do this. That this beautiful and exciting dream of working on a paradise island doing something I love to do was simply not going to happen.

The next few days were filled with intense stress as I was dropping a project I had accepted (boss showed me yet another side of him... not a pleasant one, which made me even happier to have quit) and now in a faraway place with tons of luggage. What to do?

Asher and I looked at eachother. We figured heck, we're already here, let's make the best of it and travel. We've got a bit of cash left, and we have Steemit. When we run out, we leave. In the meantime, there is Reunion, Mauritius, Madagascar.. and if we make it that far there is Sri Lanka, Myanmar, and so many other places to cross off the bucket list.

So we shipped lots of our stuff back home, gave 2 of our suitcases away to a man in the street (who granted us with beautiful smiles I will never forget), and here we are today.

What would you have done?

To start of this brand new travelling series, here is a little tour of what St-Denis, the capital city, looks like. This place could easily be visited in 2 days.

St-Denis - The capital city

DSC_0623-01.jpeg

St Denis and the entire North-Eastern side of the island do not have access to beaches (watch out for sharks!)

DSC_0627-01.jpeg

Canons of the seaside area of St-Denis called the "Barachois"


View of the Hotel de Ville (Townhall)

Townhall inner courtyard

The small streets of St-Denis are colorful and filled with life. The city boasts an undeniably Creole soul, with some delightful colonial and religious buildings and a casual multi-ethnic atmosphere. Our favorite activity in St-Denis was to sit at the terrace of a cafe surrounded by flamboyant and palm trees in the scorching hot sun while drinking a few dodos (local beer).

DSC_0513-01.jpeg

DSC_0538-01_edited.jpg

The red ornamental-looking roof you see protecting the doorway entrance is what is known as "Lambrequins".

Ultimate evolution of the embellishment of traditional homes from the 1860's in Reunion, lambrequins adorn the awning.

Wooden originally, they are now often sheet metal just like the one we see here, and are intended to replace the gutters, as their tips help guide down rain drops. Small bushes are usually planted just below in order to absorb the water and not splash the walls.

"Lambrequins" represent in the collective imagination alone the Creole architectural style, and are the symbol of a certain art of living.


DSC_0541-01.jpeg

DSC_0557-01.jpeg


Cathedral of St-Denis after mass

Old rundown building

And I'll leave you with this last photo I took in St-Denis.
"Le monde ne mourra pas par manque de merveilles mais par manque d'émerveillement..." - The world will not die from a lack of wonders, but from our inability to wonder.

DSC_0559-01.jpeg

So let's not stop wondering! This door might have closed, but millions of others have opened... and who knows what's out there for us next?
If we can't work on this paradise island, it doesn't mean we can't explore it, right?

Follow us while we take you on our unexpected adventures. We have no idea where we're going, or how long it will take us until we run out of money... but who cares. LET'S DO THIS!

Map Location: !steemitworldmap -20.998427 lat 55.5777763 long Reunion-Island D3SCR

mj-pagebreak-5png.png

All photos in this blog were taken with my Sony Xperia Z3.

Don't hesitate to leave comments, ask questions, and share ideas - I love to hear from all of you.

To view some of my previous posts, click on the links below:


The treasures left behind by my great-grandfather #4

The fragility of life

An unexpected adventure - REUNION ISLAND

The treasures left behind by my great-grandfather #3



“Learning is not a race for information, it is a walk of discovery” - Jane Healy

osm0sis sndbox.gif

Sort:  

Is my mannequin-girlfriend still there?!?
Have a great adventure!!!!
Me and Diana... we travelled Latinamerica for 11 months... we started in Cuba (an island too, haha) with a one-way-ticket... and we finisched in Ushuaia (south, south, south of Argentina), and then in Brazil!
Craziest trip ever!!! Here our blog ;-) (not as SPAM intended)
So, what can I say?!? Live your dreams, enjoy life, do what you love!

Très très grande abbraccio
Lucas, Diana and Steemitri The Mannequin

Yes Lolita is still there... waiting for you. In fact she hasn't moved for the past 4 days... we're a little worried she may jump!
Thank you so much for your kind words and encouragements. Hopefully this will become the adventure of a lifetime like your trip to Latin America with Diana :)
Hugs to you all

Quelle aventure! Et moi qui rêvais déjà d'aller vous voir dans ce paradis! Raté! En attendant de connaître la prochaine destination de rêve je vais me contenter d'admirer les photos de ce bel endroit.
Les requins vont vous regretter, dommage pour eux!

Ohhh honey!!!! What the actual f.!!!??

I came on over to check on you and the move to find this post. I'm so sorry you've had to go through this.

But. I gotta give it to you and your gorgeous spirit.

I would have shoved my foot up the ex boss' arse and given him a long winded mouthful. Then proceeded to go on holidays.

Yes, you have Steemit. We got you 💗

Enjoy your holiday guys. I'm looking forward to reading all about it.

Yeah... Oh well, shit happens.
I might have shoved my foot up his ass a few years back haha. I dont bother anymore... It brings nothing better to my life.
This time, I was left with a humongous 3-day migraine instead. It was hardcore.
Anyway, hopefully its all for the best.

Thanks for the support my dear. It is so nice to know that my steem fam is here :)

Wow... That's really shitty what they did, messing you around like that. But I absolutely love that you guys have decided to make the best of your situation! It all sounds very exciting. I wish you both the most fantastic adventure from here :)

Well is good that sometimes life doesn't turn up as we expected. Maybe you really need to have time to do nothing and just see what's next. Nothing is happening without a reason, breath in and wait for it to reveal :)

Gosh, I really commend you on your positive attitude. I don't know if I would have done the same. I must say though, these situations happen, and they change ones life immensely.

Besides that, your pics are gorgeous, gorgeous, GORGEOUS! I have a friend in Mauritius and I've always wanted to visit. I'm sure I will soon.

Thank you for this lovely post :)

Thank you for the kind comment @princessmewmew :)
I'll be posting about Reunion and Mauritius this week and the upcoming ones so hopefully you'll like those photos too. Taking millions! Hard to select the winning ones.
Will hopefully try to catch up with @progressivechef once we settle a bit.
Cheers!

oh that will be awesome. He is just the kindest guy on Steemit.

I want to share with you - I am toying with the idea of leaving my country, but I have no idea what I would do for a living if I did. But today, your statement from this post stuck with me :

We've got a bit of cash left, and we have Steemit.

WE HAVE STEEMIT! Yes, I do too!

That's right! And you're not doing too bad either by the looks of it :)
Come join us in Mauritius! Just a small hop from South Africa.

What run out of money? Travel and Steemit woman...that's all you need and where to cash out! What, no airbnb?
Madagascar then Mauritius...then a trail to me.
You both will be blogging right? Hugs to you both😙😙😗

Yes, we are both on full time Steemit mode. It takes a bit of adjusting for me, but Asher's been on that mode for months so it's just a normal day for him!
And yeah, definitely going through the Philippines, and you have no idea how excited I am to go there again. Best place on earth!

Hah..you've seen more places in my country than me😙😙😙 Better liase with @teodora
she wanna come too!

Be sure to stop in and see @progressivechef in Mauritius! He's got a new bistro there that accepts Steem! Happy travels and may your inauspicious beginning lead to a wonderful time from here on out!

He is in Mauritius?! No way!!!! Steemit meetup! We're on it :)
Thank you @haphazard-hstead

I wanted to mention this!

Am a bit jealous by the sound of that🤣🤣

That must be so devastating! I'm so glad that at least you're set to turn the experience around. Sometimes being forced to redesign your plans creates a more beautiful picture and I sincerely hope it turns out that way for you.

I doubt there are a lot of opportunities there with only the small area to work in but are you considering looking for a different teaching job?

Thank you for your thoughtful comment.
No plans of looking for a job just yet. We'll be steemin' it for now... and if that does not pan out then yes I'll be back on the job market ASAP. A bit difficult to find "good" positions in the middle of the school year so it may have to wait til next September, but it will all be fine.
Cheers!

It is an incredible story told on an incredibly beautiful island and I think you are incredibly brave and you made the right decision.
There is a saying in the Netherlands and I think it is true.
"When God closes a door, he will open a window."
There will be many windows open for you and for Asher and many adventures will wait for you. I wish you two beautiful days on this beautiful island

Thank you dear @clio. Very appropriate quote - and if no windows seem to open, I'll make them open! haha

That's the spirit!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59588.19
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50